We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing, peace of mind service :)”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Huntly
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Refreshing, peace of mind service :)”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Awsome friendly service, would definatley come back, Very clean and tidy and went beyond customer service for helping us out.. Excellent AAAAA++++++ Nice to deal with such friendly and helpful people :)

Room Tip: if you need anything all you have to do is mention and they go out of their way to help you with eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookstar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    189
    45
    8
    8
See reviews for
231
390
80
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Thanks so much to the Gateway Motel for a wonderful stay in Picton - we had everything we needed and more, including amazing Easter weather that felt like summer!
Everyone was so friendly and efficient, rooms were well equipped and clean, great facilities, and comfy beds. And we were dropped at the ferry for no charge, which was beyond the call of duty.
Annoyingly, I left some belongings in the room when we left and they were kept safe and then sent back to me without any drama.
We'd love to be back when in the South Island again - thank you again :-)

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank EvelynCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms. It was very comfortable and quiet which is good considering the location. Staff were pleasant and extremely knowledgable in the local area. Really enjoyed our stay and recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are slightly smaller but have sunny outlook. From what we saw they are all nicely fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Well, as I just said, this is a VERY complete motel, where you can stay with very kind service, and an excellent attention. The owners are very kind and they provide an excellent stay. It left us with a very high expectation. So if you're going to Picton, this is the PERFECT place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Since I work part of the year in the Picton area, I have begun to consider this place my home away from home. Nicely refurbished motel in the heart of Picton, close to the harbour, the ferries, the gorgeous Picton foreshore, restaurants, grocery stores etc. The owners go above and beyond to take care of their guests--Chris and Kerry have thrown their hearts into this business and are obviously very experienced in the hospitality industry. Reasonable prices, BBQ grills and picnic tables available in the courtyard for guests, and a high standard of cleanliness. I would recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakertraveler38237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Arrived here at 8.30pm after 9 hours behind the wheel, very easy to find and handy to everything in the heart of picton, reception was open and very welcoming.
I received a local newspaper and free wifi connection which i was not expecting at all and asked if i was hungry i could go to the restaurant next door and to say i was staying at the gateway motel then i would receive a 10% discount off my meal. i was then shown to my room where the heater was turned on for me and a good explanation of utilities and how tv works was given. i was impressed by the room on walking in, very tidy and un-cluttered, beds looked extremely inviting and a electric blanket and great nights sleep confirmed the comfort of the king size bed :) the room was spotless, excellent bathroom and kitchen. would definitely stay again, highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at this completely refurbished motel which has been done to a very high standard. It was spotlessly clean. The staff are helpful and friendly. The central location is excellent. All available at a very reasonable price. We have no hesitation in recommending it.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
251 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Property: Gateway Motel
Address: 32 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton
Gateway Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing