We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality all round!!”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Quality all round!!”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Myself and my family had the pleasure of spending a night Xmas day!! Marie & Kent were extremely helpful & warm making us feel right at home!! Our Rooms were without a doubt an overall 10!! Comfortable, Spacious & Clean!! Highly recommend anyone who are looking to spend a night or two in the beautiful picton, Gateway Motel is the place!! I guarantee, you will not be disappointed!! Thank you Marie & Kent for your great hospitality!!:)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simanet12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    189
    43
    8
    6
See reviews for
231
386
80
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stratford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2013

this motel and the staff were exceptional.The best bed ever and right in town but not noisy,Also advised of where to eat and 10% discount at these places.Koru and yum crayfish.Thankyou Kent and your lovely wife.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank higgiesStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

After spending many hours on the road, taking my son to his new job in the McKenzie Country from Taupo. We were met with pleasant and very hospitable hosts at 10pm. Thank you both so much for giving my brother and I a very warm welcome and THEN upgrading our room. My brother who is not a frequent stay away from home person was so comfortable. Amazing hospitality thanks is not enough

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The owners of this motel were very friendly and attentive. The ONLY motel I have stayed in New Zealand where the owner took our bag up to the room and let us in, which was kind of a relief as the room was on the top level. The room was quiet, and had a view of mountains/city. There was a couch for sitting. Good sized bathroom and full kitchen (incl oven).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincoln J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Spent new year's eve at Picton and I'm glad we've chosen the perfect place to say. Location was ideal, probably just one minute walk to the town. Spacious and very tidy rooms. Clean bathrooms. Very very well maintained overall. Extremely friendly and helpful staff who instantly greeted us with warm welcome the moment we arrived. Customer service was top notch! Best of all, we were given free wi-fi unlike most of the other motels which do not provide internet. I have to say Gateway Motel has left the biggest impression in comparison to other accommodations (15 other motels from various locations in NZ) we have stayed in during our 3 week holiday in NZ. Superb! Keep it up that way!

Room Tip: Try opting for a room nearest to the reception as the wi-fi (FOC) connection is much stronger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feeyona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Extremely helpful and attentive service, despite being busy we were shown to our unit. The unit (a two brm) was clean and tidy with very comfortable beds. The location in central Picton meant close proximity to shops, restaurants and the shoreline. Perfect for our family of 5 :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed here for three nights. The room was large and clean with good TV and comfy king size bed. The kitchenette had a stove and microwave. The location is right in the shopping centre and we enjoyed walking around the town several times and down to the pubs at the waterfront.
The hosts are very helpful particularly with good places to go and things to do.
At first I thought it might be noisy at night but it was really quiet. Being upstairs gives you outdoor seating and a balcony. If you stay at a place more than a night it's great to have a motel that you look forward to coming home to.

Room Tip: Upstairs at front or over car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#12 of 16 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#4 of 16 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Property: Gateway Motel
Address: 32 High Street (Main Street) | Picton Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton
Gateway Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing