We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Welcoming!”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Welcoming!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We arrived at 9.45pm after a long day and late ferry trip from the North Island. Welcomed by Kent and Marie who were happy to see us, had turned our heaters on in our rooms, gave us coffee vouchers. Rooms were great, very clean, top condition the best accommodation we had all trip. Highly recommended we will be staying there again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    189
    45
    8
    8
See reviews for
231
390
80
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Run by a lovely couple who were very helpful. we were given a great modern room with a lovely bottle of wine and a card for our hmoon. room was big and clean.. very modern and location is great. would recommend to anyone however only downside was poor internet but i think it was broken for the day we stayed only otherwise free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank england12320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We only had one night to appreciate the friendly services of the hosts at the Gateway before heading off sightseeing...We were welcomed with a smile and shown our room personally. The room was comfortable and especially large since we were given an upgrade! The recommendations given to us by the hosts for dinner were spot on and we had a lovely meal with a discount for mentioning the Motel, Thanks heaps!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netster65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place is right in the main street so very central to waterfront, shops, eateries, supermarket. Friendly as staff. Room was fine - not flashy, but comfy with everything I needed ) except it didn't have a working desk (had a high stool under the bench - not good height for working at the laptop) but the owners are so helpful they could probably provide a chair if you asked. I stayed there on recommendation from Tripadvisor reviews and I concur - all good.

Room Tip: Stayed up the top floor but needn't have bothered as all units looked to be single level, that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Gateway in the cute town of Picton. It's situated perfectly in the centre of town- the room was quiet which surprised me. The room had been recently renovated and was very clean. The quilt was super soft (good quality) and just to top it off an electric blanket. Highly recommend to anyone staying in Picton!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, NS
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We arrived from Nelson, via the "scenic route" through Havelock. The motel is smack dab in the centre of town, on High Street, surrounded by a wide range of restaurants and only a few steps from the harbour and the docks for the Queen Charlotte Sound tours. The ferry terminal is not much farther away. We had a wonderfully cheerful welcome on check-in, with lots of helpful suggestions for where to go and what to see. He even had discount coupons for some of the local restos. The room was clean, spacious but also snug and very comfortable (with the biggest TV in the motel). More wifi than a family of 3 could use. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poutine_yhz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We arrived in Picton on the Interislander ferry and after a drive around town found this motel right in the centre of town. Luckily there was a room available for us and we found it to have everything we needed and was spotlessly clean. The room was comfortable with a good television, generous Wifi allowance and great kitchen facilities. Kent and Marie were very friendly and provided some good advice about where to eat. We were originally only going to stay one night but we ended up staying 2 nights because it was such good value at Gateway Motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Property: Gateway Motel
Address: 32 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton
Gateway Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing