We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gateway Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$322
US$298
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Broadway Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachside Sunnyvale Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Street Living Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jasmine Court Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aldan Lodge Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Picton Beachcomber Inn(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Motel Picton(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,045)
Filter reviews
1,045 results
Traveller rating
778
199
51
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
778
199
51
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streetmiddle of townferry terminalhigh streetcentral locationnew zealandfree wifiplace to staycomfortable bedswould definitely stay here againthe managersqueen charlotte trackshops and restaurantsfriendly hostskentmotelaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 1,045 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Very helpful enthusiastic staff. Enjoyed a conversation with Kent who takes a keen interest in his work. Located in the Main Street at Picton, which is very handy to all restaurants, local walks etc. and also the ferry terminal. Was relatively quiet too considering the location. Clean rooms. BBQs available to DIY. Motel also has an adjoining cafe for breakfast prior to departing, but there is also plenty of choice around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Gateway motel is conventially located in the middle of the town centre, We travelled as a girls week away and we decided to book here as the location was perfect. The staff were friendly and gave us the room we asked for which was awesome as we only walked in and booked! Great information about the area and whats the best things to go see do & eat! Some of the recommendations werent that great but maybe they just werent for us. The staff made you feel right at home, We loved the place so much we decided to come and stay again on our last night in the south island before we headed off onto the ferry to wellington.. This time everything wa perfect once again! Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Gateway Motel in the main street of Picton offers really good value for your dollar. The recently refurbished upstairs rooms were lovely. The staff in reception could not have done more and been more helpful and should be congratulated. Being in the right person in the right job can be rare these days. Would highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms. Are self contained also.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillippa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here after our ferry crossing from the North Island. Our family apartment was clean, nicely decorated and spacious, and the location peaceful, despite being a stroll from the ferry terminal and near restaurants and shops. Our host Chris was friendly and welcoming and only too pleased to provide a real insight into the attractions on the South Island. By the next morning Chris, with her Tourist Advisory Service hat on had marked a map with all the highlights to see on our planned route. Her advice was spot on - the sort of knowledge you can't get from a guidebook!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o_heffernans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had originally booked in to stay here but we had to change the nights that we were staying. I contacted Gateway Motel but as were changing to staying on a Friday they didn't have any rooms available. Marie offered to help us find another motel which would have availability to help us out which was really nice of her. Just wanted to write a review to say thank you and highlight the really good service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank PaulandNatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews