We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gateway Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marlin Motel(Picton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,045)
Filter reviews
1,045 results
Traveller rating
778
199
51
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
778
199
51
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streetmiddle of townferry terminalhigh streetcentral locationnew zealandfree wifiplace to staycomfortable bedswould definitely stay here againthe managersqueen charlotte trackshops and restaurantsfriendly hostskentmotelaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
491 - 496 of 1,045 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Very glad we stayed here during our October long weekend getaway. Location is perfect, owners are so friendly & helpful. Rooms are clean & tidy & everything works as it should. Balcony out the front makes for a nice area to chill at the end of the day. Good value for money. Defo recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Was a bit hard to find at first. But in saying that right from when we booked we had a very warm and friendly reception form the own. The view from the balcony was nice. The breakfast was grate and you get your money's worth. The free wifi is grate. In the middle of town makes a grate place as your close to everything like restaurants, cafés, shops. The room was clean and had a good surplus of coffee and tea. The BBQ area was nice and clean. Would recommend this to my friends and family. Would defiantly use again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Clean, crisp linens / thick towels. Free wifi and friendly accommodating staff. Bed medium firm and very comfortable. Has washing machine / dryer for $2.00 NZ each and laundry soap provided free (not always the case at other motels).Also provides plunger coffee pot with one packet of coffee and about 4 packets of instant coffee and tea with real milk to add. Stayed on bottom floor and was given a room with a nice soaking tub, a nice bonus after a long drive.
Negative: Bathroom nice but not sufficient room for toiletries for 2 people--OK for one person. For an overnight stay it wasn't a problem. Friendly staff and cleanliness made up for the small inconvenience. Overall nice location. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms located on the back (I was in #6), and not on High St. is probably quieter as there would be no traffic. I did not hear traffic / cars passing and had a good night's sleep.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Very helpful enthusiastic staff. Enjoyed a conversation with Kent who takes a keen interest in his work. Located in the Main Street at Picton, which is very handy to all restaurants, local walks etc. and also the ferry terminal. Was relatively quiet too considering the location. Clean rooms. BBQs available to DIY. Motel also has an adjoining cafe for breakfast prior to departing, but there is also plenty of choice around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Gateway motel is conventially located in the middle of the town centre, We travelled as a girls week away and we decided to book here as the location was perfect. The staff were friendly and gave us the room we asked for which was awesome as we only walked in and booked! Great information about the area and whats the best things to go see do & eat! Some of the recommendations werent that great but maybe they just werent for us. The staff made you feel right at home, We loved the place so much we decided to come and stay again on our last night in the south island before we headed off onto the ferry to wellington.. This time everything wa perfect once again! Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews