We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic get away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I would like to thank the Gateway Motel and all the staff for the excellent service they gave while staying with them. They went out of their way to find a suitable place to park our boat and made our holiday very enjoyable, nothing was a bother, recommending the best places to eat, things to do. The rooms were very comfortable cleaned daily, the selection of food and breakfast in café was tops and the higher scooter rides a laugh. Thank you so much we will be back.
Regards Tony and Helen

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    187
    43
    8
    5
See reviews for
230
382
80
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

If your picking a place in Picton, then you couldnt pick a better place than the Gateway Motel.
Why I hear you ask,? and Im glad you did .As the name says ''Gateway Motel "and it is right in the middle of High Street, Gateway, because you can book everything you need from a Scooter to a Feed, and not only that but Kent and Marie, are People Persons and you can not get much better than that , Now what do you want when you arrive in a new place?
Friendly People, Check, Good Service, Check, Nice clean , large rooms, Check, Once you have settled in, Information about what to do, where to go, what to see,Check and when its time to leave, not too big a bill that you wont come back, Check.
Works for me every time, I came Back,
As the name says
''Gateway Motel'' and it lives up to it How many place say that and mean it ???
Laurie A, from Sydney Way

Room Tip: Be nice to the People who are going to be nice to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawrence a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I travelled to Picton recently with my sister and a friend, and we spent one night at the Gateway Motel.

The service was friendly and relaxed, and the units were clean and spacious.

The kitchen equipment is not too extensive, but good enough if you decide to cook in the unit.

Shower was powerful and beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SushR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riversdale, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I enjoyed my 8 weeks in Picton at the Gateway Motel. I was made to feel like it was my home away from home. It had nice clean rooms and they are well serviced.
It is in a good location. The cafe there had a top breakfast menu and I got great packed lunches.
Would Highly Recommend to all.
Rob, ANDREWS

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter for sleeping during the day when doing shift work
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Due to an airline delay, we were not able to arrive until 1 a.m. in Picton, Kent and Marie very kindly organised a late night shuttle to transfer us from Nelson airport, changed our rooms (at their cost) to help us out, picked our kids up from the ferry, sorted huge delicious lunches for our trek on the first day on the Queen Charlotte Track. and were charming and helpful.
The two bedroom motel room was comfortable and clean, We were only there for about 6 hours as we headed out to the track at 7.30 a.m. Again, Kent very kindly transported our bags to the wharf.
On our return we stayed in a two bedroom deluxe family unit, which had a waterfront view; this was a perfect spot to rest our aching muscles after the tramp.
If there was a button higher than 5 star, I'd click it!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bridgetg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We chose this place after reading all the great reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed! We received a wonderful warm & friendly welcome from the owners who took time to give us all the information we needed to make the most out of our short stay in Picton. The motel is excellently located and rooms are well appointed and comfortable (and spotlessly clean). I shall definitely choose this place again when I return. Thanks Kent and Marie!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazw1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
invercargill
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have enjoyed my to months living here. Friendly staff always happy to help nothing is a problem. Good location. Clean and tidy room. Made being away from home easier. The on site information deck was a good help in sorting a days fishing for us drivers. I can't thank the team enough here at the gateway.
. Dan kapuka

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dankapuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#12 of 17 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Property: Gateway Motel
Address: 32 High Street (Main Street) | Canterbury, Picton 8062, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dedicated to providing informative and unbiased online Accommodation, Transportation and Travel & Tourism information. Established in 1995 by Danny de Hek, our extensive network provides comprehensive travel guides for popular destinations and top resources for activities and ‘all things New Zealand’ Our approach is not to compete with other New Zealand sites but rather to be a gateway for visitors to a diverse wealth of information presented in a concise manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton
Gateway Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing