We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Good Location and Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really Good Location and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

This is right in town within walking distance of the supermarket and shops. Kent, the owner, is friendly and helpful. To him, nothing seems to be too much bother. Highly recommended for stays in Picton.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueBayou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    187
    43
    8
    5
See reviews for
230
382
80
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

The location is just a very short walk from restaurants and the harbour. The owner was very friendly and welcoming.
The rooms were adequate albeit the kitchen / lounge was pretty small for a two bedroom unit.
The beds were comfortable.
The only downer was the walls between units were pretty thin - especially in the bathrooms.....
We also stayed at the Broadway in Picton so have reviewed it too.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LagoNexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The owners of the Gateway Motel were most cheerful and helpful: they offered to pick up us from the ferry terminal, and later drove us to the train station. They gave us useful advice on what to see, where to eat and also had a small library of books for guests' use.

The room was large, and although a little jaded, was spotlessly clean and contained all we needed. The motel is located on the main street and only a few minutes from shops, Post Office, museum etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nordeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Biker friendly, great value, excellent service and awesome location close to bars restaurants and cafes. Clean and functional rooms that are priced well. We enjoyed our stay and appreciated the extra effort that the management made to ensure our motorcycles were safe. Kent we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lewal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Would like to say a big THANK YOU to Marie and Kent Stevenson for your excellent, friendly and very welcoming hospitatility. Thank you for the yummy Pauas. haha. Will never forget this experience!! Totally recommend this place to everyone out there who passes through Picton, if you need a place, Gateway motel is where you want to stop by at. Thank you once again and hope to stay with yous again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

we only spent a night, but it was perfect. apparently this motel has been around for a while, but you would never guess it, since it feels modern and new. the couple who runs it is kind and friendly, and keeps the place absolutely spotless. the room was welcoming and pleasant, on the second floor. just outside the room there were 2 chairs and a little table, and we spent an hour just sitting there and looking at a great view on the marina. when we checked in we were given free 200Mb of wireless access each, which was a nice surprise. we would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 16, on the second floor, and had a great view from outside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lososos62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We usually travel w/o a plan, which is good and bad. Few days ago we arrived at Picton and quickly found this great motel, nicely located in the middle of town, close to everything. We stayed for 2 nights. Great value, but more than that, just a great, clean and very very comfortable. Did i say clean already?
Very friendly and helpful service. Highly recommend! you will feel welcomed.

Room Tip: We stayed on 1st level, but looks like 2nd level might be more interesting. 2nd floor have the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#12 of 17 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Property: Gateway Motel
Address: 32 High Street (Main Street) | Canterbury, Picton 8062, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dedicated to providing informative and unbiased online Accommodation, Transportation and Travel & Tourism information. Established in 1995 by Danny de Hek, our extensive network provides comprehensive travel guides for popular destinations and top resources for activities and ‘all things New Zealand’ Our approach is not to compete with other New Zealand sites but rather to be a gateway for visitors to a diverse wealth of information presented in a concise manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton
Gateway Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing