We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for us”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Absolutely perfect location in the heart of Picton - it is no more than 5 - 10 minutes walk from everything including the Interislander ferry.

Rooms are very clean, well laid out and were just right for our family. The luxury room we stayed in had everything you would need to cook a full meal (although we ate out as there are cheap restaurants nearby). The smaller room we stayed in the second time was great for breakfast/lunch but didn't have a cooktop - so check what the room has if you are intending to cook dinner in your room - they do have BBQ's you can cook on though.

There is heaps for the kids to do on the foreshore of Picton - we spent 3 days and they were busy the entire time.

The owners/managers of Gateway were super friendly and helpful - and there is an information centre at the entrance to the motel where Chris knows everything there is to know about the area and travelling around.

All in all highly recommended as a place to stay in Picton!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Keri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    189
    43
    8
    6
See reviews for
231
386
80
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
304 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The room was great; clean, nice bed, kitchen facilities. The hotel itself is the centerpiece of the downtown and steps away from everything. We were on the second floor facing the street and there was a large veranda extending across the entire front of the hotel with tables and chairs to relax and watch the sunset. Very nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrillerBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Loved the accommodation. Clean, crisp renovated room with everything we required. Nicely maintained grounds and enjoyed sitting outside our unit in the morning drinking in the atmosphere.So central to the ferry and also the shopping centre and attractions such as the Aquarium, cafes and beachfront. Our first trip to the South Island was fantastic. Kent and Marie, our hosts....you rock, and I cannot recommend more accommodating folk than you. We left feeling like we had gained new friends and my sons' birthday was memorable for him for all the right reasons. We were late off the last ferry but nothing was too much trouble for Gateway Picton. Wonderful sights to see. We love love loved it all. We will be back.

Room Tip: We were on the ground level along from the reception. No view but the quiet nature of our room was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Thanks Kent & Marie, we really enjoyed our stay. what a fantastic location we loved being smack bang in the middle of town surrounded by shops, cafes and just down the road from the water front. Our unit was beautifully clean with everything we needed and your linen is to die for!
We appreciated the Gateways friendly and knowledge staff & their assistance to plan the rest of our South Island trip. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Upstairs street side have great viewing balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warkworth, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Gateway is as said above just a great place to stay, I travel frequently and never stay in one spot for to long , so the gateway suites close walk to shops,restaurants,bars and ferrys.
Kent and Marie you have done a great job tranforming the place, TOP NOTCH.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Gateway was our last stop on our two-week New Zealand tour and was an excellent base from which to enjoy the attractions of Picton and surrounds. Parking was adequate and free, and the room was a decent size, with a fridge and nice clean bathroom. Unfortunately Picton is something of a sleepy town, so we found ourselves at loose end in the evenings, and could definitely have done with a larger TV and DVD player, as we were given in other motels. The doorway was not very well-insulated, which was fine for us as summer visitors, but might be draughty in the winter. For the first time in our two-week trip, we were not given a carton of fresh milk as we arrived, but instead were back to the little UHT capsules. Also, no hot chocolate in the complimentary beverages, only tea and instant coffee. It shows the high standard of New Zealand motels that I am even bothering to record these tiny things as downsides to this motel! The owner was very helpful and would have been able to book us on a wine tour, had we not already hired a car. He had arranged discounts and free drinks at various nearby restaurants, which was appreciated. As many other reviewers have mentioned, the motel is right next to the waterfront and restaurants, and a short walk from the ferry terminal, so is extremely accessible and convenient. Because of the courtyard design, it is also pleasantly quiet, and chairs and an outdoor BBQ are provided. However, unlike all of the other the motels we stayed in, there was no stove/hob/hot plate in the kitchenette.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
406 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

First off, the location is great. Picton is a small town but being right in the centre was a bonus. Short 5min walk to the waterfront, 10mins to the Interislander ferry terminal, cafes and restaurants right across the road. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and shown our two bedroom room which was clean and comfortable. A great little two bedroom unit with everything you need. I have no complaints at all and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_WLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#12 of 16 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#4 of 16 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Property: Gateway Motel
Address: 32 High Street (Main Street) | Picton Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton
Gateway Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing