We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant base, fantastic hosts”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here for four nights after crossing on the ferry. Our room was comfortable and clean and we made use of the BBQ outside. Kent couldn't have been more helpful, giving us loads of advice on good areas to visit, places to walk to and even some tips on places to catch on our journey to our next place. The information centre was fantastic and they booked fishing and boat trips for us, taking the hassle out of our trip. We were pleased with how close it was to the ferry terminal, just a short drive, as well as right in the middle of the shops and next to the waterfront, whilst still being a peaceful place to stay. We would stay here again on a another visit to NZ.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,035)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed two nights at the Gateway and really enjoyed it. Kent arranged our booking on a Marlborough winery tour. All we needed to do was wait out the front for the bus to collect us. The room was clean and comfortable. I thought it might be noisy given the central location, but it wasn't. The shower was great too. The only negative was the wifi. The signal was poor and, despite Kent rebooting, we were unable to use it. It didn't matter too much as it was one of the rare places where my 2degrees SIM card was providing service and I used it instead.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shooshaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed here for one night after crossing on the ferry. The motel was only a few minutes drive from the ferry terminal, clean, comfortable and in the village centre. We had not stayed in a motel before, but were pleasantly surprised, the owners were also extremely helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is an affordable, clean, and well run establishment. The owners go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. They have picnic tables for a "take away" picnic. They can also arrange transportation to the lovely, not to be missed, Queen Charlotte Walk.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lovetogarden77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed at Gateway for one night before and one night after we travelled to the Queen Charlotte Wilderness Park Lodge.
It's the first time a motelier has ever greeted me with a handshake! He was very friendly and helpful, and we appreciated the suggestions about meals out. The deal with Cortado Restaurant, which included a free drink with every meal by showing our room key, was great value.
Our first night was upstairs, which was perfectly adequate, if a little dated. The enclosed lightwell backing onto all the bathrooms could be noisy at times.
Ask for a downstairs room when booking as we stayed there the second night and the rooms are bigger and have been renovated.
Very clean, centrally located (a stroll from the ferry terminal or Bluebridge will drop you off), free wifi and friendly staff. All you need!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 546sonjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We have stayed at Gateaway Motel for the second time. We have had a very good time at this Motel last year and come back again this year. The hosts Ken & Mary are very kind and always welcome us friendly. We feel like at home. The position is just center of the city near the every thing we need and Inside is very quiet. We recommend here strongly to everyone. We will be stay longer next time. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimi165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I booked this motel through Booking.com and thought we were getting a motel with a sea view as shown in the promo, so was disappointed to see that it is in the main street of Picton and had no sea view!
A warm welcome, clean room but starting to look tired, central to ferry terminal and cafes.
Of all the motels we stayed in while on holiday this was the disappointment. People appear to be allowed to sit outside the rooms smoking therefore our room smelt of cigarettes as the odour came into the room and it was disappointing to see the male owner walking around the motels smoking. The shower was a high step up one and although reasonable to get into was very difficult to get out of and around the toilet vinyl was lifting and mildew evident.
During the night we had an very unpleasant disturbance outside our room with people fighting and the language was dreadful. It was either from the public toilets that were immediately beside our room or in the bar next door. As trucks and delivery vehciles are able to park down the centre of the main street, we were work at 5.00 a.m as they prepared for the day. Will carry onto Blenheim next time

Room Tip: Not rooms that face the main street or near the public toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mytgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
266 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
15.6 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Address: 32 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range: £66 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton
Gateway Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing