We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Perfect location as was right in town and close to ferry terminal. Bed comfortable and room very clean and quiet. Staff friendly and helpful. Our motorbike was parked under cover and out of the way. Would definitely stay at the Gateway Motel again :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinks321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    189
    45
    8
    8
See reviews for
231
390
80
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We came with a group of 8 people, booking was very easy and good recommendations for choosing right rooms.
Excellent source of information for "insider" tips, eg where to buy groceries before staring on the Queen Charlotte Track, where to get track passes, free shuttle pick up from ferry.
Very helpful and friendly staff, very clean and spacious, good bathroom facilities.
Really enjoyable deck upstairs - in the morning able to see the city come alive, in the evening - enjoying the sunshine and sunset.
We can highly recommend this place and would love to come back for our next South Island trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JvdB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great motel with easy access to/from ferry, tracks and airport, smack bang in the middle of picton high street
Very friendly and helpful staff, spacious rooms with 2 beds per room in appartement with kitchenette, bathroom and toilet. Good shower. Additional bed in common room. Very clean, kitchenette well stocked. Rooms got cleaned and restocked daily! Despite central location quiet once window closed.
Comfortable beds
Free Wifi
BBQ and lovely court yard surrounded by ground floor rooms, awesome views from first floor rooms
Also free drink with purchases at some restaurants in town if staying here- we made the most out of that offer!!!!
coffe/tea making facilities available but great coffee literally across the road
Excellent value for small groups

Room Tip: try to get ground floor rooms if you plan a BBQ and are offended by street noise in summer. Choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel twice for a night. Both times as an overnight for the ferry to Wellington for the following day. Our room was clean, good bed and linens, Ken the owner/manager? was very helpful and accommodating. The two chairs and table our room were great for relaxing and getting a little sun. There is an on-site self-laundry as well if you need to wash any clothing. The location is in the heart of town and 4 or 5 minutes max for anything the town has to offer. They have free parking and wi-fi. I'm not sure why you would stay in Picton longer than one night but I'd recommend it for your stay.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have venetian blinds without curtains, on our 1st night we had one. The lights ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tman312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Kent already knew we were turning up late due to a ferry cancellation and kept our reservation. Lovely modern room and onsuite. Great bed. Great linen. I don't normally sleep very well the first night in any place, but the Gateway Motel Picton soon sorted that out for a good night. Fantastic BBQ area and tables. A room upstairs with a view, and great being so central and close to restaurants, shops and Harbour. Thanks Kent, we'll be back again.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs give you a view of the Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Lovely place to stay. Very accommodating. Staff were excellent! Very clean and spacious rooms, beds were so comfy. totally one of the best places I have stayed at. Would stay again at the drop off a hat. Thanks for a enjoyable time.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kriskris83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 3 nights here. The location is perfect for exploring the area. Our room (no 5) was very comfortable, good shower and a kitchenette. Very close to all shops & restaurants in Picton, and of course the ferry from a Wellington.
Tip - close windows at night to minimise noise - especially at weekends when the town can be busy.
We enjoyed our stay and would return again. The managers were very helpful and supportive, and gave us ideas on places to visit.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melanie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#3 of 16 in Picton
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Property: Gateway Motel
Address: 32 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton
Gateway Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing