We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“most comfortable beds ive ever sleep in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Napier
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“most comfortable beds ive ever sleep in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Kent and Marie were fantastic hosts , they run a friendly warm clean operation, the beds are very comfortable , and the rooms for the 3 of us , couldnt of been better , plenty of room , small kitchenette , fridge/jug , everything you need for your stay , this is our second time here and we will be back

Room Tip: Family rooms are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sullydump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    187
    43
    8
    5
See reviews for
230
382
80
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Having enjoyed the hospitality and comfort of the Gateway Motel in 2013 our group returned for more in 2014. We were met by the same friendly staff and immediately felt at home. The accomodation is simple, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The units on the west facing veranda enjoy the late afternoon sun. The Motel provided the perfect base for our cycling group to rest and recover at after a hard days riding.

Room Tip: West facing units catch the late afternoon sun nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 143MartinF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Completely impressed with the accommodation; simply blown away by the kindness and friendliness of the owners!

This motel is in a great location right in the heart of High Street (Picton’s main street), but recessed enough off the road to be quiet. There is free parking, WiFi and its easily walkable to everything you would need. The rooms were nice, spacious and clean, complete with a fridge, phone and other nice amenities.

What makes this place a complete gem are the owners, Kent & Marie. In our experience, not only were they friendly, helpful, accommodating and knowledgeable about the area, they truly are amazing people. As we chatted with the owners and got to know them over the course of our time in Picton their true colours continued to shine through. Their demonstrated example of genuine hospitality and amazing customer service truly blew us away!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

From the start,we were received very well indeed but the room was far too small for the three of us.Certainly not very well equipped,however the bathroom was modern but no shelves.The beds were uncomfortable,the electric blanket wires poking into you.After reading what others have to say we wonder if we stayed in a different motel.Certainly wasn't worth the money and will not stay again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ziggy176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Located half-way up the main street of Picton, the Broadway Motel is a comfortable mid-range motel which is ideal to start a trip around the South Island.

Facilities are basic but comfortable, location is good, service from the proprietors was pleasant.

Shops, restaurants, car hire places, ferries all within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Everything was perfect, clean, friendly, great value! The staff were very welcoming, The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in all week. Would highly recommend it. We particularly enjoyed the outside chairs watching the sunset from the Veranda

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateLLLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Cannot rave enough about my stay. Was very good accommodation and got great advice on what to see and do. Even got a jump start whew my car wouldn't start.

It is very well situated with the Flying Haggis opposite and the bay just minutes away.

Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank racheljallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 17 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Property: Gateway Motel
Address: 32 High Street (Main Street) | Canterbury, Picton 8062, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dedicated to providing informative and unbiased online Accommodation, Transportation and Travel & Tourism information. Established in 1995 by Danny de Hek, our extensive network provides comprehensive travel guides for popular destinations and top resources for activities and ‘all things New Zealand’ Our approach is not to compete with other New Zealand sites but rather to be a gateway for visitors to a diverse wealth of information presented in a concise manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton
Gateway Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing