We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect position for the ferry”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect position for the ferry”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had an early morning ferry sailing and this motel was an easy short drive to the terminal. We chose the budget studio room as we just needed a bed for the night and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the decor. We booked on line and were impressed that Marie showed us the room first to make sure we were happy with it. Free wifi worked well - so many other places around the South Island didn't. We would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    189
    43
    8
    6
See reviews for
231
386
80
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Gateway Motel, easy to find, very clean and tidy, Kent and Marie are very friendly hosts, we felt welcome as soon as we walked through the door at reception. Of all the motels we have stayed at, Gateway was the best, excellent price as well. We will be staying there anytime we go through or to Picton.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karamea, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at the Gateway Motel en-route to the North Island, what a beautiful & very clean place to stay, and the price was excellent, we will certainly stay there again if we need a place to stay in Picton, Well done Kent & Marie, fantastic hosts :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mccleeryclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Gateway Motel in Picton. Kent and Marie were fantastic, welcoming,friendly hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Delighted with our choice to stay here. Clean and tidy, Free wifi (which was great as most hotels/motels charge). Located the very close to everything you need in the town, with some breath taking views, within a 30 second walk.
Will definitely be staying there again if I am lucky enough to go back to New Zealand.
Thanks Kent and Marie

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonPateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Really happy with our choice to stay here. Clean with all conveniences such as flat screen etc. Free wifi by the way which i think is really nice given that most places want you to pay. They are renovating what is already above average so I say support these guys if your looking to stay in central picton.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We enjoyed are stay at the Gateway Motel in Picton. Kent and Marie were great hosts and very accommodating. Our room was excellent and very clean. The motel is located in the middle of main street and very close to everything you need. Many thanks to Kent & Marie.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Riki and I stayed here twice,while holidaying in the south island.The motel was very lovely,clean and tidy.and the owners were awesome hosts.We recommend this motel and their owners highly,to anyone who would choose this motel to stay at.Thank you Kent@Marie Stevenson for having us.Riki&Ali Clark

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocogirl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#12 of 16 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#4 of 16 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Property: Gateway Motel
Address: 32 High Street (Main Street) | Picton Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton
Gateway Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing