We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Motel for Family with young kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore River, Singapore
2 reviews
“Perfect Motel for Family with young kids”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Owners Kent & Marie were very friendly and helpful.

The room we had was meant for a family of 4 and was very comfortable. In fact, it was the most stylish, clean and spacious room we had throughout our stay in New Zealand. We stayed 14 days and stayed in 11 different motels.

Location was also very good and easy to find.

Only wished I had more time to indulge in the nice room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianaChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    187
    43
    8
    5
See reviews for
230
383
80
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night while travelling up to the North island. Good location right in the centre of Picton, ideal for getting the ferry the next morning. Comfy beds, very friendly hosts and great value, can't be faulted. Also get a free drink at a great place for breakfast which is always a bonus.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austrailia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

What a great Motel Room very spacious and comfortable shower fantastic free wifi lovely Hosts very friendly and helpful location fantastic right in the middle of town Ferry Terminal 5 min away I took shuttle as I had heavy bags very nice motel so clean and updated would highly recommend for a stop over or stay the price was great for what I got

Room Tip: Any room I had downstairs suited me
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzygypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Got off the ferry with a howler spraying rain everywhere, dark, deserted streets, but was able to reason out where the hotel could be.

Free off street off-street parking, the hostess slipped on heir gumboots and walked me down to the room and turned on the heater.

Wind howled all night but room noise was minimal and I slept well. Breakfast is on order, but i skipped out early.

Not many tele channels, but being NZ there isn't a whole lot to watch anyway.

Clean, updated rooms extending the life of an older motel. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Picton rolls up the sidewalks at 7:30 pm if it isn't shopping night, so be prepared. A decently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Powel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

No smoke alarms! Extremely dangerous! The staff are rude and the facilities and premises are rubbish. Only stay here in desperation. Picton has other far superior motels, no paying customers deserve this dump. You have been positively warned, good luck.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
10 Thank TAMember07242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sete, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Our first stay at Gateway motel on arriving in South Island was so good we returned for a night before catching the ferry back to Wellington. The rooms are comfortable and well-equipped and the couple running it put themselves out to make sure you have eveything you need.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank colilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had an early morning ferry sailing and this motel was an easy short drive to the terminal. We chose the budget studio room as we just needed a bed for the night and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the decor. We booked on line and were impressed that Marie showed us the room first to make sure we were happy with it. Free wifi worked well - so many other places around the South Island didn't. We would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#12 of 16 in Picton
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#4 of 16 in Picton
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Property: Gateway Motel
Address: 32 High Street (Main Street) | Picton Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton
Gateway Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing