We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We rang ahead to let the motel know we would be on a late ferry and when we arrived the manager had our room with the heat on ready for us..........very friendly staff........also in a great location in the centre of the town............perfect to have a relaxing walk and a meal after your ferry.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    189
    45
    8
    8
See reviews for
231
390
80
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Excellent service and nice clean place, good value and excellent location, highly recommended the place was very tidy and well maintained, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and tidy, well equipped

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt53well
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My friend and I arrived from the ferry around lunch time not expecting to get into our room until 2pm. Was welcome by one of the owners (female.. cannot remember her name sorry) She was so welcoming and told us that we could have our room straight away as it was ready. They recommended a couple of local restaurants whereby if we showed them our room key we would get a discount or a free drink. The room was very clean and well presented with all the amenities one could hope for. After a very restful and noiseless sleep we woke and at around 10am was checked out by the other owner (male) who was just as friendly, making sure our stay was a good one. Highly recommend this establishment, clean, fresh, with all the necessary requirements for a excellent overnight stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank showert1me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here for one night before getting the ferry across to North Island. The location is absolutely central in town but we did not find it noisy at all. The room was clean, newly refurbished, well-equipped, comfortable and very reasonably priced. The owner/manager, Kent, was very welcoming and helpful. We'll definitely stay here again when doing the ferry crossing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great place to stay,staff very friendly couldn't do enogh to help out...Handy to ferry to wellington.good and clean room,didnt hear the traffic from the road,when on leaving the staff pointed out how to get to our next destination,service was impecable

Room Tip: was very good to saty and would stay there again without a doubt
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in the Gateway Motel several times when it was called Americano.
It is a budget type of motel, good for a short stay before going onto the Ferry.
The unit was quite noisy , we could clearly hear the next TV of the neighbours.
In the evening it was quite noisy outside the unit as well till about 12 PM.
Some NZ TV channels had bad reception, something you would not expect nowadays.
At home we can even receive overseas channels crystal clear via satelite

Room Tip: Good to stay one night before going on the Ferry to Wellington.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnZoetebier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Picton after getting off the Interislander, which was running late as usual. Met with a friendly greeting despite the hour. Room was warm and clean. Great location in the heart of Picton. Will stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#3 of 16 in Picton
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Property: Gateway Motel
Address: 32 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton
Gateway Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing