We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gateway Motel is awesome”
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I have never been happier to be delayed on the ferry. if i had not been delayed...i never would have stayed here. Thank interislander ferry at Wellington bc they recommended this motel. Kent and Marie are darling and so very helpful in making my stay safe and wanting to come back. the value you receive for the price is great too! Will make this my #1 place to stay whilst in Picton!

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank none a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

I've been back packing round New Zealand for the past two months and this is one of the most pleasant places I have stayed at. I was welcomed with a warm greeting and was offered a discount straight out. Kent educated us on some of the hot spots of town and advised us of discounts avaliable by presenting the room key. The rooms were clean and spacious and great value for money. The beds were new and comfy and the shower was pristine with great pressure which has been somewhat of an issue at neighboring places. Overall a great stay and awesome value for money. Would recommend anyone who is on a budget but still looking for comfort and excellent hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I have been travelling around New Zealand for the last few months and the Gateway motel has been by far one of the most pleasant places I have had the pleasure of staying. With a warm welcome and extremely helpful staff, I would recommend Kent and the crew to anyone looking for a warm bed and and decent shower pressure. Note with a stay at the Gateway motel you unlock the key to some awesome discounts around town and some great tourist destinations. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackDawson92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

After arriving on the ferry from Wellington, tired and hungry, Kent's friendly reception was a welcome sorely needed. He upgraded our room on the spot, suggested a restaurant for us to go and eat and a pub to have a drink in after. We took him up on all of his recommendations and he was spot on with everything! The room was large, clean and warm with the added feature of electric blankets which we appreciated after the freezing ferry journey. The next day, Kent even allowed us to leave our suitcases with him after checkout while we went and had breakfast across the road (so convenient) which we really appreciated and not everywhere we have stayed are willing to do this. The area was quiet which was perfect when, like us, you have only one night in Picton and really need all of your energy for more travelling. I would recommend Gateway motel to anyone and everyone we are already looking forward to our return here in a few weeks.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitnichuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here for one night, it was great. The owner is very friendly and he recommended great place for us to visit. The room is warm and comfortable. Everything is nice and clean. It's really quiet at night, so ideally good place for travelers like us who need a decent sleep. Will visit again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Yufei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We came off the interislander in the middle of the night with no where to go and kent was the smiling face we needed. The room was fantastic value for money and Breakfast next door at the cafe was so convenient! Absolutely outstanding. Puts high cost hotel's and motels to shame. Customer is king!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southislanholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We rang ahead to let the motel know we would be on a late ferry and when we arrived the manager had our room with the heat on ready for us..........very friendly staff........also in a great location in the centre of the town............perfect to have a relaxing walk and a meal after your ferry.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
256 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 16 in Picton
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 16 in Picton
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Address: 32 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range: £49 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Gateway Motel and our Off-site Luxury Waterfront Apartments are nestled in the heart of Picton. Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travelers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. Our accommodation will provide you with the quality, low cost solution you need to stay in Picton! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton
Gateway Motel Picton, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing