We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Le Cafe

Le Cafe
Ranked #8 of 41 Restaurants in Picton
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and I went to Le Cafe with a couple from Australia after a half-day wine tour of Marlborough. The restaurant had a pretty good menu, focusing primarily on seafood. We had a good time there, although the atmosphere was a bit more standard, nothing to complain about but nothing that wowed us either. We might have had a different impression if we didn't hit the hay prior to the live music coming in.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    140
    57
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level Contributor
236 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Funny place. Good food though.”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had a late lunch in here and ordered seafood chowder. Funniest seafood chowder we have ever had. Had baked fish, salad and rice. We questioned one of the very young girls that worked there if she knew what clam chowder was, and she stated, she had never heard of it before!! We were amazed!! Cost was $14.50. We did enjoy what we had, but to work in a restaurant and not know what a chowder was, is quite shocking! The young girls should be better trained. Maybe all the staff should be trained on what a seafood chowder really is. Oh, well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby31225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Tasty food, friendly staff”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We dined here for dinner, then breakfast a few days later. On both occasions we were greeted warmly and served our food in good time. The coffee was particularly good, and obviously made by someone who cared about what went into the cup.
Dinner was delicious - a generous serving of good, hearty food, packed with strong, simple flavours and without all of the pointless additions so many restaurants feel the need to thrown on your plate. At $88 for two mains, two desserts and a glass of wine, it's reasonably priced too.
For breakfast I enjoyed the scrambled egg with smoked fish - again, nothing fancy, but beautifully executed and full of flavour. Will happily eat here again next time we're passing through.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KentandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Came here for a light lunch. Had the antipasto, a selection of cold meat, cheeses, bread, olives and relish. It was beautiful. Also had a local beer which turned into 4.

Great service, great food, great beer, great music.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaii
Level Contributor
249 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had the green mussels which was just average. We also had the fish special, again just average. But if you do not want fish and chips this is the place for you.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank krg999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cafe also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Le Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing