We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat”
Review of Toot & Whistle Inn

Toot & Whistle Inn
Ranked #26 of 41 Restaurants in Picton
Restaurant details
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had an evening meal. Yum and very reasonably priced. Some special on every day. Staff were lovely

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Witches50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
342 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Okay enough if you like salt!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Having a bit of time to kill before our wine tour started (and wanting to put a lining on our stomachs!) we ventured in and you got the vibes immediately of ‘stranger’!

The food was fairly cheap but nothing to write home about other than it was literally drenched in salt – far, far too much for my liking but that unfortunately seemed to be a common thing we found in New Zealand.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ne_quine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Middle of the (rail)road?”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Nippy ole day outside so wanted a warm-up. Found the T&W Inn right by the train station. It was warm inside & Seafood Chowder was the recommendation, with a coffee. Think it was $18 which sounded value.

The chowder was a goodly portion, able to feed a small All Black, with toasted bread. It was full of fishy things, nice enough, but of average flavour. I prefer fishy things based on a fish stock, rather than a creamy base. But for the price: no quibble.

My coffee was average, but so was the price for that.

The service & smiles were better than average though.

Would I go back? If I wanted a quick, value, nosh yes.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Waggersting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Great typical kiwi pub. Food was basic but great value. Service was with a smile and food was delivered quickly. We had blue cod which was great. If you want a cheap basic meal we would recommend

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blenheim NZ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average average average”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This was the first place we came to after departing the Ferry. Typical uninteresting Kiwi fare. Steak and chips, fish and chips you get my drift. Uninteresting beers. No local beers

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank linleyblenheimNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toot & Whistle Inn also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Toot & Whistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing