We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, great service, great location... Just great!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour View Motel Picton
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great rooms, great service, great location... Just great!!!!”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Harbourview and it was truly a great experience. The facilities in the room and the room itself far exceeded my expectations and with the view really was good value for money! Kim and Ian were both really friendly and hospitable which really topped off our stay!! We highly recommend this place and will be returning again soon!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzybee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    148
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
123
587
45
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Booked a two night stay here, for one of the upper floor rooms, which has a better view of the harbour. We were warmly greeted by Ian, who was really friendly and helpful, offering any advice we may need for eats or things to do. The apartment itself was clean, modern and a good size and had everything we needed. There is even a balcony, which was nice to sit on in the morning with our coffee overlooking the harbour.
We didnt use the cooking facilities, and they are minimal, although you had enough to get by if needed. The small details helped make this a great place to stay, for example the selection of tea and plunger coffee, toiletries in the bathroom and decent loo paper too!! Wi-fi was complimentary to 100MB (i think) which was plenty, although only 1 device could use at a time.
Our first night we were tired from travelling, so slept pretty well, but the bed overall was a little on the soft side for us, but thats just personal preference i suppose.
There is no restaurant on site, but Ian was on hand to suggest different places in town (which isn't massive but caters reasonably well). We ended up at Seumus's the first night - good old fashioned pub grub and Cortados the second night for a pizza.
Its also close enough to everything so you can leave the car there, and walk in to town, and down to the harbour. Also a bonus being only 30 mins away from Blenheim, for the wineries!
All in all, a really pleasant start to our time away, and if i'm in this area would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Recently my husband, daughter, grandchild and myself stayed at this motel for one night on our way down south and two nights on return. We had two spacious units together and everything so clean and tidy and made up every day. Kim & Ian are so friendly and very helpful with everything, even when my husband left his suit behind! It is so close to town and restaurants, with an amazing view over harbour. We stayed here last year as well and would recommend it to anyone, it is also a quiet place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and the motels were spotless and very spacious.Ian and Kim were excellent hosts and nothing was a bother. We were picked up and dropped off at the station - all part of the service.We highly recommend these motels to anyone staying in Picton.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boopayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The room was warm, comfortable, modern, and the views were amazing. Very handy location to walk to restaurants and shops.

Service couldn't be faulted, the owners were very helpful and friendly, giving superb recommendations for restaurants and activities, etc. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Wonderful location, fantastic views overlooking the bay and marina. Our unit was excellent - Spacious, clean and had everything needed. Lovely eco accessories in the bathroom. Ian and Kim couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful and pointed us in the right direction for everything we wanted to do. I would recommend this motel to anyone and will definitely continue to use it for my trips to the top of the South Island.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The unit was spacious, absolutely first notch in fittings and cleanliness. The views are just gorgeous, you can sit on your deck in privacy and watch all the shipping activity just below you. What's more we got way more than we expected, there was a full salt & pepper grinder - just what was needed for the avocado on toast for brekkie, then our towels got changed everyday, there was even a Makeup towelling towel - which was great, no ruining the beautiful white towels inadvertently! It was walking distance, only a few hundred metres to all the shops and restaurants so could go out with no driving concerns. We were greeted by Ian with a friendly smaile and taken care right off our flight in Blenheim & driven to the door, with free return service. Fabulous! Would go again, and agin without hesitation.

Room Tip: They ALL have excellent views - the location ensures this, all seaward facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.0 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
10.1 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel Picton

Property: Harbour View Motel Picton
Address: 30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Picton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#2 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour View Motel Picton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique studio accommodation in the heart of Picton with stunning views of Picton Harbour, the marina and surrounding landscape. Your Hosts Kim & Ian 30 Waikawa Road, Picton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Harbour View Motel Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Motel Picton Hotel Picton
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Motel Picton New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing