We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the amenities you need and great view, too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour View Motel Picton
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Dexter, MI
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“All the amenities you need and great view, too”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The top ranking is well deserved for this place. The rooms all have views of the harbor, they look recently renovated, and are clean. Each room has a kitchenette, too, so you can bring in food and cook it. Stove top, sink, glassware/plates, utensils, refrigerator in each room. There is a washing machine and dryer on site that you can use, too. Internet is free. The owner is really pleasant with lots of good tips for things to do. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    743
    148
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
122
586
45
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Have recently spent 3 nights at Harbour View Motel. Quiet location, spacious rooms, very comfortable ( bed was 'dippy'), room serviced daily with fresh towels & guest laundry. The balcony off our room was private, plenty of room for 2 and the view over Picton harbour was terrific. Everything was within walking distance - boat cruises to Queen Charlotte Sound, restaurants, local walking tracks. Winery tours also leave from Picton. Owners were very helpful, not intrusive. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Top rate accomm option in Picton. First time visitors to this destination. Lovely room with harbour view, well appointed, great staff and easy walk to town from a very central location. Quiet, location, off busy High Street.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini11_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Great location, recommend making this hotel and Picton your base to see the Marlborough region as well as the Queen Charlotte Sound. The views on the "Snout Walk" are as good as they come.Have nothing negative to say about this hotel at all, highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This motel came highly recommended to us, by a B&B owner that we stayed with and we were not disappointed. Ian was very friendly and welcoming, from the moment we arrived, giving us helpful recommendations about the local area. We stayed on the top floor and enjoyed the stunning views over Picton Harbour. It was so handy to be able to do our laundry on site after a couple of weeks travelling. We were near enough to the beautiful Marlborough Wine area to enjoy several gorgeous lunches and dinners at stunning wineries. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary and Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely spacious room and very clean and quiet. Friendly and informative hosts. Great views of a really gorgeous location. Take your Marlborough purchases out onto the deck for the best South Island sundowners! Close to everything. Make sure you walk out to Bob's Bay.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank YumYum-ontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Loved our stay at Harbour View Motel. Ian & Kim were so friendly and helpful without being intrusive in any way. The complimentary pick-up from the Railway station was greatly appreciated and Ian gave us a great commentary of the main points of Picton on the way to the Motel. The rooms are modern, clean and very well equipped with a great view of the Marina. Everything is in easy reach of the Motel, including the ferry and cruise terminals, restaurants and a 7 day grocery store. We would definitely recommend Harbour View Motel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.0 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
15.6 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel Picton

Property: Harbour View Motel Picton
Address: 30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#1 Family Hotel in Picton
#2 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour View Motel Picton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique studio accommodation in the heart of Picton with stunning views of Picton Harbour, the marina and surrounding landscape. Your Hosts Kim & Ian 30 Waikawa Road, Picton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Harbour View Motel Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Motel Picton Hotel Picton
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Motel Picton New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing