We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view and terrific hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbour View Motel Picton
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Ian picked us up from the train station and provided a great overview of Picton as he drove us to the motel. The room was spacious, comfortable, clean, and attractive. We had a gorgeous view of the bay from our balcony. Kim let us use their laundry facilities because another guest was using the motel washer and dryer. Both Kim and Ian are friendly, kind, thoughtful, and helpful. They provided discount coupons for several of the restaurants in Picton. Ian took us to the ferry and couldn't have been more accommodating.

Room Tip: The entrance to the hotel is up a steep path. If you have trouble walking, you might want to select...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 146Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

580 - 586 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights and arrived very early, around 12:30pm, because the weather was so bad. We were welcomed by Kim and checked in straight away and offered help with our luggage. Kim gave us loads of information on Picton and suggested places for lunch & dinner. We were given discount coupons for a couple of places, including Cortado, a lovely bar/bistro. The hotel room was spotless, spacious and well equipped with excellent central heating. There was a large balcony with lovely views over the harbour. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JohnP26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel deserves it's position of number 1 in Picton, it should be number 1 in New Zealand
Never before have I met a couple like Kim and Ian. They were the perfect hosts, lots of info and very kind people, nothing was too much trouble. Ian picked us up from the ferry and on the drive through Picton pointed out museums, eateries and where to pick up a boat trip.
The accommodation was immaculate, plenty of utensils and cutlery, bedding was top class and fluffy towels.
The apartment was light, airy and very comfortable. The view was spectacular, I could have spent hours just looking at it.
Breakfast was good value and delivered to our room when we requested it.
I wish Ian and Kim success in their enterprise, it was fabulous, thank you

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ruth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Excellent location, views and cleanliness. Couldn't fault this accommodation. For this accommodation you get exactly what you pay for and it is worth every dollar. Everything within walking distance. Do yourself a favour and stay for a couple of nights to check out Picton and all its beauty.

Room Tip: Top floor has fantastic views of harbour, but rooms on lower level also have water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The top ranking is well deserved for this place. The rooms all have views of the harbor, they look recently renovated, and are clean. Each room has a kitchenette, too, so you can bring in food and cook it. Stove top, sink, glassware/plates, utensils, refrigerator in each room. There is a washing machine and dryer on site that you can use, too. Internet is free. The owner is really pleasant with lots of good tips for things to do. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PKFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Have recently spent 3 nights at Harbour View Motel. Quiet location, spacious rooms, very comfortable ( bed was 'dippy'), room serviced daily with fresh towels & guest laundry. The balcony off our room was private, plenty of room for 2 and the view over Picton harbour was terrific. Everything was within walking distance - boat cruises to Queen Charlotte Sound, restaurants, local walking tracks. Winery tours also leave from Picton. Owners were very helpful, not intrusive. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Top rate accomm option in Picton. First time visitors to this destination. Lovely room with harbour view, well appointed, great staff and easy walk to town from a very central location. Quiet, location, off busy High Street.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mini11_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
654 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
16.1 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel Picton

Address: 30 Waikawa Rd, Picton 7250, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#1 Family Hotel in Picton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#2 Business Hotel in Picton
Price Range: £68 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour View Motel Picton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique studio accommodation in the heart of Picton with stunning views of Picton Harbour, the marina and surrounding landscape. Your Hosts Caryn & Noddy 30 Waikawa Road, Picton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour View Motel Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Motel Picton Hotel Picton
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Motel Picton New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing