We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour View Motel Picton
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
1 review
“Perfect Location!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Great hosts who accommodated our needs superbly. Beautiful views and centrally located to all of Picton's amenities. Rooms are very modern and clean with a great balcony and sea view. For once there was some decent storage space in a NZ hotel with a good kitchenette and bathroom. The only downside was probably the parking which was very tight. Great dvd collection for nightime as TV shows were quite limited.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    743
    148
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
122
586
45
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We spent three nights here and found the view over the Queen Charlotte Sound and Picton Harbour just amazing at breakfast and supper. The room was spacious, meticulously clean and well equipped. We appreciated the free milk, coffee tea and wi-fi. Our hosts had a good knowledge of the area and helped us plan our stay. Really good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights here and found the owners very helpful. Rooms are very modern and clean with a great balcony and sea view. For once there was some decent storage space in a NZ hotel with a good kitchenette and bathroom. The only downside was probably the parking which was very tight - would recommend parking in the road ! Definitely looked one of the best hotels in town ... although the competition wasn't great ! In terms of the town the dolphin trip is very good and Blenheim is about 25 minutes away (although public transport was pretty dire so you have to drive) The town itself is a bit of a ferry port although would recommend the Irish bar and the fish and chip shop next door !

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stevejackson375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Kim and Ian are first class hosts - friendly, flexible and accommodating. The house was clean, well appointed, comfortable and has a lovely outlook over Picton. This gave us lots of room to spread out after walking the Queen Charlotte Track. Ian even dropped me at the car rental the next morning. Kiwi hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: If you are a family, or have multiple members of your group, ask if Harbourview's off-site house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Harbour View Motel twice in January 2014 as a group of eight. The rooms were very clean, well set out and have beautiful views. Hosts Kim and Ian were extremely helpful and the courtesy bus took us to and from the ferry and was available to transport us to lunch at a restaurant in the Marlborough region. We all highly recommend staying at Harbour View Motel.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hugh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We loved Picton! Kim picked us up from the bus stopped when we arrived from Blenheim. She took us on a quick tour through town, showing us the places to eat and where we needed to go for our booked tours. Our room was extremely clean, spacious and had a very nice view out over the Picton Harbour. On check out we were able to leave our luggage at reception while we went out on a day trek through the Marlborough Sounds. On our return Kim dropped us back at the Ferry Terminal. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Picton. It's a great place to stay, in a perfect location and the owners Kim and Ian are extremely helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennes19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed at the Harbour View last November, bit slow in writing this review. I enjoyed my stay here, the apartment was clean and tidy with good amenities available. It's in easy reach to the town and train and also some good short treks nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.0 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
15.6 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#5 of 16 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel Picton

Property: Harbour View Motel Picton
Address: 30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#1 Family Hotel in Picton
#2 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour View Motel Picton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique studio accommodation in the heart of Picton with stunning views of Picton Harbour, the marina and surrounding landscape. Your Hosts Kim & Ian 30 Waikawa Road, Picton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour View Motel Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Motel Picton Hotel Picton
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Motel Picton New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing