We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Picton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour View Motel Picton
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I can't say enough great things about the Harbour View Motel. First off, the motel really does have great harbor views. The rooms are recently renovated and have everything you need -- comfortable beds, full kitchenette with pots/pans/flatware/coffee/tea, good size bathroom with quality bath products, deck with chairs/table facing the harbor. On top of that, the hosts, Ian and Kim, could not be more accommodating and do little things to make the stay easier and more pleasant. Couple of examples -- they have coin laundry equipment available for use, but they supply laundry detergent; on the key chain, they have discounts from several cafes in the center of Picton a couple of blocks away. Really, don't consider anyplace else if there is vacancy at the Harbor View -- we were there three nights and I wish we could have been there a week!

Room Tip: Rooms on north side on 2nd or 3rd level will have a great harbor / water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcadoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a lovely stay, and stayed an extra night. Great location, great rooms with view, friendly and helpful staff. Would highly recommend. Kim recommended a tour of the sound which was a fantastic boat trip, he delivered us and picked us up from the boat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moya234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a great motel. The staff was terrific - he got us at the train station and a few days later took us to the ferry. The views were fantastic and the size of the room was incredible. Would recommend this motel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank krg999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We arrived at the Harbour View Motel pretty late (Kim kindly stayed in for us) so we didn't get to see the view until the next morning but when we awoke in the sunshine it was gorgeous. We had breakfast on our balcony in the sun then strolled down to catch the interislander ferry whilst Kim looked after our car for us. A great stay!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pippa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Terrific place to stay, convenient location. Good balcony for nice views & lovely comfortable rooms. Kim and Ian very friendly and helpful. Ian dropped us at bus station for a early morning departure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I was very pleased with everything about this motel. The view of the harbor was lovely, the staff was accommodating and even though we checked in early, they gave us a room quickly. The rooms are large and have nice kitchenettes. The bathroom was also a good size and had a good shower. It was an easy walk from the train station and to the boat that took us to the start of the Outer Queen Charlotte Track. I would not hesitate to recommend this motel to travelers.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hikemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

What a shame that we only had 1 night here. It was a lovely room and so well equipped. On arrival, the owner was so friendly, showing us around.
The bathroom was a wet room. There was also an outdoor table and chairs we could use, overlooking the harbour and town.
Will definitely want to stay here again if we are ever back in Picton.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabingates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
678 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Broadway Motel
Broadway Motel
#2 of 17 in Picton
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel Picton

Address: 30 Waikawa Rd, Picton 7250, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#1 Family Hotel in Picton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#2 Business Hotel in Picton
Price Range: £62 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour View Motel Picton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique studio accommodation in the heart of Picton with stunning views of Picton Harbour, the marina and surrounding landscape. Your Hosts Caryn & Noddy 30 Waikawa Road, Picton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour View Motel Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Motel Picton Hotel Picton
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Motel Picton New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing