We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need to create a perfect break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Watermark Holiday Studios
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
234 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Everything you need to create a perfect break”
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We chose Watermark on the strength of previous reviews and were not disappointed. We stayed in the larger studio which has an expansive sea view. It was well appointed with a kitchette. The room was spacious with 2 large lounge chairs, two seater dining table, a king size bed and a flat screen TV/DVD player. Directly outside the room was a private garden with table & chairs and umbrella. Plus, the view.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, Jo, the owner was more than accommodating with restaurant suggestions/bookings, calling for taxis bookings and general advice. The room had a very detailed folder containing brochures, maps and timetables which greatly assisted planning.

We walked to the strip shopping centre at Oneroa (500 metres) which has a grocery store and a number of restaurants and coffee shops that served very good casual food. There are a a number of wineries on the island with excellent restaurants - some like Mudbrick with excellent views. We chose to use the local bus service to sightsee - buy a daily pass and hop on and off at will.

We had arrived at Watermark rather tired and left totally refreshed, It was an excellent choice and would wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
47
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We stayed overnight at Watermark for a girlfriend weekend away, inspired by positive reviews on tripadvisor.com. The only complaint we had was that we could not stay longer. What a relaxing place. Lovely ferry ride from Auckland. A quick taxi ride from the passenger wharf, walking distance to Oneroa shops, short (though steep) walk down Tawa St to sheltered Little Oneroa beach and 3 different bus routes. (Worth getting a bus timetable). Small general store by Little Oneroa beach for basics - small supermarket and other facilities in Oneroa. Taxi drivers we had knew where Watermark was. Jo settled us in quickly, gave suggestions of places to eat and to visit. - she also gave guidance on what was open for breakfast for early starts. Lucky enough to get a beautiful sunny day in October which was (just) warm enough for a quick swim, but anticipated that had it been less pleasant, would have been nice to relax in the apartment and enjoy the view anyway. Would have liked to explore more of the island had time permitted. Attached photo shows Lillte Oneroa Beach and loctaion of Watermark in relation to it. Highly recommend for quiet, relaxing, modern accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aniit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh, scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2009

From the moment we arrived on Waiheke Island, Jo Underwood went the extra mile; picking us up from the ferry, catering for my champagne on ice birthday wish for my boyfriend and recommending the best places on the island from galleries to coffee to fine dining.

The apartment was lovely and stylishly decorated with a little kitchenette and everything we could need for our three night stay, not to mention a fabulous view out to sea. The situation was perfect, as despite not having a car, we had some fabulous walks on the doorstep with the well stocked main town on Waiheke a ten minute walk away.

When we return to Waiheke, we’ll definitely return to Waterfront and whilst I’m typing this, I’m almost loathed to let too many people know about this gem of a place to stay in case it’s fully booked next time we’re in town! Jo’s genuine passion for Waiheke and a natural affinity with being a hostess really does make Waterfront feel like a home from home.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

This is a marvellous place to stay with the property having stunning expansive views of the beautiful island and over the Hauraki Gulf . It is made very special by the great hospitality and generosity of the owner Jo Underwood who seems to have an intuitive understanding of guests and extensive contacts to match interests with all that is on offer on the island. I've stayed on many places on Waiheke and can't beat this one!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Jo Underwood has a wonderful property that sits on a hill with wonderful views over two sides of the island, nothing was too much trouble, we even borrowed her car! It's an easy walk into town, there are great walks along beaches and it's a wonderful spot. The facilities were perfect for us, wifi, washing machine, the rooms comfortable and our hostess not at all intrusive but readily available to help at all times. If you intend to visit this wonderful island, a short ferry ride from Auckland, make this your destination.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — We didn't have any good weather!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tmpars7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2008

My wife and I were looking for a fun and relaxing place to spend the New Year outside of Australia , We discovered The Watermark at Waiheke Island and were pleasantly surprised at how stunning the views were from our magnificent hilltop accomodation.
We felt like we were on an island in the Mediterranean though we were only a 35 minute ferry ride away from Aucland Harbour.
Joanna made our stay (5 days) a very enjoyable and interesting experience .
We wined and dined at a number of lunchtime restaurants with postcard views and food to match.
If anyone is looking forward to relaxing with great food and great wines then this is the place.

  • Liked — the friendly host , the fantastic views and the privacy
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussie_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#4 of 9 in Waiheke Island
180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waiheke Wild Thyme
Waiheke Wild Thyme
#8 of 27 in Waiheke Island
14 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oyster Inn
The Oyster Inn
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#3 of 6 in Oneroa
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Holiday Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Holiday Studios

Property: Watermark Holiday Studios
Address: 17 Tawa Street | Little Oneroa, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Watermark Holiday Studios 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern studio apartments overlooking Oneroa Bay. Each of the 3 studios has its own private terrace facing north (the sunny side on this side of the world!) 2 of the studios have lovely seaviews and the 3rd has a partial seaview but larger en-suite. 300mtrs from beautiful beaches; 10 min walk to Oneroa village, shops, bars, restaurants, cinema and information centre. Close to all main amenities, vineyards. These studios are NOT serviced! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Watermark Holiday Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing