We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We loved everything about Breakfast on the Beach - it is the perfect place to recover from a 24 hour flight from the UK. Keith and Marilyn are perfect hosts and ensured we had everything we wanted - their special breakfasts were a great way to start the day. When we overslept and missed breakfast a delicious brunch was prepared for us! Keith took our son out fishing in a sea kayak which was one of the highlights of our NZ trip. A gem of a place!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityTraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
It was outstadning to see the whole family having such fun. Keith enjoys taking guests out for a spot of fishing - he won't hesitate to jump at the opportunity. We look forward to hosting you all again at some stage in the future. Warm regards Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
129
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ben Lomond, NSW, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Wow! The Beach Lodge was amazing. The attention to detail really sets it apart from other accommodation. We were met by Keith and Marilyn and they ensured our stay was memoriable, with complementary canapés and drinks before we dined the first evening. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wished we had more time to enjoy the accommodation's facilities (spa, garden, kayaking, cycling and just relaxing environment).
We recommend this to anyone looking for 5 star accommodation with the works.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for the kind review. We do recall your stay with us. It was great to host you and your friends and yes, you do need to come back and enjoy all the pleasures of our Lodge and the rest of Waiheke Island. Warm regards Keith and Marilyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Beautiful accommodation, fantastic location, special attention to detail, breakfast as delicious as your favourite cafe, generous and informative hosts, lovely outdoor spa... as we already said: perfect in every way!

Couldn't have asked for better accommodation and you're definitely missing out if you don't chose to stay at Breakfast on the Beach! Thank you Keith and Marilyn, we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to put a review in on your stay with us. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you and trust we will get the opportunity to host you again next time you cross the Tasman! Regards Keith and Marilyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Anau
Level Contributor
212 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My wife and I spent our 20th wedding anniversary on Waiheke Island. Keith and Marilyn are fantastic hosts who arranged a really memorable holiday for us. The rooms are extremly comfortable, spa pool and garden very relaxing and the attention to detail and comfort are second to none. We are really greatful for the time we spent at Breakfast on the Beach and really hope we can return

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikehikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 13 September 2015
Thank you for the kind review. It was our pleasure to host you while celebrating such an important milestone and trust it recharged the batteries before venturing back to work in the Milford Sounds. All the very best for the next 20 years and look forward to hosting you for another anniversary............hopefully before your 40th!! Keith and Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Went to Waiheke for a 2 day relaxing break between busy work schedules.

The Lodge arranged everything for us prior to our arrival – uplift from the ferry, wine tour, and restaurant bookings and return to the ferry after our stay. We have stayed in many luxury hotels and lodges before but this fits somewhere in-between – best description would be a luxury boutique hotel I guess.

The lodge was exquisite, everything you need and want is at your fingertips. Unfortunately we did have some work to tend to while staying but the free Wifi, computer and printer – and two extra Ethernet wall plugs in our room - made it easy to connect with our corporate net on the other side of the world – even able to conduct a VTC through the room 42 in TV. After which we joined our hosts for complementary canapés and drinks before dinner. Our evening was spent relaxing in the spa pool enjoying complimentary ports and chocolates before retiring to bed. . Probably the best sleep we have ever had. Make sure you take some of the walking tours round the local area and use the lodge bikes to explore further. Keith even took me out for a kayak tour round the bay – and hooked a sea trout on the way home !! (I believe they call it a Kahawai fish in NZ)

Thank you Keith, Marilyn and Sarah for a most memorable holiday. You will see our friends staying soon, thats for certain.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airliftdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwigrahams, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 27 September 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and we most certainly would be pleased to host you again on your return!
Warm Regards Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at Breakfast on the beach for our third anniversary this year as a special treat on a visit home from London.
The owner, Keith, drove our wedding car when we got married and was kind enough to take us to dinner in it the night we stayed. From the moment we walked in the front door Keith and Marilyn couldn't do enough to make our stay better. We really needed more than one night to make use of all the lovely things we could do. I would've loved a soak in the spa. The beach is very peaceful and kiddy friendly and Waiheke is totally amazing.
The Hotel is pristine and finished to a very high spec, a joy to behold.The breakfast was first rate, beautifully presented and very tasty and a perfect counterpoint to a hefty lunch at mudbrick vineyard the previous day.
To top everything off when we wanted to do the headland art walk on the way to the ferry but couldn't carry all our luggage, Keith dropped us off and met us at the ferry afterwards with all our luggage. Top class.
We'd go back in a heartbeat, shame its so far away.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick4spot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwigrahams, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 21 October 2016
Thank you for the kind review. We continue to do all we can to make sure our guests are comfortable and content - your summary indicates we are on the mark. Thank you.

Keitha and Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Well that will take some beating. We have never experience this level of service before.
Within 2 hours of landing at Auckland airport we were kayaking out the front of the Hotel...........bliss.
We were blown away by the number of complimentary services - free wine and port in the evening,free unlimited internet, spa pool, kayaks, pushbikes, golf clubs, telephone, shuttle service and gourmet breakfast to die for (we did not have to eat all day after it), and many more - most other hotels we have stayed at would have charges extra for most of these services. Marilyn also arranged all our tours and bookings on the Island - nothing for us to worry about.
Thank you Keith, Marilyn and staff! We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmitchTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.5 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#4 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.8 mi away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
#7 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfast on the Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfast on the Beach Lodge

Property: Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Address: 34 The Esplanade | Waiheke Island - Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakfast on the Beach Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast on the Beach is a luxury waterfront boutique lodge on beautiful Waiheke Island, New Zealand - Auckland's Paradise in the Hauraki Gulf. What makes this waterfront lodge unique is its quiet setting on the bay yet close proximity to ferries, shops, restaurants, cafes and wineries. Four luxury guest rooms with large en-suites, open lounge and atrium area that look out over expansive sea views. Each room is meticulously set to cater for your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Breakfast on the Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfast On The Beach Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing