We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding business meeting venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding business meeting venue”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We held our company annual meeting here. The place has 4 rooms and was able to accommodate and sleep our management staff for a two day conference. We had total privacy to conduct our business and the hotel provided - free of charge - the meeting room with all the associated facilities (including projector, screen, whiteboards, Internet and power boards) the broadband was fast enough to enable us to run a vtc with our overseas offices during the period.

Keith and Marilyn arranged al the necessary pickups and meals, including morning and afternoon teas. We could not have asked for anything more - its just a shame we were not there for a luxurious romantic occasion for it is in such a beautiful location on the beach looking out to sea - but I fully intend to take advantage of this when I return with my husband later this year.

Room Tip: No problem - all rooms have the same outstanding views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWalshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Thank you for the kind review. It was our pleasure to host your international group and for some I know it was their first NZ experience so trust their visit was not all work and that they did get some time to tour a bit of the country before returning to Stockholm.

Regards

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
129
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Our friends recommended this hotel and we were not disappointed. It has all the intimacy of a private bed and breakfast but with the facilities and luxury of a larger 5 star hotel. The service and meticulaious attention to detail are of a very high standard and at a level we have only experineced in a few boutique providers round the world.
Keith and Marilyn work well as a team and obviously put personal effort to make sure their staff pay particular attention to the guest comfort and privacy. It's a pleasure to stay at such luxury and also with the confidence there are no hidden costs at the end of your stay. We had a complimentrary welcome tray on arrival, bottle of wine in our room and complimetary predinner drinks and canapés. All the water and soft drinks in our room fridge were also complimetary includigng free internet and telephone calls. Everything was sorted for us including the pickup and drop off on arrival all we had to do was throw our jet lagged bodies on the ferry in downtown Auckland and Keith and Marilyn did the rest. Keith took my husband out for a spot of kayak fishing in the afternoon while I lay on the hammock (doing some very important thinking!) and within an hour he's back with a grin from ear to ear and a couple of large snapper - all from the front of the Lodge - a priceless experince that cost absolutely nothing.
Its a long way for us from the UK but will we be back .......definitely!

Room Tip: No need to worry - they all have the same remarkable views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you for the great review. As always it was our pleasure to host you and I know Keith enjoyed the kayak fishing as much as your husband. We appreciate it is a long way out from the UK but we hope you get the opportunity to visit this beautiful country again.

Regards

Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and i stayed at the Breakfast On the Beach Lodge for the first time for Christmas 2009 and came back last January.
Our first trip was such an extraordinary experience for us that we decided to finish our second trip to New Zealand.
Keith and Marilyn are wonderful hosts that do everything for us to feel comfortable. As we appreciate, they take care of every detail of our experience - they're there if we need, but whenever we want to be on our own, we simply don't notice anyone around.
As one could expect, breakfast at the Lodge is an unique experience. And they always arrange the best dining experiences in places like Mudbrick, Cable Bay and other spectacular spots that you'll only find in Waiheke Island.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tukis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you for the kind review. It was our pleasure to host you a second time round and we certainly look forward to your third visit!!

Warm regards

Keith and Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

From the moment we arrived, our Host, Marilyn greeted us and suggested a few wineries to visit so off we went to the first one for lunch! Casita Miro....It was just perfect...The food, wine and atmosphere was divine...After our afternoon of eating and drinking my husband arranged a private masseuses for us in the room. We then relaxed with the complimentary bottle of wine and nibbles they provided and the lovely view across the bay. Then after chatting with our hosts over nibbles and a drink, we then went to a highly reccommended restaurant/winery for dinner, Cable Bay. Returning home to our room, we slid into the comfy bed with gorgeous linens and warm doona. The attention to detail, right down to the lavender products in the bathroom and lovely fluffy white robes and slippers...and heated towel racks...The next morning we were given the most delicious breakfast, and the fruit platter was so tasty, sweet and beautifully presented...We had to say good-bye, and on to more wineries, but definitely will return next time for a two night stay...We will miss our new friends and hosts, Keith and Marilyn from "Breakfast on the Beach".

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sansbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you for lovely review. So pleased you both enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again next time you visit New Zealand.
Regards Keith & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a romantic get away at the end of a tour of New Zealand - and what a lovely country!
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge was without a doubt our best and our most memorable accommodation. The Lodge was full but the service and attention to detail provided by Keith and Marilyn made you feel you were the only ones there. Rooms are a good size and all with water views, I could take 40 large steps and be in the water! - and the sleep was not only the best of our tour but better than anything we have had since. Thank you Keith and Marilyn for a most romantic conclusion to our holiday and we look forward to our return. Warm regards Bob & Sylvia.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same outlook - nothing between you and the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thank you for your review Bob.
Marilyn and I thoroughly enjoyed having you stay and we look forward to the opportunity of hosting you and Sylvia again in the future. As you noted, water is definitely our feature view and is great when you get the opportunity to enjoy activities both on it and in it.

Regards

Marilyn and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My husband and I had the most wonderful weekend on Waiheke mostly due to the exceptional quality of rooms, friendliness of our hosts, proximity to restaurants and town and best massage ever ever ever. If you want a sanctuary of bliss coupled with interesting and welcoming hosts on Waiheke this is your place. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1972Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Thank you for the lovely review Frances. We enjoyed hosting you both and so pleased we were able to make it a special weekend for you. Remember Australia is only a few hours away and we have had guests catch a snapper from the kayak within 2 hours of landing in Auckland!

Warm regards

Keith & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Generally not bad, but for $600+ a night, I would expect a bit more. My major gripe would be the bed (think I must of been in the same room as the person who mentioned it below)- probably the softest I have ever slept on. The 'roll-together' with my husband was so bad he ended up sleeping on the pull-out couch, and is still whinging about his back!
Some nice touches (e.g. the bedtime port on our last night, and DVDs), but the products in the bathroom were the same cheap ones you get in loads of motels (I think those Bathe ones?), no bath, and the curtains are not black out. I appreciate its a small hotel- so they can't make money on scale alone, but I do think this one is overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saisun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Saisun,
We are sorry you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay. We recall the evening you phoned us when the three of you were in transit on the 8pm car ferry to Waiheke Island. The island was full and you were desperate for accommodation, not wishing to have to sleep in the car. We advised at the time that our Lodge was full also but could make available an alternative room and put a fold out bed in there to sleep three. On reflection this was a mistake, although after the first evening you seemed perfectly happy with the set up and elected to then stay a second night. We take blame for having accepted your late booking and not living up to your expectations. We would appreciate being able to discuss this further directly with you and hope we can have the opportunity to host you in the Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiheke Island
1.4 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
230 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
90 reviews
14.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
86 reviews
1.3 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
254 reviews
1.8 mi away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
#7 of 9 in Waiheke Island
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfast on the Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfast on the Beach Lodge

Property: Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Address: 34 The Esplanade | Waiheke Island - Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakfast on the Beach Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast on the Beach is a luxury waterfront boutique lodge on beautiful Waiheke Island, New Zealand - Auckland's Paradise in the Hauraki Gulf. What makes this waterfront lodge unique is its quiet setting on the bay yet close proximity to ferries, shops, restaurants, cafes and wineries. Four luxury guest rooms with large en-suites, open lounge and atrium area that look out over expansive sea views. Each room is meticulously set to cater for your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Breakfast on the Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfast On The Beach Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing