We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Exceptional service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakfast on the Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

The service was exceptional with a great location with nothing been a problem.
Everything is included and nothing was ever a problem.
My wife is a ceoliac and all the food was catered for her specifically.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you for the review. It was our pleasure to host you both and so pleased you made the most of the cycling, walking and swimming while here - the weather was brilliant and still is! Look forward to hosting you again at some point in the future. Warm regards Marilyn and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
128
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Ideal place to celebrate an anniversary! We enjoyed the complimentary pick ups and drop offs to the ferry, the use of the bicycles, and the fine nibbles and wines provided upon arrival and again in the evening. We also enjoyed the lovely breakfast of fresh fruit and hot croissant filled with salmon and scrambled egg, all wonderfully presented in the dining area overlooking the beach. The informative tour of the foreshore on the way back to the ferry was fun, where we learned about the amazing travels of the godwits! Location is great. It was nice and handy to the incredible Mud Brick Vineyards too, which Keith and Marilyn, our wonderful hosts had also prearranged the taxi too. It is incredibly quiet but still handy to the shops/eateries at Oneroa. Everything is very clean and sparkling and the rooms are nicely decorated. Keith and Marilyn, both chefs, are lovely and joined the guests for drinks and very tasty nibbles in the early evening in the spacious lounge/courtyard area. Great for a special occasion. We are already planning our return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLF08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you very much for the kind review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary away from the kids and farm to take a break on beautiful Waiheke island. We must correct you on one thing however, neither Marilyn nor I are qualified Chefs but we do like our food and sharing the enjoyment with others. Look forward to your return. Regards Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Found this through TA and the high rating is very well deserved.

Run / owned by a lovely married couple; Marilyn and Keith. They were really easy to deal with in advance and so very friendly, helpful and accommodating throughout our weekend stay.

Breakfasts were superb - they took into account that my wife was pregnant and they cooked up amazing offerings each morning for us both.

The place is truly luxurious - we were in a very, very comfortable ground floor room with lovely ocean views - you can open up the whole wall to wall front windows and let the fresh air in!

Lots of 'special' touches - from the wine / nibbles pre dinner to the chocolate fish in the room, and the excellent toiletry products.

Walkable to Oneroa village and the beaches. Buses and taxis also make it easy to get around.

Not cheap, but for a memorable stay on the beautiful Island it was well worth it.

Thanks to you both!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Dear GTinNZ. Thank you for your kind response. It was our pleasure to host you both during your 'babymoon'. Trust all has gone well and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again - maybe for your second babymoon! Regards Marilyn and Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

An ideal location for a visit to Waiheke Island. The property is on the Beachfront on the quiet side of the island, with all bedrooms having spectacular views across to the mainland.
One of the big attractions is being just a 10 min walk to the bustle of the islands' main town ...Oneroa.... where you will find all you need by way of facilities & restaurants.
A modern 'Boutique' B & B, designed and furnished to a very high and tasteful standard.
The hosts were extremely attentive to our needs, we would certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewZealandTippler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you very much NewZealandTippler. We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay. Not so sure Oneroa can be classified as a 'bustling' town but it is full of character - and characters - of all kinds. Hope to see you both again and have a pleasant festive season. Regards Keith and Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

I stayed here the night before my wedding on 10th November this year and all I can say is WOW! My bridesmaids and I were treated amazingly, we were offered a glass of wine and time to chat with other guests. The room was spectacular, clean and homely. Breakfast was delicious! We then stayed the following night for our wedding night and were treated with chocolates and champagne on arrival back after the wedding. Marilyn and Keith are great hosts who went out of their way to make our day even more special! Highly highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We know how stressful the wedding day can be - I can recall our own 29 years earlier and it still stresses me!! Sorry Marilyn, only kidding. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again for an anniversary. Warm regards Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Not wanting to endure the stress of international travel the week before Christmas my husband and I choose Waiheke Island as our romantic retreat. Breakfast on the Beach was recommended to us and provided the perfect end to our otherwise flawless day. With superb facilities, well appointed rooms, wonderful hosts and breakfast that is to die for, we couldn't have asked for more. Thank you, Keith and Marilyn, for making our stay with you idyllic.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Thank you for the great review. It was our pleasure to host you for your three day honeymoon with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - Waiheke was only a short trip from Auckland for you but in many respects its like taking a trip to another zone altogether. Hope to get the opportunity to host you and Scott again.. Warm regards Keith & Marilyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

We have busy lives with two young children, and our stay was exactly what we needed, and were looking for. Keith and Marilyn were overly accommodating, but in a way that was respectful of our desire to spend time alone as a couple. The breakfast served each monring dictate a top review in and of themselves, as the meals were amazing and started the morning off quite prefectly. The village is close, the are ample activities in the area (borrow the bikes for a ride, take out the sea kayaks), and the view and property are pleasant and provide the optimal backdrop for any type of vacation or stay. Our greatest thank you to Keith and Marilyn for making our time on Waiheke beyond memorable!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanthonyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Thank you for the kind review. You two deserved a rest after the Auckland triathlon and so pleased you found it with us. Keith enjoyed the kayak fishing as much as you guys - only a few fish caught so you are going to have to come back and get the 'one that got away'. Regards
to you both and look forward to the opportunity to host you again. Keith & Marilyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiheke Island
1.4 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
14.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.3 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
3.7 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfast on the Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfast on the Beach Lodge

Property: Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Address: 34 The Esplanade | Waiheke Island - Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakfast on the Beach Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast on the Beach is a luxury waterfront boutique lodge on beautiful Waiheke Island, New Zealand - Auckland's Paradise in the Hauraki Gulf. What makes this waterfront lodge unique is its quiet setting on the bay yet close proximity to ferries, shops, restaurants, cafes and wineries. Four luxury guest rooms with large en-suites, open lounge and atrium area that look out over expansive sea views. Each room is meticulously set to cater for your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Breakfast on the Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfast On The Beach Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing