We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Ranked #6 of 29 Waiheke Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband & I spent a night here on our recent tour of New Zealand. Out of all the hotels, lodges & spas we stayed at this was our absolute favourite. The boutique nature of the lodge gives it an instant feel of exclusivity & the attentiveness of the hosts throughout our stay was second to none. Our room was luxurious and very tastefully decorated. There were a number of touches such as home made treats & complimentary wine in our room that really made this place stand out. The vintage port left in our room whilst we were out for dinner, turn down service with no need to ask, complimentary canapés & drinks before guests go out for dinner on the first night, lifts to & from the boat, the list goes on.

The name is well suited as the breakfast here is out if this world - without doubt the best breakfast we've ever been presented with - ever! The attention to detail in preparation and presentation was exceptional and the quality of produce used really came through in the taste

We can't recommend Breakfast on the Beach highly enough - thanks to Keith & Marilyn for such an enjoyable visit and such a well run, well executed business - 10/10

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonestReview86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was our pleasure to host you both and trust we will have the opportunity to do it again - and share in some more oysters and wine!! Warm regards Keith and Marilyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

Thank you for making our stay here so relaxing. Keith was very helpful in arranging a very nice table at a vineyard restaurant overlooking the sea and the skyline from Auckland on Dec 25th. Marilyn's breakfast is awesome and is clearly setting a top end benchmark for B&B's in NZ. Our young kids loved the place too. In particular the owner's dog Hollie. It's fair to say that all other guests were couple's without children. I assume that's predominantly the case. We used Waiheke Island/ this B&B for our first stop after the long-haul flight from Europe. Very easy to access from the airport via a bus to Auckland ferry terminal and with a ferry to Waiheke Island. Marilyn was very helpful in suggesting this way. Our children have often asked us to get back to NZ and to this nice place with the dog one day. Enough said.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BorisandDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

It was our pleasure to host you for the start of your NZ tour. Holly also sends her regards and like us would welcome a return visit – her walking lead is at the ready! Regards

Keith & Marilyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

From the moment we pulled up, we knew we were in store for complete and total bliss. All our expectations were past exceeded, and we have definitely found sanctuary. Marilyn and Keith were so gracious as well, making the trip a complete birthday bliss. Would more than just recommend - you must NOT pass up this retreat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for the kind review. We know this was a special occasion for you and we are so pleased we were able to help bring it all together for you - and accommodate you for the extra night. Look forward to your next stay. Regards keith & Marilyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent hosts who bent over backwards to make our stay memorable. Really enjoyed getting a lift in their convertible! Woke up to beautiful sea views and waves lapping at the shore. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou2014NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for the kind review. We know it was a special visit for you both - and a very short one - but remember we are only 35 minute away by ferry and would love the opportunity to host you both again. Even if you are just visiting the Island for the day please drop by for a drink we would love to see you. Regards Keith and Marilyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great place on Waiheke Island.
Keith and Marilyn, owners of the lodge are very friendly and great hosts. Keith greeted us upon arrival and gave us plenty of tips and advice on how to make the most of our stay. He is very witty and very accommodating to our requests and made suggestions on restaurants and places of interest.
Rooms are big and nicely decorated with simple well appointed furniture and have perfect views of the sea. Depending on high/low tide you are literally steps aways to a sandy beach. Nice touch of welcome bottle of wine/snacks and small bottle of port /chocolate for evening nightcap.
This place is highly recommended for people who are looking for a luxury boutique experience but it does come with a high price tag.

Room Tip: All rooms have seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxSpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and remember - there is only 5 hours and 9,155 km between us so we look forward to hosting you again! Regards Keith and Marilyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a wonderful time here overcoming our jet lag. Keith and Marilyn were perfect hosts. The views from our bedroom were stunning and the whole ambience was friendly and relaxing.The breakfasts were magnificent

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gof F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for the review. We enjoyed hosting you both for your 2 days stay on Waiheke Island and trust the long trip home was a good one. We would very much welcome another visit if you get the opportunity to visit our hemisphere again. All the very best - Keith & Marilyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is a little nugget. Keith & Marilyn have built a place to their own design which allows one to have comfort and seclusion with wonderful views and without doubt, the consistently best 5 breakfasts in a row that I've had.
Nothing is too much trouble for them - from helping plan day trips, to producing whatever you need in the way of beach towels or snorkeling equipment, to booking you prime tables at local restaurants.
I arrived needing a rest and left replete and rested and planning to return the next time I want a quiet, luxurious weekend - which is something I have rarely considered because to life's too short to go to the same place again (usually).

Room Tip: I went with a 2 small children. Breakfast on the Beach wasn't designed for children - it has a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for the kind review. It was our pleasure to host you and your two lovely girls for the 5 days and we are so pleased you all had a great time. Not so sure its that easy to recharge your batteries with a couple of small children in tow - but the fact that you did it is more a credit to you and we are happy to have provided the venue. It would be our pleasure to host you again for your next break away!! Warm regards Keith and Marilyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
2.5 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#2 of 5 in Waiheke Island
107 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#4 of 5 in Waiheke Island
93 reviews
1.4 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 29 in Waiheke Island
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
267 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marino Ridge
Marino Ridge
#9 of 29 in Waiheke Island
62 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Oyster Inn
The Oyster Inn
#3 of 6 in Oneroa
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfast on the Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfast on the Beach Lodge

Address: 34 The Esplanade, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Waiheke Island
Price Range: £343 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakfast on the Beach Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast on the Beach is a luxury waterfront boutique lodge on beautiful Waiheke Island, New Zealand - Auckland's Paradise in the Hauraki Gulf. What makes this waterfront lodge unique is its quiet setting on the bay yet close proximity to ferries, shops, restaurants, cafes and wineries. Four luxury guest rooms with large private bathrooms, open lounge and atrium area that look out over expansive sea views. Each room is meticulously set to cater for your every need and includes daily housekeeping and evening turn down service. The front desk is open 24 hours allowing guests to check in at any time that suits them. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Breakfast on the Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfast On The Beach Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing