We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast on the Beach is superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Breakfast on the Beach is superb”
Reviewed 14 December 2008

We have just returned from a weekend at Breakfast on the Beach. Its been a long time since we experienced such incredible service. Keith and Marilyn took care of everything. Breakfast was a work of art. Rooms were quiet, spacious and comfortable with a beautiful view on to Blackpool Bay.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Snowy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
129
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2008

Our two night stay was a "slice of heaven!" The setting and view is absolutely stunning, the rooms tastefully appointed and the facilites luxurious. Absolutely delectable meals and snacks were complimented by beautiful wines. Keith and Marilyn's hospitality is unmatched, and we enjoyed meeting other like-minded guests.

We arrived Friday afternoon to a lovely friendly greeting from Keith and Marilyn, and enjoyed complimentary nibbles and champagne - delicious! Fabulous dinner at Cable Bay was followed by superb port and chocolates at the Lodge. Explored the island next day and had lunch at Mud Brick, then enjoyed relaxing at the Lodge - superb views, great spa and wonderful hammock! Then enjoyed more fabulous nibbles and wines with our hosts and some lovely guests, and again port and chocs. Breakfast each day was mouth-watering - the freshest produce prepared simply yet superbly - and the setting with view out to beach stunning. We would have stayed another week if we could have!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank kibrannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, CA.
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2008

Breakfast on the Beach, on Waiheke Island, NZ!!
We spent three great nights there. Staying at Breakfast on the Beach made us feel like we were part of the "Rich and Famous" show.

The facility is was very clean and comfortable. Our hosts, Keith and Marilyn started our day off with a breakfast like no other - the best! The evening hors d'oeuvres gave us a chance to just relax, plan for the next day and enjoy the company of our hosts. The night's turn-down service was a special treat of excellent Port wine and a mix of chocolates.

If you want beautiful accommodations with wonderful hosts then I recommend Breakfast on the Beach, Waiheke Island, New Zealand. It was more than just breakfast - it was time spent with new friends. Thank you Marilyn and Keith.

Helpful?
Thank mlevesque07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, CA
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2008

We spent three marvelous nights with Keith and Marilyn [aka: superhosts] at Breakfast on the Beach! We are still talking about the three-course breakfasts and the delicious canapes, always served with appropriate Waiheke Island wines. The facility is top rate and Keith and Marilyn do an excellent job of making everyone feel truly welcome. As we were leaving, my brother commented that his stay there made him feel like he was part of the old television show, "The Rich and Famous". And, Holly, the official B & B pooch, is a total delight!

  • Liked — The architecture and location of facility.
  • Disliked — The weather when we were there was VERY windy and bit on the cold side!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chevalierUkiah_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2008

I booked Breakfast on the Beach Lodge for my wife's surprise 40th birthday, last weekend. We arrived up from Christchurch on the Friday, were met at the ferry from Auckland by Keith in his convertible Chrysler and from that point on everything was pretty much perfect.

The first night, there were other American guests at the Lodge and it was nice to meet them and share a drink and canapes with them early in the evening. We then headed off to a vineyard restaurant (Mudbrick) recommended by Keith and Marilyn - it was great.

On Saturday we intentionally got out of the place and took a trip around the Island and vineyards on Ananda Tours (again recommended by Keith and Marilyn), which we would definitely recommend also. The reason why we got out was that, unbeknown to my wife, six of our friends we're arriving to stay that night and have dinner with us. Again, Keith organised their pick up and when we got back, well the party began:

- drinks and nibbles outside in the sun (complimentary bubbly in each fridge)
- spa bath
- complimentary drinks and canapes before dinner
- off to dinner at Cable Bay Vineyard (again recommended by Keith and Marilyn)....brilliant....I could do a separate review on that!
- back to the Lodge - complimentary port in each room
- basically had the Lodge area to ourselves for the night...we had a ball.
- three course breakfast in the morning...then off to the ferry.

The best thing about these places is usually that they do the little things well, and in this case nothing was a problem. No stone was left unturned.

We will be recommending the Lodge to everyone, and will stay there again if the opportunity arises.

  • Liked — The service and attention to detail
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Eliric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2008

We booked here for a couple of nights celebrating our anniversary. They collected us from the ferry, and gave us a ride to dinner and collected us afterwards.
The room was well put together with a king sized bed, good fittings, some chocolates and port before bed and roses. It is in a really quiet place, with a magnificent view from our window across the bay. Breakfast was both fresh and cooked at a time of our choice. Lots to do -we borrowed bikes and rode around for the day. Scenery outstanding. Used the spa that even had an ipod slot. Owners organised pre-dinner drinks and canapes -plenty of games and books to play in the shared area.
They were excellent hosts and we'd highly recommend it, for couples , with really personal service.

  • Liked — Everything so well put together
  • Disliked — hard to say as we like dit all
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JstcaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2008

My partner booked a suprise weekend away for us. Waiheke is only a short journey away from home for us but on arrival at Breakfast on the Beach I felt as though I could have been a million miles away - what a magical place. The beach is literally a stones throw away and the home is wonderful. Keith and Marilyn made us feel very welcome and we felt as though nothing was a problem. Our room was well appointed, spacious and the little touches made the difference.
We enjoyed a lovely romantic dinner for two in-house, we felt thoroughly spoilt by our hosts. Breakfast in bed was pure decadence the next morning.
We will definitely be back and we highly recommend Breakfast on the Beach to anyone seeking a luxury escape.

  • Liked — The location and the modern facility
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FunseekerAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
230 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
90 reviews
2.5 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
254 reviews
1.8 mi away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
#7 of 9 in Waiheke Island
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfast on the Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfast on the Beach Lodge

Property: Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Address: 34 The Esplanade | Waiheke Island - Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakfast on the Beach Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast on the Beach is a luxury waterfront boutique lodge on beautiful Waiheke Island, New Zealand - Auckland's Paradise in the Hauraki Gulf. What makes this waterfront lodge unique is its quiet setting on the bay yet close proximity to ferries, shops, restaurants, cafes and wineries. Four luxury guest rooms with large en-suites, open lounge and atrium area that look out over expansive sea views. Each room is meticulously set to cater for your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Breakfast on the Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfast On The Beach Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing