We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to our honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Ranked #9 of 30 Waiheke Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2009

My husband and I stayed here for the first two nights of our two week honeymoon travels around New Zealand. Breakfast on the Beach was the absolute perfect place to begin our trip. It was relaxing, inviting, comfortable, luxurious...I could go on and on. The owners are very friendly and VERY knowledgeable, there were things they told us about New Zealand that we were able to use throughout the rest of our trip. You could ask them almost anything about New Zealand and they would know it. Oh and the breakfasts' are out of this world, this was the only bad part about starting our trip here because all the other breakfasts' for the rest of our trip were nothing compared to Breakfast on the Beach's fantastic meals. :) Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ln1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2009

Well, yes, we could find just one thing we weren't totally happy with. So let's start with what we really liked:
We loved the location, the room, the welcome, the owners, the breakfast, tasting Waiheke wines, the "taxi" service in a swish Sebring cabriolet, booking us into a lovely restaurant, the evening turn down with chocolates and port, the spa pool - well we could go on and on about all the good things. Just check out the other reviews on Tripadvisor and you'll get the general idea - you're not going to do better than 'Breakfast on the Beach'.
So what was it we didn't like? We do like decaff coffee, and ... instant decaff is what's on offer. Such a disappointment after all the other top drawer attractions. If you like your coffee with caffeine then you're going to be the proverbial pig in mud - paradise awaits you with your choice of coffees. When we go back (and yes, we surely will) we'll pack some proper decaff coffee and then there won't be a single disappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viragored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Upon arrival at the lodge, my wife and I we were greeted by the owners, Keith and Marilyn Graham who helped us take our bags into our room. We were then shown around the lodge. As I have a mobility disability and use a wheelchair they had made sure I had unimpeded access around the lodge and even had a ramp at the door leading out to the garden and spa area. The door to our room was made wider so going in and out of the room in my chair was easy and the room was easy to manoeuvre around in. The bathroom/shower was wheelchair friendly and suitable for people with a mobility disability. The parking was good and close to the main entrance. The view from our room was great with beautiful sea views. We were made to feel very welcome and the service we received from them was “second to none”. We would highly recommend this lodge to anyone looking to have a relaxing and stress free time away.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Waikato_Wonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

My husband and I spent a couple of weeks in New Zealand and decided to take a vacation from our vacation and go to Waiheke Island. We could not have chosen a better place to be! Keith and Marilyn have made this classy place one that is sure to never be forgotten. We absolutely loved it and the island of Waiheke! We can't imagine that there is a better place to get away!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJWEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Upon arriving at Breakfast on the Beach we had a warm and welcoming experience, even champagne in the fridge. Keith and Marilyn are such superb hosts, nothing was too much trouble. We just loved the tasting of Waiheke wines and the canapes in the evening and having a chat with Keith and Marilyn and then going out to dinner at one of the many vineyards which they recommended and also booked for us. One must not miss going to Cable Bay and the Mudbrick vineyards for dinner, the experience was every thing Keith and Marilyn said it would be. The port and chocolates waiting on our return from dinner was also very nice.

They also booked us a fishing charter with Fat Snapper which was just great, we caught many snapper and Marilyn cooked us a delicious fish breakfast the next morning, mind you that was just one of the many delicious gourmet breakfast's Keith and Marilyn prepared for us. Still thinking about them.

The decor is very tastefully done and very relaxing whether you wish to have a spa or swing in the hammock or read a book in the garden or lounge. There is a big choice of activities if you don't wish to blob out.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DollyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Our honeymoon in New Zealand was magnificent. Every single moment of it was nothing but perfect. The strange part is that it was not planned at all except accommodations and the flight tickets. Luckily, my research on great places to stay paid off. Our experience in Waihike was flawless thanks to the hospitality of Keith and Marilyn from Breakfast on the Beach. This heavenly bed and breakfast/boutique hotel made our honeymoon unbelievable. The place is spectacular; both Keith and Marilyn have delicately selected everything with such an attention to detail that it makes the place look like an art sculpture. Our hosts pretty much planned our whole trip in Waihike, and recommended the most delicious restaurants that never failed to impress us. We also had a private wine tour of a few vineyards on the island. One day, we took the kayak out to a secluded beach and had a picnic, prepared for us by Keith and Marilyn. Honestly, I could not have planned such a perfect and relaxing honeymoon. Keith and Marilyn prepared us gourmet breakfasts every morning with fresh fruit and yogurt...it was to die for! Also, every afternoon before dinner we would join Keith and Marilyn for wine and canapés where we would take the opportunity to get to know one another.
The only reason we traveled to New Zealand was to stay in this place and I am so happy we did. I have never experienced such amazing hospitality. You will fall in love with Breakfast on the Beach and with Keith and Marilyn!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank titakarlita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

My husband and I ended up staying at Breakfast on the Beach in Jan after we arrived in New Zealand a little earlier than expected due to Fiji being flooded! We had to get some accommodation sorted in a very short amount of time and stumbled across this amazing property. The purpose-built accommodation has state-of-the-art amenities, and the decor is modern and fresh. Keith and Marilyn are amazing hosts - nothing was ever too much trouble and it was lovely to join them and other guests each evening to nibble on canapes and drink some of the local wines/beers. The little touches in the room such as the carafe of port and handmade chocolates at the nightly turn down service, and a bottle of fizz in the fridge upon arrival made this an altogether superb experience. We especially liked the hot tub which had an enclosure around it to make it very private. My husband plugged the ipod into the docking station and we lazed in the hot tub in the afternoons! Just a short walk from the shops/bars, Breakfast on the Beach is a must for anyone going to Waiheke. We absolutely loved it and wish to return at some point in the near future.
Sarah and Mark

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sark07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiheke Island
1.7 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#3 of 4 in Waiheke Island
92 reviews
14.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
1.4 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 30 in Waiheke Island
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#3 of 30 in Waiheke Island
98 reviews
1.3 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfast on the Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfast on the Beach Lodge

Address: 34 The Esplanade, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Waiheke Island
Price Range: £377 - £463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakfast on the Beach Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast on the Beach is a luxury waterfront boutique lodge on beautiful Waiheke Island, New Zealand - Auckland's Paradise in the Hauraki Gulf. What makes this waterfront lodge unique is its quiet setting on the bay yet close proximity to ferries, shops, restaurants, cafes and wineries. Four luxury guest rooms with large private bathrooms, open lounge and atrium area that look out over expansive sea views. Each room is meticulously set to cater for your every need and includes daily housekeeping and evening turn down service. The front desk is open 24 hours allowing guests to check in at any time that suits them. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Breakfast on the Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfast On The Beach Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing