We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquitity”
Review of Heartsong Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heartsong Retreat
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquitity”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Clare and I had a wonderful time, a combination of very welcoming hosts Trisha and Kay, a room looking out on to lush tranquil gardens and bay beyond. Great care had obviously been taken in the beautifully designed interior to our room and a shower room with a view! We made full use of the kayaks on offer, I don't think they had been on an expedition quite as long as ours before, but a highly recommended way to visit Passage Rock winery by sea and many others I am sure too. The breakfast is delicious we had a vegan version, nothing seemed too much trouble, but what really makes Heartsong stand out is the way such a peaceful, tranquil therapeutic place has been created to refresh all its visitors.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikelandscape h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
148
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

When planning our trip to the Auckland area, spending a few days on Waiheke Island was a must-do on our list. In researching where to stay, we saw that there were numerous accommodation options that seemed to fit our travel needs. I decided on HeartSong largely based on the positive TA reviews as well as their informative web site.
You can now add my wife and I to the long list of charmed visitors to HeartSong. I know it's a cliche but I will state in anyways because HeartSong is so deserving of this recognition - HeartSong is more than just a destination, it is a special experience. And HeartSong is as special a place because of its owner Trisha Joe, who embodies exactly what an inn owner should be -warm, friendly, personable, caring, well-traveled, well-read, and passionate for her profession.Tisha Joe sets the very high standard for the definitive inn keeper/manager.
There is so much that we enjoyed about HeartSong: our cozy room (the Kereru Suite) with its own private deck overlooking the bay as well as the large double shower with its window view over the bay, and a few steps away from our room was the oasis of the warm water relaxing pool.; Trisha's breakfasts with fresh-baked bread were sumptuous and the perfect way to start a Waheke day; swimming in the stillness and beauty of the bay; enjoying a glass of wine at sunset in the BoatHouse; conversing with Trisha and guests in the comfortable living room, with Sammie (Trisha's dog) by your side.
As is our custom on all our major trips, on our flight home from our trip to Australia & New Zealand, my wife and I composed, separately from each other our individual top 10 list of our memorable experiences from the trip , and we then compared our lists. After this particular two week trip to NZ as well as to Melbourne and Sydney, we each had listed our visit to Waheke and our stay at Heartsong in the top tier of our special memories.

Thank you Trisha for creating a unique and special atmosphere, and for contributing to our million dollar memory bank!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RK502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Wonderful spot, so special and unique. Beautiful gardens with lots of private spots to relax and read or enjoy a glass of Waiheke wine. Trisha and Kay were both amazing hosts, couldn't do enough for us. Spa was great end to each day. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Beautiful site, great ambience, lovely host. Close to shops, relaxed and intimate atmosphere, wished we could have stayed longer.
Stayed in the modern olden style cottage and loved it so much - a fully kitted out home from home.
A big thanks to our host Trisha who went the extra mile and even raced down to the ferry to return something we had left behind.
Can't imagine there is anywhere nicer to stay on Waiheke.
Try it, you'll like it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezpznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed at Heartsong for 2 nights in mid November 13. Very shortly after checking in we knew that we had made the right choice to start our NZ holiday.

We were in the Cabana, a sweet little space up from the main residence. The decor was beautiful, fresh white linen with large french doors opening up to a small courtyard with an amazing view of the trees and ocean. We had everything we needed and felt miles away from anyone with the only other sound the chirps of the birds and the crash of the ocean.

We thought breakfast was out of the question as we intended to catch up on some much needed sleep, luckily this was not the case. Trish, the owner, insisted we text her when we were ready and she would bring it up to the courtyard. We were treated to the best breakfast ever - warm croissants, fresh fruit. muesli and yoghurt.

The rest of the property was amazing. A short walk down from the cabana leads you through lush gardens with a number of places to hide and relax. There is a large boathouse at the end of the path that is perched over a beautiful seemingly private beach. We took a bottle of wine on the first day and had a wonderful time dozing on deckchairs while overlooking the bay.
After jumping off the deck for a quick swim we raced up to the spa that was hiding in the gardens. Pure bliss!!!!! We repeated this wonderful sequence over the next few days.

On the last morning we pulled out a couple of kayaks from under the boatshed, paddled around the glassy water before having our breakfast served in the boatshed and there ending the perfect holiday. We have talked about our time there non-stop and will definitely return to do it all again soon.

The owner Trish is hands downa relaxation professional. She obviously knows her game very well, giving the perfect amount of attention at the right time. She is genuine, warm and we missed her the moment we checked out. We are not ones for writing long winded reviews about anything but cannot recommend this place anymore! Thank you Trish (and KAY!) and Heartsong.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumby81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent a couple of days / nights here as a surprise Wedding Anniversary treat arranged by my wife.

Absolutely superb location......excellent host (Trisha) and very peaceful......we will definitely be back!!!!!

PS The continental breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninja757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed in Heartsong for 3 nights in September and it was just so so difficult to leave. Heartsong is a very special place and Trisha makes it all the more so.

Our three kids stayed in the house with Trisha and we stayed in the cottage, which was a double whamy of bliss for us. The decor is divine, the setting sublime. We had everything we needed and more....delic teas in the beautifully appointed kitchen, a deep comfy sofa in front of a large wood burning stove (plus a huge supply of DVDs), a wonderful bed with the most glorious silk-covered duvet, a huge bathroom with a super shower, delightful birdsong bouncing from the most beautiful trees which you can admire from all the windows...

Trisha's breakfasts are legendary and oh how we lingered .... delicious food, great conversation and beautiful views. There is a vast library to consult from the breakfast table and you can easily find yourself exploring all sorts of ways to improve your approach to life....Trisha is an encyclopedia on health and the mind - she will open your eyes if you are so inclined.

We spent our time strolling to the beach, having picnics at the boathouse, exploring the island wineries and blissfull soaks in the hot tub. Trisha also brought us along to the Thursday afternoon tea at the hall....after breakfast had in fact turned into lunch....and then tea!

I wish we were still there!

Room Tip: The cottage is pure perfection
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
4.6 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
232 reviews
3.2 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#4 of 9 in Waiheke Island
181 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
47 reviews
2.4 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
3.0 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartsong Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartsong Retreat

Property: Heartsong Retreat
Address: 8 Omiha Road | Rocky Bay, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heartsong Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning property with private beach access, Heartsong Retreat is the ideal place to relax and rejuvenate. Walk down the private path to the beach and a heritage boatshed is the perfect place to relax and read or watch the sunset. Guests have free access to the dinghy and kayaks. Accommodation options include a gorgeous cottage set in private gardens,a self-contained Cabana/studio and the comfortable Kereru and Nikau rooms with private external access. A generous and delicious continental breakfast is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heartsong Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing