We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than we could have hoped for :)”
Review of Heartsong Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heartsong Retreat
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More than we could have hoped for :)”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

What an amazing weekend away we had!! Before we arrived, it was evident in Trish's emails that she was an accommodating and pleasant person to deal with. What we arrived to was picturesque! We initially were supposed to stay in the Keraru Suite however we were offered an upgrade to the Cottage which was more than we could have hoped for. We had home made muesli and croissants delivered for breakfast both mornings and Trish arranged massages on site for us - I highly recommend! Highlights included lunch down at the boat shed, the tranquil setting of the spa, the massages, breakfast and the privacy of The Cottage. Trish was an absolute gem which really set the tone for the rest of the weekend. I would recommend Heartsong Retreat to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
148
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Probably the best way to describe this place is to give a brief summary of our first day at Heartsong.

Woke to the sounds of Tuis (native birds) in the trees outside, wandered down to the beach for a swim, swung by the hot pool on the way back to the cottage, enjoyed a delicious breakfast which included many local treats, long lunch at a vineyard, back to the cottage for a massage, personal chef arrived to prepare dinner, rounded off with a soak in the outdoor bath looking up at the stars. Repeat.

Trisha was a wonderful host and we highly recommend Heartsong to anyone wanting some time out and a unique place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay in The Cottage for a fully self-contained luxury getaway and enjoy breakfast on the deck soakin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights. We loved the location directly off the beach, access to kayaks, spa pool and great breakfast sitting out on our patio. We stayed in the Nikau room which is under the main house but has a patio entrance making it very private. There's also space for a car which is a must on the island. Trisha the owner was great and was very helpful. She wanted to know about the wine tour we had been to and restaurants so as to get a better idea of where se would recommend future guests to go.
We have been to a couple of fantastic 4 and 5 star resorts in Fiji and Vanuatu but this up there with them. Great place for couples.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumanth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I found the cottage at Heartsong by Google searching for something very specific for our wedding night - we wanted classic, rustic, private and homely. When I found the cottage I was extremely excited as it fit the vision perfectly. I then found the tripadvisor reviews and these made me even more confident that this was the right place for us. We stayed there in late March this year for our wedding, and I can say that Trish and the Cottage lived up to and exceeded our expectations. The cottage is magical, extremely romantic and classic. Staying there after our wedding really did complete the wedding for us in the most perfect way. In addition to the cottage itself, Trish was very accommodating and no request from us was an issue. Trish also prepared the most beautiful breakfast which we ate on the porch in the morning sun each day. We will be back and I highly recommend staying at Heartsong if you visit Waiheke.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJK86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night and it was the most perfect place to top off a magical weekend we will never forget.

We felt like we were in our own little hideaway and the atmosphere of the place left us relaxed and rejuvenated. Trisha, our host, was delightful. Breakfast was lovely, sitting out in a natural setting amongst birdsong and overlooking the water.

It was a beautiful, tranquil and romantic spot to stay and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

From the moment we set foot, onto this property we felt loved and welcome.
I cannot recommend better place to say on this fabulous Island.
Wonderful accommodation, very comfortable, clean and with a view to die for.
Fabulous breakfast too.
A must when staying in Waiheke
Thank you Trysha
Andrea & David x

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We wanted to find the perfect spot to finish our New Zealand Adventure.
Heartsong Retreat was that and so much more.
It is located in Rocky Bay, a perfect spot on the island.
We stayed in the Cottage which is a beautiful reproduction of a Period Cottage with impeccable detail.
The high ceilings, the beautiful molding, and all the special accessories give you the feeling of another era; while at the same time, the modern kitchen and bath areas give you all the amenities of today.
Trisha was the most gracious Host. She opened her beautiful home for delicious breakfasts with the opportunity to meet and share time with many of her friends. She also provided us with great tips for exploring and dining on the island.
The experiences made us feel like part of the Waiheke Community.
Last but not least is the "Boat Shed".
It is the most perfect spot to be by the water and to be able to enjoy, beautiful sunsets, swimming, kayaking, fishing, or just relaxing.
Thank You Trisha for making our trip to Waiheke exceptional, and we know that we will return for a longer stay.
We would return to Heartsong in a "Heart" beat!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
4.6 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
230 reviews
3.2 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#4 of 9 in Waiheke Island
180 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
86 reviews
3.0 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
254 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartsong Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartsong Retreat

Property: Heartsong Retreat
Address: 8 Omiha Road | Rocky Bay, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Heartsong Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning property with private beach access, Heartsong Retreat is the ideal place to relax and rejuvenate. Walk down the private path to the beach and a heritage boatshed is the perfect place to relax and read or watch the sunset. Guests have free access to the dinghy and kayaks. Accommodation options include a gorgeous cottage set in private gardens,a self-contained Cabana/studio and the comfortable Kereru and Nikau rooms with private external access. A generous and delicious continental breakfast is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heartsong Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing