We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a way to spend a lazy Saturday afternoon!”
Review of The Shed Te Motu

The Shed Te Motu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$27
Cuisines: International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Casual, garden-to-plate eating in a relaxed vineyard setting.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a way to spend a lazy Saturday afternoon!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were treated to magnificent food and spectacular wine and great hosts on Saturday afternoon - just divine! I particularly enjoyed the cauliflower kofte - what a delicious combination of flavours particularly matched with the Sauv Blanc... a memorable afternoon and hope to revisit again sometime!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KerrieHosken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    36
    12
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First time to visit Te Motu !”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

As new residents on the Island (6 months) we decided to pop in and visit Te Motu last Sunday afternoon on our way home to Kennedy Point. Even though it was after 3.30pm we were made very welcome by the bubbly and very personable host. This place was also highly recommended by our friend Grant and I have to say, we were impressed and thoroughly enjoyed our fairly brief stay. Presentation of our platter was fantastic, the wine excellent, the service even better !! We will certainly be back hopefully for a longer stay and enjoy dinner. Well done, Mike & Jan

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Been all around the world and this is still the best”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I've always been a big fan of the the food, ambience and team at Te Motu and now after travelling all around Europe for 2 months I can confirm what I already knew beforehand - that the food and wine at Te Motu is the best!

If you're a fan of fresh, uncomplicated, light, tasty and inspiring food then Bronwen will deliver this to you on all accounts. The menu is always changing in accordance to the seasons and whatever plants/herbs are going off in the garden. When we dined at Te Motu on Queens Birthday weekend I tried some delicious new dishes that I was sampling for the first time. The Croatian Fish Stew was a standout as was the smoked eel. My friends who I was dining with were smitten with the lamb shoulder.

We drank the Dunleavy Chardonnay with our meals which is divine and even the staunch non-Chardonnay drinkers in our group were taken with this accessible but unique and special drop.

On this occasion we were treated to the standard Te Motu service which is always warm, fun, friendly, efficient and delightful :)

We arrived at the restaurant at 1pm and didn't leave until 5pm (the restaurant closes at 3pm) so it was a very long lunch but we felt very welcome and at home throughout and received attentive service over the course of the whole afternoon.

Can't wait to come back, to our favourite restaurant and our home away from home :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinky_dotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Queens Birthday”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our restaurant experience at The Shed Restaurant at Te Motu Vineyard on Queens Birthday. The booking was made on Friday and we requested 1.00pm but were informed that because of prior bookings would 2.00pm be acceptable. We accepted and arrived at 2.00pm and were immediately seated. We cannot fault the service or the food and wish to thank the staff for the friendly hospitality and assistance extended to us. We left the restaurant at 4.30pm and did not experience or witness any problems during this period.
We rate The Shed along with The Oyster Bar and Poderi Crisci as Waiheke Islands leading Restaurants.
Alison Boyce, Margaret Boyce (97 y o), Richard Ward.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wineconnections
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rude restaurant manager and booking not fulfilled”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked a group of 10 for $65 pp set menu lunch on Queen's birthday. Requested 1pm booking but was told 3pm only available. When we arrived we were told by the guy in charge that they would not be doing the set menu (the kitchen closed ay 3 pm), and he would organise some plates of food. He asked for someone from the group to take charge of the ordering (my husband offered), and promptly was rude to me when I asked a question (apparently only the one in charge could speak). We ended up with lambs tongue, chicken liver parfait, and a seafood dish. The only main available was a seafood option. A large number of the group did not or could not eat seafood, so it was slim pickings. It was appalling service all round. One of the group ordered a beer and had to ask three times before it arrived. The guy in charge was arrogant and I ask - why would you book a group for a meal you couldn't provide? We definitely won't be back, and we'll be spreading the word.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharron659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, Owner at The Shed Te Motu, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Sharron,

Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to our restaurant.

When your party of 12 arrived between 3.00pm and 3.40pm there was clearly some confusion with some incorrectly expecting a set menu and Simon your waiter did feel it was best for someone to take charge.

I am sorry you felt he was rude. We apologise for his manner with you. In mitigation all I can say is that we felt we had been very clear with what could and could not be offered in terms of booking for a large party on the holiday weekend on Waiheke. We will look to see if there is anything we can do to improve the clarity of our communication and we will reinforce with our staff the need for all communication to be in a hospitable manner.

We would love for you to come back and experience our full menu and the shed experience. As we have responded to Mark above, we pride ourselves on our service.

Kind Regards

Paul Dunleavy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shed Te Motu also viewed

 

Been to The Shed Te Motu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing