We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding reception”
Review of Passage Rock

Passage Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$24
Cuisines: New Zealand, Pizza, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Passage Rock Winery and bistro is set amongst the vines on the Te Matuku Estury. In our relaxed environment you can enjoy our stunning range of excellent Waiheke Wines with tasty freshly prepared food sourced locally where possible. Our Wood Fired Pizza are hand made using authentic Napoli inspired methods, and fresh quality ingredients. we look forward to hosting you. Winter open 7 days in the cellar door and Friday to Sunday for the Restaurant, 11 am to 4pm. Weddings and functions by arrangement.
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
1 review
“Wedding reception”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We recently held our wedding reception at PR, and have to say it totally exceeded all our expectations. The food was outstanding (thanks to their new Italian chefs). It was served in a traditional Italian way, which is what we discussed and agreed on prior to the wedding. We had so many comments from our friends and family that it was the best food they'd ever had at a wedding. The service was impeccable, Alex the manager went above and beyond both in the lead up to the wedding and at the actual wedding itself. He is extremely experienced and it shows in his organisational skills and delivery. He sat down with us on a number of occasions to discuss the details of what we wanted, making some fantastic suggestions, and he delivered on every single thing we discussed right down to some of the smaller details.
We are so pleased we chose PR as the venue for our wedding reception rather than some of the other vineyards on Waiheke, as we wanted not only beautiful scenic surroundings but also a friendly ambience which our guests could really relax and enjoy (without endless tour buses pulling up!!!)
We also go to PR for lunches regularly and every time we have been the food and service has been amazing.
We cannot recommend this place enough. Well Done Alex and the team at PR. Thank you for helping to making our day perfect!!! :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    37
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average and confusing-- VERY casual but HIGH prices”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We visited Passage Rock recently for the first time and were left unimpressed with the visit. Our whole group left feeling that PR needs to decide which sort of restaurant/winery it is: Casual or Fine Dining. The prices suggest the latter, but the singing in the kitchen at the top of their lungs, average food served cold, no pacing of the meal (appetisers coming out with mains etc), and uninspired food suggests that they are opting for casual. If so, they need to seriously consider their competition in this space (other wineries on the island) who do casual REALLY well with less expensive food/wine (and tastier food), and should consolidate the menu and play up the casual vibe. But for now, we all found it average, and felt that passage rock is confused about what type of dining establishment they are, and as such, let their customers down. The wine is good, but service and food are average on a good day and below on a poor day. Too many options on Waiheke, PR (with an amazing location to boot) needs to step up their game.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank meremaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We chanced upon this place as we got a bit lost in Waiheke and luckily they had a table spare for lunch. Service was excellent, efficient and friendly. Wine tasting was great. Lunch was superb. We left with beautiful wines and a happy family!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Pizza was yummy, so was the cheese platter. Mains were average and we waited about an hour for them. We ordered the gnocchi, salad and steak. Staff were very attentive and helpful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei
Level Contributor
200 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We got in right on 12 o'clock and was super glad we did as the place soon packed out. We were lucky to have a table outside surrounded by reserved signs with people who didn't come until later which meant we had our little area to ourselves. I was impressed at how quickly our drinks, pizza and. Chips came out. The pizza was delicious. We then had a long wait for the lava cake which was equally delicious when it came out. the staff gave us complementary dessert wines to compensate us for the wait. this is a very popular place with families and has a casual relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank p_pebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Passage Rock also viewed

Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Passage Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing