We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Connells Bay Guest Cottage
Nearby Hotels
Te Whau Lodge(Waiheke Island)
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Watermark Holiday Studios(Waiheke Island)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Chalet Waiheke Apartments(Ostend)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Courtyard(Waiheke Island)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aquasands Studio Apartments(Oneroa)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Onetangi Beach Apartments(Onetangi)(Great Value!)
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Palm Beach Bungalows(Waiheke Island)(Great Value!)
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$505
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$461
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delamore Lodge(Waiheke Island)
US$685
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$645
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
50
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssculpture parkprivate beachpoderi criscidouble kayakwheel drivenative treesthe east coastunique experiencebreakfast supplieslovely hostshauraki gulfgowsculpturesvisionjocaretakeradmire
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Just a magic spot, we had a delightful weekend. The cottage is charming and beautifully appointed. A highlight for us was an early morning fish not far off the beach where we were rewarded with a fine haul of Hauraki Gulf snapper. Local cat population most impressed. The peace and quiet in the evenings is very special as is the early morning chorus of the surrounding bush, two very cheeky tuis in particular. We have been to many parts of New Zealand and have enjoyed some very special,unique experiences. Connells Bay eclipses them all.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

What an absolutely blissful weekend at Connells Bay -
a beautiful place and what amazing foresight John and Jo have developing
the wonderful sculpture park. We loved every minute of our stay
including lunch at Poderi Crisci one day and at Cable Bay another- both stunning in different ways. Can't recommend Connells Bay Cottage and Sculpture Park highly enough!

Room Tip: Not Applicable
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

This is an utterly beautiful place to stay. The cottage is fabulous and the location stunning, I almost don't want to write a review for fear of never being able to get another reservation!
The cottage is located in the grounds of the amazing Connell's bay sculpture park, as we travelled to New Zealand during their mid Autumn, the sculpture park (which does at certain times open to the public during the summer season) was closed to the public therefore it was amazing to get the park all to ourselves. Noel, the caretaker was also extremely helpful lending us some welly's as there had been a bit of rain.

The 2 bedroom cottage is really well appointed, dishwasher, washing machine etc (given the chance we could have easily moved in), it also benefitted from the added luxurys of a beautiful cast iron bed and an open fire (which was ready to light when we arrived, we were definitely grateful of this as the evenings can get chilly in May). As for the location, it is away from the main towns and villages, but don't let that put you off as it's an amazing little sanctuary and the surroundings, with it's own private beach make it all the more special.
One word of advise I would give, is if you are thinking of driving there a 4wd vehicle is a must, the driveway is VERY steep and much of the road to Connell's Bay is gravel track, that said Noel (the caretaker) would be more than happy to drive you down the driveway if needed.

Finally, we also stopped in for lunch at the Cable Bay Restaurant & winery - fabulous meal, great views...well worth a visit!

I would definitely recommend Connell's Bay, to anyone looking for a special place to relax, recharge and lock yourself away from the outside world.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaMSmithDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

New sculptures and landscape improvements make each return trip better than the last. Add the genuine hospitality of john and Jo Gow and the experience becomes
truely memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trippykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Connells Bay is a perfect bay surrounded by beautiful native planting . The sculpture park is fascinating and full of surprises ! Nearby fabulous restauarant Poderi Crisci .

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnhaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews