We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“G&ML Brisbane”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waiheke Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Connells Bay Guest Cottage
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“G&ML Brisbane”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Wonderful setting with both water views the sculpture park and forest. Both John and Jo are excellent hosts who try hard to make your stay enjoyable. We used both the kayaks and " tinny" to explore the other bays and even caught some fish. You really do need to rent a four wheel drive if staying more the a few days given the steep drive way if you want to get around Waiheke.

Room Tip: Both rooms are well equipped with excellent bedding but double beds which may be an issue for some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidaygirlBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Wonderful secluded property, comfortable house, add in the art & your own private beach, and you have something quite special

Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank UshaMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Just a magic spot, we had a delightful weekend. The cottage is charming and beautifully appointed. A highlight for us was an early morning fish not far off the beach where we were rewarded with a fine haul of Hauraki Gulf snapper. Local cat population most impressed. The peace and quiet in the evenings is very special as is the early morning chorus of the surrounding bush, two very cheeky tuis in particular. We have been to many parts of New Zealand and have enjoyed some very special,unique experiences. Connells Bay eclipses them all.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

What an absolutely blissful weekend at Connells Bay -
a beautiful place and what amazing foresight John and Jo have developing
the wonderful sculpture park. We loved every minute of our stay
including lunch at Poderi Crisci one day and at Cable Bay another- both stunning in different ways. Can't recommend Connells Bay Cottage and Sculpture Park highly enough!

Room Tip: Not Applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

This is an utterly beautiful place to stay. The cottage is fabulous and the location stunning, I almost don't want to write a review for fear of never being able to get another reservation!
The cottage is located in the grounds of the amazing Connell's bay sculpture park, as we travelled to New Zealand during their mid Autumn, the sculpture park (which does at certain times open to the public during the summer season) was closed to the public therefore it was amazing to get the park all to ourselves. Noel, the caretaker was also extremely helpful lending us some welly's as there had been a bit of rain.

The 2 bedroom cottage is really well appointed, dishwasher, washing machine etc (given the chance we could have easily moved in), it also benefitted from the added luxurys of a beautiful cast iron bed and an open fire (which was ready to light when we arrived, we were definitely grateful of this as the evenings can get chilly in May). As for the location, it is away from the main towns and villages, but don't let that put you off as it's an amazing little sanctuary and the surroundings, with it's own private beach make it all the more special.
One word of advise I would give, is if you are thinking of driving there a 4wd vehicle is a must, the driveway is VERY steep and much of the road to Connell's Bay is gravel track, that said Noel (the caretaker) would be more than happy to drive you down the driveway if needed.

Finally, we also stopped in for lunch at the Cable Bay Restaurant & winery - fabulous meal, great views...well worth a visit!

I would definitely recommend Connell's Bay, to anyone looking for a special place to relax, recharge and lock yourself away from the outside world.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaMSmithDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2011

New sculptures and landscape improvements make each return trip better than the last. Add the genuine hospitality of john and Jo Gow and the experience becomes
truely memorable.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Connells Bay is a perfect bay surrounded by beautiful native planting . The sculpture park is fascinating and full of surprises ! Nearby fabulous restauarant Poderi Crisci .

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnhaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
9.8 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
232 reviews
8.6 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#4 of 9 in Waiheke Island
181 reviews
7.1 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
47 reviews
5.3 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
10.3 mi away
Marino Ridge
Marino Ridge
#6 of 27 in Waiheke Island
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Connells Bay Guest Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connells Bay Guest Cottage

Property: Connells Bay Guest Cottage
Address: 142 Cowes Bay Road, Waiheke Island 1971, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Connells Bay Guest Cottage 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest cottage at the Connells Bay Sculpture Park is located on a very private beach on Waiheke Island...it is suitable for 1 or 2 couples but not suitable for children. Guests have free use of kayaks on the property and free access to the sculpture park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing