We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Day”

Waiheke Island Wine Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Catch the 10am ferry from downtown Auckland, cruise the sparkling waters of the Hauraki Gulf and in 35minutes you'll arrive in paradise! Wayne (owner) is our primary guide; Graham, Christine and Geri are also passionate Waihetians! We are the original ‘Waiheke Island Wine Tours’, the first Qualmark-accredited tour operator; we offer professional, fully planned itineraries with all arrangements made on your behalf. Ten clients max in each of our comfortable vehicles with vented air-con and large windows for excellent sightseeing. Enjoy our entertaining scenic tour with full commentary on our early beginnings and island life today. Included are tasting fees for at least 14+ wines at three top vineyards, chilled bottled water, Waiheke Island of Wine Maps, transfers to lunch and then to the ferry afterwards. We operate daily (except Xmas Day, Easter Friday and the odd short break). Privately tailored tours are available by arrangement. No credit card, booking or agent fees - book and pay online - its EASY!
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Went on this tour with a group of 5 girls and were in a fairly comfortable vehicle with 4 other people (2 couples). The owner picked us up and dropped us off at the ferry.
We visited 4 wineries, all of which were very nice, but each very unique.
The last place, Peacock Sky, was the BEST wine tasting experience I've ever had ANYWHERE. The owner is also a chef and provided food pairings with each wine, which was a lovely touch.
We were driven all over the island, which is absolutely beautiful, and given the history and background of every place we visited.
Really great way to spend the day!

Thank kikiruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Hi kikiruns, many thanks for returning to Trip Advisor to write your review. We were really glad to hear you had a great day out, enjoying our beautiful island and its lovely vineyards. Best wishes Jean and Wayne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 583 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our daughter gave us a voucher for the tour as a present. She lives in Australia but always looks to trip adviser for ideas. We had a great day and enjoyed the wineries and Wayne's knowledge of the island. The lunch at Casita Miro was excellent and my husband particularly enjoyed the guitar player. We have been to Waiheke Island many times but we learned lots and would recommend the tour to all.

Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hi Louise, lucky you for receiving such a lovely gift from your daughter. Wayne enjoyed meeting you both and giving you a different perspective of Waiheke Island. Glad to hear you had a wonderful day! Cheers Jean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Three wonderful and very different wineries to give myself and my 5 overseas visitors a real taste of what Waiheke has to offer. The food pairing and whole educational value of Peacock Sky was wonderful. Could have stayed there all day and listened to the Vintner and drunk their wonderful wine. I have been several times before but never on an official tour. We learnt so much from Wayne. He was very patient and considerate as my Mother is partially disabled. It meant she could enjoy the day without feeling hassled and a burden.
Cable Bay never disappoints and that was true of this day and Obsidian had a wonderful Montepulchiano. Fantastic! And lunch at Casita Miro just finished off a perfect day. Delicious and fabulous views. Thank you we all had an excellent day.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Clare554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hi Clare554, thanks so much for returning to TA to write your lovely review - Wayne had a great day out with your group. He gets a real buzz out of seeing people enjoying themselves and always arrives home happy at the end of his day! Glad to hear that Waiheke was a big hit for your overseas guests.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

best guide, best wineries, beautiful setting .... recommend small guided tour vs. going on your own or a larger group.....perfect day!

Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hi Mike, many thanks for your review. Yes a small tour definitely gives a totally different perspective, enabling us to visit the smaller boutique vineyards making wonderful wines and achieving excellent results on the world stage. Glad to hear you had such an enjoyable day out. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Great wineries
Great wine
Great people
We loved the tour guide , perfect timing and duration . Very accomodating. Each winery was carefully chosen . Comfortable travel van. Would highly reccomend !!!!!!!!!

Thank Tonylanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanandWayne, Owner at Waiheke Island Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Hi Tonylanier, many thanks for your great review - glad you had a good time out with us - CHEERS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waiheke Island Wine Tours also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland
Waiheke Island, Auckland
 

Been to Waiheke Island Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing