We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Tranquil and relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alison's Place

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waiheke Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alison's Place
Ranked #28 of 31 Waiheke Island B&B and Inns
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Tranquil and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful relaxing winter weekend at Alison's Place recently. It was just what we were after for some time away from the kids - so peaceful - the only thing we could here was the chirping of the birds. Was just the ticket - nicely renovated and clean with everything you would need for a weekend away. Short walk to beautiful Onetangi beach. Highly recommended. Thanks Alison!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JLB1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

My family and I have been several times over the last few years and always enjoyed the relaxation and total "wind down" that Waiheke offers. This location is superb (only minutes walk from the beautiful beach). Whatever time of year this place offers a "get away from it all" experience, excellent food from the two local restaurants, good walks along the beach and we will definitely be back in the future.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank leetennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Weekend away in July we enjoyed sun streaming into the bedroom and living room. Loved waking up to the bird song. Handy to beach and cafe's, quiet, private, spotless with full kitchen. Very comfy and definately recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times. It's a lovely, simple, cheerful place. Nice decor, well equipped, sunny and only two minutes' walk to the beach. Quiet and very relaxing! Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We have visited Alison's Place three times and loved it every time. Waking to the sound of the sea, the views, a gorgeous beach to walk along, the privacy, the wild life...wood pidgeons, courting tuis, ducks, weka even the occasional visit by the NZ cockroach...unavoidable in this beautiful climate. We mostly self catered, except for the odd superb lunch at a local vineyard.
It is altogether a great package....accommodation and surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Loved our three days there. Very clean , stylish and peaceful .
Owner was most helpful with advice on restaurants and what to see on the island.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aucklandonetangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

Dirty, filthy,DON'T DO IT!
Filthy stained bed and linens. The place looks so nice and clean on their website, terrible in reality. Worn out and not looked after. The lady who owns the place didn't care much when I told her there was sand in my bed and the kitchen is full of cockroachs, she said "yap, thanks for letting know!"
It was such a rip off, beautiful sea view apartments only two minutes away from us were half price of what we paid.
I didn't argue with the owner, because I traveled with my mum, and didn't want to upset her , I just payed full price and left.
Please avoid!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Muirbrae Bed & Breakfast
Muirbrae Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Onetangi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sands - Waiheke Island
0.1 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kahu I Rangi
Kahu I Rangi
#6 of 31 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
5.1 mi away
Matiatia Bay
Matiatia Bay
#5 of 6 in Oneroa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
3.5 mi away
Waiheke Wild Thyme
Waiheke Wild Thyme
#14 of 31 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alison's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alison's Place

Property: Alison's Place
Address: 27 Le Roy Road | Onetangi, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing