We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waiheke jewel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Man O' War Vineyards

Man O' War Vineyards
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Waiheke jewel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Travel the gravel roads to the end of the island, take your time, the views are superb. The owner and her dog are very friendly, plenty of time for a chat. The setting, a simple cottage, surrounded by lawn, overlooking the water. Sit out on the veranda, listen to the music & the birds,enjoy the sun, the water, and a good glass or two. Loved the savignon blanc.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    70
    11
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We drove the windy and picturesque road to this place to find a low key vineyard with great wines and friendly locals more than happy to tell you about them. Good spot for a glass or two by the sea

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful area with great Kiwi hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We came here for a quick lunch after our trip to Stony Batter, the winery overlooks the sea on a very flat piece of land! The wine tasting is for free and we settled on their amazing Sauvignon Blanc to go with our Antipasto Platter (with a few Panini's on the side). Very different from the larger wineries with regards to food choice but the atmosphere was far more relaxed and just like popping into your neighbours home for a food yarn!

Cute dog on the property also!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eater555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Man O War Vineyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

It was a wet day and we decided to go to the Man O War Vineyard to wait for the rain to stop. We tasted several of the wines and had an informative discussion on each wine. We decided to have a platter and a bottle of wine. Unfortunately due to the weather we couldn't sit outside so we sat in very comfortable leather chairs and settled in the enjoy the food and beautiful wine - Man O War Gravestone (Sav Blanc). On a fine day the seating outside is under Pohutuakawa trees looking out to Pakatoa Island. We all bought several wines and Man O War Honey and Olive Oil. Will be definitely coming back in summer to enjoy it all again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great spot, friendly professional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Man O War Vineyard is located at the Eastern End of Waiheke Island. They provide wine tastings and simple but tasty day time food (platters and pannini) in a purpose built facility at a fabulous seaside location. Visit by car or by boat. I'm a local and I often take my guests to visit Man O War (most recently earlier today). Why? Options abound. Taste wine, honey and their olive oils for free, then perhaps decide on a wine you want to buy and take a glass and maybe buy a platter and sit on the terrace, relax and enjoy the setting, or just walk along the beach or skip stones. And what a setting! This is a classy wee establishment - the building, the furniture, the old maps and photographs and the staff are friendly too. The honey is a family favourite. And the wines are pretty darn good (albeit pricy). I particularly like the pinot gris (but be warned it is VERY sweet with high residual sugars - more like a sticky than a pinot gris) and their tulia bubbles (but hey what girl doesn't like bubbles?).


They've recently built a cute wee church on site - no doubt to host wedding parties in future.

Thoroughly worth the trip on the long loose gravel road to get there!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WaihekeIslandCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Man O' War Vineyards also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
 
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Man O' War Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing