We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back luxury”
Review of The Boatshed

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boatshed
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Laid back luxury”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I are just back from two fantastic nights at the Boatshed. What a great place! Attentive and discreet service and amazing food. All the little extras are there such as complimentary wine and a cheese upon arrival, bottled water by the bedside, candles lit in the bathroom in the evenings. Genuine and helpful staff. We tend to travel and eat out a lot and would rate this place as one of the best. The dinner on our first night was outstanding. Delicious canapés on the deck while we watched the sunset, great food and wine and service. This is definitely one of the nicest places we've stayed. Exactly what a boutique hotel should be. Didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pixie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
183
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Idstein, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This hotel is paradise: Just a few rooms with a lot of privacy, a great team, able to read your wishes from your eyes and perfect dinners. At The Boatshed you don't feel like hotel, it's just a place to join - we stayed there for two nights, fell in love with the "Waiheke Island feeling" and think about how to return since we left it. Perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms are different, all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kai23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

It's going to be hard to add anything new to the already long list of good reviews for the Boatshed without sounding gushy - so i'll keep it to a minimum. Beautiful, stylish decor, attentive and discreet service, fantastic well cooked food, great views over Little Oneroa beach - a perfect small hotel. We didnt want to leave!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Our recent honeymoon stay at the Boatshed was outstanding. As other reviewers have describe at length, the style and decor of the place is unbelievably beautiful and stylish. The food is exceptional and out room - the 'lighthouse' - was literally an oasis with a top floor lounge with wrap around views of the island and a sun drenched daybed. Our stay was a wedding gift from our friends and family and was very gratefully received. If we had paid the bill ourselves, however, I may have been a bit more critical because in peak season the Boatshed and its peers are an incredibly expensive way to travel in New Zealand. The only constructive criticism I would provide to the management of the Boatshed is not to forget about "luxury hotel basics" in the quest for style and ambiance. For example, at those prices, I was surprised to find low grade bath products, no complementary slippers and 'turn down treats' only on our first night. Those Anzac biscuits were amazing - keep them coming every night please!!

Room Tip: The Lighthouse!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NYLON2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Take your car and drive around the island stop at the man I war wineries for a testing on th beach
Dinner at mud rick very nice with sunset on Auckland very good food
Choose to come to waiheke because of the Brel as it s on most luxury books
Traveling with our young daughter feelings are mix after 3 days
Our daughter just love all the books the arts the tables sofas the millions of things to touch and play with
Jen find the decor very very nice attention to details with lots of things in the bathroom and the mini bar
We find the our host extremely nice shy and ready for anything to please us, the chef the house keeper everyone smile and make you relax
It s a very nice place for lovers, romantic week end , it s a sweet place
Come here relax and have a pizza on the beach downstair by the beach with a bottle or 2 of local wine no brainer

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmherbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

The experience is rather like staying in a well staffed private house. Brilliant chef who served up marvellous dinners and breakfasts. Lovely room with superb view. Great place to unwind.
The only caveat is that we got bitten on two nights by mosquitoes; I would recommend advising the hotel not to open the windows and turn on the lights in the room in the evening (which they do as a matter of course) and bring plenty of mosquito repellent.
For lunch avoid Mudbrick which is very touristy (coaches arrived constantly when we were there) and try Cable Bay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed there for one night over the rugby world cup and also invited some special friends to join us. Unbelieveable little place with first rate service and food. The host & hostess Jonathon and Sevele couldn't have done more for us on our special day. Incredible experience and worth every dollar

Room Tip: Try the Light House Room - unreal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glo2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiheke Island
1.3 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#4 of 9 in Waiheke Island
180 reviews
1.6 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
14.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
2.5 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boatshed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boatshed

Property: The Boatshed
Address: Corner of Tawa and Huia Streets | Little Oneroa, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boatshed 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boatshed is a small luxury hotel on Wiaheke Island - sitting above the beach of Oneroa with extensive views out over the bay. Best described as "barefoot luxury", this seaside hotel and the island its on are a perfect reflection of the modern New Zealand holiday - with a high level of design detail, beaches, vineyards, galleries, and stunning coastal walkways make this little place the perfect tonic for those wanting to get away from it all. We look forward to seeing you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boatshed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boatshed Hotel Waiheke Island
Boatshed Waiheke Island
Boatshed Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing