We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”
Review of The Boatshed

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boatshed
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Our stay at The Boatshed was a highlight of our three week holiday in New Zealand. The owners Jonathon and David could not have been more accommodating. They greeted us personally on arrival and were quick to hand us a superb glass of Chardonnay, Man of War. It is a stunning location, lovely bedrooms and great food. Entertainment was provided by Rupert the dog. Free WiFi was a bonus. Regrets? Yes. I am only putting this review on now after reminiscing about the holiday the other day. We stayed The Boatshed two years ago but I am pleased to note standards have not dropped and reviews since then have been remarkably positive.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
183
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Lovely setting and rooms, it was really the staff including the owner Jonathon that made the place special. Best meals that we have had fron staying at a number of lodges and hotels in New Zealand. A big plus is that the tarrif does not include meals so that you can have something simple one night if you are staying several nights like the great artisan pizzas at the little beach below.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidaygirlBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We decided to end our trip to New Zealand on Waiheke Island and we are glad we did, especially because we chose The Boatshed as our home way from home. This stylishly decorated inn is a great place to kick bad and relax..we stayed in a bungalow and it was so nice that we did not want to leave it. We did though to visit the island wineries, restaurants, beaches, and other sights. The hosts and other staff made us feel at home. The breakfasts were great and Jonathan's blueberry pancakes were some of the best ever.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigBrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We went to the boatshed as our last stop on our 3 weeks tour in NZ - what a nice way to end! The hotel is beautiful, with amazing views and great service. The locations, just a few minutes from both time and the beach is perfect too.
And the organic garden is simply awesome - and helps make the great food even more special!

Room Tip: they are all magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francoise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

A night at the Boatshed - my only complaint was that we did not stay longer. Was lovely and we enjoyed every moment of our stay. The rooms are just gorgeous and the food for both dinner and breakfast delicious. Fantastic service and really nice staff as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KirstyGrant32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I are just back from two fantastic nights at the Boatshed. What a great place! Attentive and discreet service and amazing food. All the little extras are there such as complimentary wine and a cheese upon arrival, bottled water by the bedside, candles lit in the bathroom in the evenings. Genuine and helpful staff. We tend to travel and eat out a lot and would rate this place as one of the best. The dinner on our first night was outstanding. Delicious canapés on the deck while we watched the sunset, great food and wine and service. This is definitely one of the nicest places we've stayed. Exactly what a boutique hotel should be. Didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pixie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idstein, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This hotel is paradise: Just a few rooms with a lot of privacy, a great team, able to read your wishes from your eyes and perfect dinners. At The Boatshed you don't feel like hotel, it's just a place to join - we stayed there for two nights, fell in love with the "Waiheke Island feeling" and think about how to return since we left it. Perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms are different, all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kai23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiheke Island
1.3 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#4 of 9 in Waiheke Island
180 reviews
1.6 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
14.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
2.5 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boatshed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boatshed

Property: The Boatshed
Address: Corner of Tawa and Huia Streets | Little Oneroa, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boatshed 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boatshed is a small luxury hotel on Wiaheke Island - sitting above the beach of Oneroa with extensive views out over the bay. Best described as "barefoot luxury", this seaside hotel and the island its on are a perfect reflection of the modern New Zealand holiday - with a high level of design detail, beaches, vineyards, galleries, and stunning coastal walkways make this little place the perfect tonic for those wanting to get away from it all. We look forward to seeing you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boatshed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boatshed Hotel Waiheke Island
Boatshed Waiheke Island
Boatshed Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing