We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and terrific value”
Review of The Boatshed

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boatshed
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My sister and I have just shared four blissful days at the Boatshed - it was our first time in Little Oneroa and at the Boatshed.

Jonathan is a consummate host and GM - his easy style and manner helps guests immediately relax; the staff and particularly the chef were at all times so helpful. The service is outstanding. The hotel's open areas are chic and elegantly outfitted with interesting objets - beachy and nautical.

Our room - one of the boatsheds - was meticulously outfitted with everything that a guest could want and need. There were yummy biscuits - the jar topped up twice daily, Antipodes water - both sparkling and still - provided in the room, aromatic coffee and teas plus a jar of juicy jelly beans. The room was cleaned to an excellent standard each day and the turn down service with change of towels, if needed, was really appreciated. I really loved the Cafe del Mar music in our room. All meals were outstanding. Standouts in my mind were the lovely stewed fruits served with breakfast, salad lunches of which herbs, leaves and tomatoes were freshly picked from the extensive vegetable garden. The light dinner served on first night and the 5 course meal enjoyed on the final night were also highlights.

The Little Oneroa beach itself is absolutely beautiful - very shallow, calm and the water not too salty. One felt fresh and clean when one came out of the water rather than feeling the need to shower off the salt immediately - the beach bag, towels, hats and sunscreen were really appreciated. I purchased a boater hat and rather than having to carry it home with me, the Boatshed offers to send the goods to your home or postal address free of charge - now this is service!

The walks are beautiful too and views spectacular.

All in all, the Boatshed experience was sublime. It provided terrific value for money and I can't wait to return again.

Room Tip: The Boatshed rooms are long but have ample room for stylish and comfortable lounge furniture and a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Candy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2013

Marooned!

Rather, we have voluntarily walked the plank. The Auckland to Coromandel ferry has broken down and Mrs Jones has been convinced to jump ship, for a night on Waiheke Island in Auckland’s Hauraki Gulf. After a couple of hasty phone calls Jonathan, our host at The Boatshed, arranges transport and we travel the length of the island to this distinctly upmarket version of the classic Kiwi bach. No outside toilets or kerosene lanterns here, this is pure Kiwiana at its luxurious best.

The next 36 hours is a pleasant haze of winery lunches, warm sun and sea views. For those more actively inclined, maps of local walks are provided or the house’s Mini Moke is available for exploration further afield. We choose to sit, snooze and avail ourselves of the selection of local wines. As the sun sets dinner on the balcony brings smoked mushroom pate, New Zealand lamb, and organic vegetables from the veggie patch out back; we retire, replete, to our own private boatshed.

Mrs Jones is ready to mutiny when checkout time comes around, but after farewells, a late afternoon drive finds us once again at the bottom end of the island. The ferry awaits, and two very relaxed castaways are soon back at sea.


We liked
A candlelit dinner for two watching the evening light play across Little Oneroa Bay. Bookings for house guests only!


We disliked
The advertised rates seemed expensive compared to previous accommodation in New Zealand. Wrong. Sell your house and move here!

H.J.

The Boatshed
Cnr Tawa and Huia Street
Little Oneroa
Waiheke Island
New Zealand

Ph +64 9 372 3242

www.boatshed.co.nz

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HieronymusJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We spent two lovely nights here, a great place to get over jet lag. The Lighthouse had everything one could want, was very comfortable, and had extras such as a Nespresso machine and jars of biscuits and sweets. It is in a lovely position overlooking a small beach, very quiet at night and not far to walk into town.
The one dinner we had there was excellent, however we were not aware what we would be eating until we sat down.I had spoken to a staff member during the day to say I would prefer not to have fish, I felt that this was perhaps not received well. Whilst we fully understand that the menu depends on vegetables in season, and what is available at markets on the day, we are perhaps in the minority ,we would have preferred to know a little about our $110pp four course meal beforehand.
Thanks to Qantas ,we had a 10 hour delay, and missed our first night in the Boatshed. While we fully understand that the management had no chance of re letting the room, we arrived there one hour after our included breakfast was finished, might it not have been a nice gesture to give us lunch instead? We would really have appreciated not being charged for it, as we have to bear the full cost of our lost night.
All in all ,a lovely place with stunning views and very willing and helpful staff.

Room Tip: The Lighthouse was fantastic, but I am sure all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Boatshed 3 nights and it was pure bliss. The service is excellent without being overbearing, the breakfast spread with the different poached fruit every morning is amazing and I can't say enough about how completely relaxing and serene the place is..the sound of the the wind blowing thru the long grass, the freshness of the air and the fantastic view of Little Oneroa Bay below. I especially loved how they pay attention to every detail with special touches of flowers and "marine props" all over the property.
You are definitely splashing out to stay at The Boatshed but we would not hesitate to do it again. Unfortunately, we were there for a wedding so spent all nights with family but next time, we will be making time to have dinner there because if breakfast is any indication, I'm sure it will be fantastic!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue_nate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The perfect place for a wind down holiday, be pampered and feel at home as soon as you cross the threshold.

The accommodation is faultless and unique.

Food is made to order in an "open kitchen" area and to suit your specific taste buds.

Staff are very friendly and will collect you at the Ferry when you arrive.

Situated at the top of a hill overlooking a beautiful sandy beach. The beach is just a short walk down a lovely pathway.

Forget the 5 Star Hotels in Auckland and go that little bit further for real 5 Star treatment!

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views so don't worry about being in a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The fact that the Boatshed is located in one of the most picturesque and idealistic settings in New Zealand certainly helps, but this hotel stay was quite possibly one of the best my husband and I ever had anywhere.

The stay was our last stop on our New Zealand honeymoon tour, and we certainly "saved the best for last" in many ways. Upon arriving on Saturday evening, we were greeted immediately with a warm welcome by our host and were directed toward the dining/lounge area where we sipped on glasses of delicious local sauvignon blanc and enjoyed a cheese spread while overlooking the stunning view of the beaches below (shot attached to this review). We were then led to our bungalow across the road, which is tucked privately into its own spot on the hill. There was another bungalow across from us in our building where other guests were staying, but the feeling was very much like we were enjoying our own private house (we never saw the other guests nor even heard them).

Our rooms were quite spacious, and we loved the feeling of how much the outdoors were brought into the space - there were windows everywhere! The gentle maritime breezes always kept the room perfectly cool (though you do have the option to use the AC if you like). We spend much of our summers in Nantucket and Block Island, and this place evokes a similar feeling to the New England beach stays there (the island itself is a mixture of Nantucket and a little Napa, in my mind). Relaxing music was playing when we arrived and complimentary glasses of wine were provided, and a beach bag stocked with blankets and sunblock was ready for our use. The views were similar to the ocean view I posted from the dining area.

We had dinner elsewhere our first night, and when we returned, our sheets were drawn down, bottles of Antipodes water (my favorite NZ water) were left on our bedside tables, relaxing music was playing and candles were burning in the rooms. It was heavenly to fall into the cozy super-king bed right after. Someone made sure each night that we returned to a completely relaxed atmosphere.

The breakfast the first morning was DELICIOUS - they have a "sweet" option or a "savory" option to choose from, along with various fruits and breakfast pastries to start off with. The second morning we had to leave extremely early to catch our flight and Jonathan not only drove us to the ferry, but he also made us the most yummy breakfast sandwiches to go.

We had dinner our second night in Waiheke at The Boatshed and it was equally as delicious as the breakfast -- if not more so! We had asked to have our dinner outside rather than inside with everyone else (it was our first night of really nice weather and we wanted to stay out there with the gorgeous views), and they were so accommodating with our request by serving us out there and checking whether we wanted blankets, etc. as it got a bit cooler. The food was excellent.

We relaxed by the outdoor fireplace for a few hours with our complimentary port afterward at our bungalow building (there is a large kitchen, game room and outdoor terrace for public use, but we were the only ones who used them). I don't think I've ever been so relaxed on a vacation before in my life! They really go the extra mile to make sure that EVERYTHING is taken care of and thought of beforehand. It was truly an amazing experience - one that I am sure we will return to on our next trip to NZ.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blueslady442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The Boatshed really is perfect. I just want to agree with all the other reviews. Our room was wonderful (lighthouse) and the welcome and food could not have been better. And the breakfast really is sensational. I can't imagine anywhere on Waiheke could be better. It is not cheap (especially if you come from England) but if you can - splash out and stay here. Thank you to Jonathon and everyone at the Boatshed.

Room Tip: Lighthouse but I am sure any would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GMFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiheke Island
2.5 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#2 of 6 in Waiheke Island
112 reviews
1.6 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#3 of 6 in Waiheke Island
102 reviews
15 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
3,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,486 reviews
14.9 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,641 reviews
1.3 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#3 of 29 in Waiheke Island
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boatshed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boatshed

Address: Corner of Tawa and Huia Streets | Little Oneroa, Auckland, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range: £453 - £668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boatshed 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boatshed is a small luxury hotel on Wiaheke Island - sitting above the beach of Oneroa with extensive views out over the bay. Best described as "barefoot luxury", this seaside hotel and the island its on are a perfect reflection of the modern New Zealand holiday - with a high level of design detail, beaches, vineyards, galleries, and stunning coastal walkways make this little place the perfect tonic for those wanting to get away from it all. We look forward to seeing you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boatshed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boatshed Hotel Waiheke Island
Boatshed Waiheke Island
Boatshed Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing