We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You must stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boatshed

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waiheke Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Boatshed
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You must stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I just recently started writing up reviews on TA and had to post about our memorable stay last Dec at the Boatshed. My husband and I spent 3 nights relaxing and visiting a number of wineries on the island. Our stay was both amazing and unforgettable. Jonathan and his staff catered to our every need. The rooms were deluxe and topped off with a fireplace! The food and wine were excellent. We will definitely be back on our next trip to Auckland.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    16
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
172
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This place was simply amazing - i cant fault one thing - would love to come back one day - the food was to die for, the huge glasses of wine and the fact that all the food they serve is grown in the garden are just some of the things that make this boutique hotel one of the best i have been to.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoliverstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Boatshed was our last stop in New Zealand, and it was it was most definitely worth it. It was dreamy and indulgent and a perfect place for a couple to relax and unwind. Jonathan and his team were very welcoming and the bespoke food was exceptional. The arrival drinks and cheese platter was a lovely touch and Jonathan always had time to help and advise on where to explore on the island. The nearby beach is simply stunning with a backdrop of sail boats and purple flowers. We only hope that we can one day return to this beautiful place!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBXXIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I have been meaning to write this review all year since our magical New Year stay at The Boatshed but time has got away on me. Ee had the most amazing time from the moment we walked in to the peaceful idyllic Boatshed and Jonathan offered us local wine and cheese as we sat on the balcony in the sunshine basking in the glorious view. Jonathan and his team looked after us so well, nothing was every too much bother. The food was delicious as was sitting eating ti walking the sea. The rooms we so tranquil and the location is great - an easy stroll along the road, beach or clifftops to Oneroa, and a quick walk to Little Oneroa beach for a swim. We were lucky enough to hire the Mini Moke (aptadly named Togs) during our stay and felt young and carefree as we explored the island in our zippy beach transport. All in all we could not fault anything about our stay...or only regret is that we live so far away that we can't make it a regular on our holiday schedule. It was bliss!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at the boatshed for two nights but oh how I wish it had been for a week. It is expensive but every little luxury is thought of. The weather was rainy and cold but we were in heaven in the bridge room with our luxurious king size bed, fireplace, amazing views, a cheese platter and a bottle of port! The staff were all amazing and the food was delicious. We opted to have dinner by the fire downstairs on one night. The chef uses produce from their own garden and created a memorable four course meal. If you need some time out from the kids or just the hustle and bustle of every day life, then this is the place to go.

Room Tip: The bridge has amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixsta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London GB
Level Contributor
140 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I love this beautiful hotel on the stunning island, Waiheke, off the coast of Auckland. You are welcomed immediately you drive up to the hotel. I had the Tower bedroom which was just gorgeous. Level 1 was the entry area and bathroom, with a beach bag, towels, sun hats and sun screen (I love that touch). One floor up a spiral staircase was the bedroom, and one further level up, the tower day room, with day bed. It had views out over the bay and over the town of Oneroa. At night the lights twinkled romantically. I opened all the doors to the balcony, had the sea breeze wafting in, as I read and sipped delicious wine.

Breakfast was a true feast, but the real foodie treat was the set menu dinner, which was creative and utterly delicious and inventive. I was hugely impressed by the chef at The Boatshed.

Do stay here. It is bliss. I never wanted to leave.

Room Tip: They're all good, but the Tower room is special. There are lots of stairs so do opt for one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaffeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

My husband and I have just returned from 4 wonderful days on Waiheke Island staying at the Boatshed. What an amazing place to stay! The decor is tasteful, Johnathon the host is warm and welcoming without being intrusive and the breakfast and dinners were up there with the best we have eaten all around the world.
Johnathon packed a picnic lunch for us one day which we ate at a glorious little bay in the middle of our walk around the peninsular. He had thought of everything right down to the home made biscuits tied up with string. It was a feast.
I rarely review places I have stayed as I am very conscious of praising a place others might not enjoy as much as I have but I have no hesitation in recommending the Boatshed. It surpassed all of my expectations - I had bookmarked a review I read in a magazine over two years ago - and I am happy to share my experience with anyone who might be anticipating vising Waiheke Island. The greatest compliment I can give is that our four days felt like four weeks, we were so completely relaxed and happy when the time came to leave. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank suze208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiheke Island
1.3 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.6 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.1 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boatshed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boatshed

Property: The Boatshed
Address: Corner of Tawa and Huia Streets | Little Oneroa, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boatshed 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boatshed is a small luxury hotel on Wiaheke Island - sitting above the beach of Oneroa with extensive views out over the bay. Best described as "barefoot luxury", this seaside hotel and the island its on are a perfect reflection of the modern New Zealand holiday - with a high level of design detail, beaches, vineyards, galleries, and stunning coastal walkways make this little place the perfect tonic for those wanting to get away from it all. We look forward to seeing you soon... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Boatshed Hotel Waiheke Island
Boatshed Waiheke Island
Boatshed Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing