We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical spot for a romantic weekend”
Review of Te Whau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Te Whau Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
2 reviews
“Magical spot for a romantic weekend”
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

This place is magical. The views are beyond what any photo can show, the food is exceptional and the service warm and personal. Sitting in the spa pool under the stars was a particular treat, and little touches like gourmet teas and bath sheets made it feel truly luxurious. Gene and Liz's company and advice was excellent ... it felt like staying with family friends! If there was one thing I would say is lacking is decent coffee - it's adequate but far from cafe standard... Perhaps a nespresso machine could be the answer?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigandAmy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
71
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Very warm and friendly host in a very relaxing, comfy and yet elegant atmosphere. Food is exceptionally well presented and tastes great too. They indeed helped made our 2012 end of year dinner very memorable indeed :).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivansurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Liz and Gene are AMAZING hosts. We stayed in the Boat room--it was lovely. Views of the water everywhere. my husband typically does not like the "closeness" of B & Bs, but he loved it here. You have lots of privacy---a beautiful view of the water from every room. We arrived VERY early in the morning, hoping to just drop off our luggage, and they let us in---our room was available, so they let us go in and even did our laundry and prepared coffee for us. We had a fabulous group dinner one evening with the most amazing ground chicken/shrimp appetizers. This is a very special wonderful place.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms, all with the same beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank el04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

You are definitely a guest, not a customer, at the Lodge. Warmly welcomed, and able to enjoy so much of the property as your own home, Te Whau is a very special destination. Absolutely, rent a car for the island, and take a gentle day to soak in the paradise of turquoise bays, golden sands and lush hillsides...but the take yourself back to the Lodge to relax, enjoy wonderful canapés in the company of Liz and Gene, the superb owners and hosts, rest some more watching the sun go down over the bays.....the next morning be treated to divine breakfasts 'with a twist' perfectly described and cooked by Gene. This place is very special.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank grimstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The marvel that is Te Whau Lodge...what can we say?... Liz and Gene have been amazing and instrumental in helping to plan and accommodate our parents 50th Wedding Anniversary weekend in Oct 2012!! After essentially being 'abducted' and whisked away with their dear friends on a surprise weekend package from the kids, they speak in high volumes of their experience, the service, whom they met and the views. We couldn't ask for anything better!! Their trip to Te Whau was nothing less than perfect!!! They will definitely stay again and when nana and poppa decide to abduct the grandies, we can't wait to get there ourselves!! Highly recommended!! Cannot thankyou enough!! You made the weekend everything we had wished for :) :) See you soon!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raquel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Great place to bunk down after getting blotto from a long day on the local vino and have a good spread the next morning to re-line the old gut! Did a few tours before the world cup and this was a good spot. Would be good for any kind of getaway, especially if you rent a car and get about the island. Owners were a bit anal about a few things, but suppose that's only natural. Overall you'd not go wrong here and you'll get a good spread if nothing else.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarlingDarlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katonah, NY
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We spent a wonderful three days/nights at Te Whau, and couldn't have been happier. The Lodge is perched on a hillside with panoramic water views that can be enjoyed from the large common decks as well as from each bedroom's private balcony. Decor is NZ contemporary -- lots of wood and glass, clean lines, nothing fussy to distract from the fabulous surroundings. Hosts Liz and Gene have perfected the art of hospitality; they are gracious, welcoming, helpful, interesting, and run a first class show. Breakfast and the evening wine and hors d'oeuvres (included in the tariff) were delicious and beautifully presented. This was our first visit to Waiheke Island -- a beautiful unspoiled retreat. Go and enjoy it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiKatonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waiheke Island
3.8 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
232 reviews
2.5 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#4 of 9 in Waiheke Island
181 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
2.4 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
255 reviews
1.3 mi away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
#7 of 9 in Waiheke Island
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Whau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Whau Lodge

Property: Te Whau Lodge
Address: 36 Vintage Lane | Te Whau Point, Waiheke Island 1971, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Whau Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Te Whau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing