We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Te Whau Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waiheke Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Te Whau Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

What an amazing place! I was surprised with a fantastic weekend on Waiheke Island for my wedding anniversary, my darling husband had found Te Whau Lodge and organised with Liz and Gene an unforgettable trip. We arrived by helicopter at the doorstep to a fantastic welcome, the lodge is gorgeous with one of the most amazing views, our well appointed room overlooked the harbour and back to Auckland city. Each evening we had canapés on the deck, Gene is a master and produced some of the most delicious dishes. Our dinner on the first night was fantastic and the unbelievable breakfasts were designed to keep me coming back for more! Liz had assisted my husband in organising a great day out wine touring and a lovely massage at the lodge, I felt so spoilt! The whole weekend was fantastic and I absolutely cannot fault the experience at Te Whau Lodge, I would recommend the lodge to anyone, thank you Liz & Gene

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renaesmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
53
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I am a bit of a control freak when it comes to planning anything for my family. I do tons of research to ensure that our trip is as perfect as it can be. So after doing my research and reading many reviews about the Te Whau (pronounced Te Phau for us silly Yanks) we booked our 3 day 2 night stay. We flew in at 5:45 Monday morning from LAX. Neither my husband nor I decided to get international calling so we were communicating with Liz (the owner) via email from any hot spot we could find. At the airport I emailed letting her know we were off the plane and on our way. We went to the I-cite which is New Zealand’s visitors center located in virtually every city and many of the airports and probably our best most valuable asset while in NZ. At the I-cite we purchased city bus fair and ferry tickets for our journey to Waiheke Island. We are both from big cities so the ideal of staying in Auckland wasn't that great. After seeing and reading about Waiheke we settled on this venue for our first few days in the North Island.
Once at the ferry terminal I used the pay phone to contact Liz and let her know which ferry we would be on so that she could arrange our pickup at the ferry terminal. Just as she said a very nice gentleman with my husband’s name on a sign was at the terminal ready to pick us up. The drive to Te Whau was beautiful; the driver gave us a bit of a lesson about the island and New Zealand as well which was great for first timers to the North. Upon our arrival Liz and Gene the lovely owners of this beautiful lodge greeted us with open arms. We had a brief discussion about our flight and what we had planned for our stay, and they completely understood our need relax for our first day.
We were shown our room which was known as the fish or blue room. It was amazing! The room had a private balcony with a beautiful view of the water and in the distance Auckland harbor. We were provided amenities such as bottled water, coffee and tea station, iPod docking station and reading nook. The bathroom was pleasant with a gorgeous vanity, towel warmer and window that gave a little view of the water. The layout of the lodge is perfect it is prevalent that much time and thought went into the design. The rooms are all off of the main area with open access from an outdoor walking path. A central hot tub is right next to the rooms for easy access. The main house has a large gathering area with a TV, fireplace and off that a separated dining room. After unpacking and showering we felt much better and left our room for the main house. We were greeted in the main house with tea and coffee as well as breakfast bites made especially for us by gene once we arrived. It was such a nice welcome following a 12 hour flight. Gene makes the most wonderful croissants that were accompanied by a frittata. Gene asked if we would like to have dinner at the lodge that evening for a fee of $60.00 pp. This is not an option on Tuesday or Wednesday nights, so we accepted.
That evening after a lovely hike (tramp as it is known to the locals) we cleaned up and headed to the living room for canapés and a glass of wine which was provided to us by Liz and Gene included in our accommodation fee. Liz chose a lovely wine from a local winery that due to the season wouldn’t be available for tastings while we were there; it was those extra little details and thoughtfulness that we very much loved about our stay. The dinner was far beyond our expectations. I had read about what a wonderful Chef Gene was… but this was ABOVE! Gene discussed the meal with us, a braised lamb rump with Israeli couscous finished with a mint sauce and veggies from the garden. The meat was cooked to perfection and the couscous is my new obsession. Water, and pop is available free of charge but wine, beer and alcohol can be purchased. We bought a bottle of wine with dinner, another lovely selection by Gene and Liz.
The following morning Gene had a beautiful breakfast made up for us. I was expecting something simple, but boy does that wonderful man go all out! He made fresh croissants, muesli with fresh fruit, a poached egg on top of bacon and freshly made Leek brioche.
Following breakfast Liz set us up with Fun time car rentals where we rented a car for the day to drive about the island and do some wine tastings. Liz got us a map and circled all the island wineries that were open and available for tastings and then recommended a location that we could have dinner at. Before leaving we settled on a time for canapés and we were off.
After a long day of wine tastings, we got back to the lodge in time for wine and canapés. Gene again went all out on lovely canapés. He made a gruyere puff that was amazing, a delicious olive tapenade paired with a fantastic red from another winery that we wouldn’t be able to taste at. We had grabbed a small bite at StoneyRidge winery so when Gene made his generous portions of canapés we were quite full and decided to stay in instead of going to dinner. We sat with Gene and Liz and talked all about our trips and travels planned and learned so much about them and their business. It was a perfect night before we left Waiheke the following day. Before we went to bed Gene and Liz helped us settle on a time for breakfast that would give us ample amount of time to get to the ferry and then to the airport for our flight to Rotorua.
The next morning Gene made another fantastic breakfast for us. That time for breakfast we had fresh croissants, muesli with chutney (can’t remember the flavor) and a smoked salmon egg scramble. I had seen other reviewers who had mention the scramble and I was keeping my fingers crossed that we would get it. All the reviews were spot on. The smoked salmon and eggs were cooked perfectly and I stuffed myself to the brim because it was so good.
QUICK NOTES: This place is awesome! We were the only ones staying at the time and we felt like we were worth a million bucks when we stayed here. The TV and free internet is available in the living room area only and not within the rooms itself, which I quite enjoyed. I like the ideal of having contact with others instead of being held up in your room not taking in all the experiences because that is where the internet is. The TV and IPod within the living room were completely available to us, but why waste a beautiful view on TV when you can sit in the reading nook and relax. The food and hospitality were second to none. Although I understand a stay at Te Whau isn’t the cheapest on the island by far, it will be well worth it in the end. You can look back on your holiday and have such special memories that will last you a life time. I hope we can go back again and stay at Te Whau and on Waiheke for longer, if anything else Liz and Gene are more than welcome to visit us here in Utah! Who knows maybe we can connect up one of these years for the French holiday they put together.

Room Tip: We were given the Blue room also known as the Fish room. It is right next door to the hot tub which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

My family & I had a most wonderful time at Te Whau Lodge for 5 nights just after Christmas 2012. We had 3 well appointed rooms all overlooking spectacular scenery with views across the water over to Auckland. We spent New Years Eve at the Lodge with great company & a spectacular meal cooked by Gene was enjoyed by all, we all stayed up past midnight & watched the fireworks at Auckland. The rooms are very comfortable cosy & kept immaculate, with a small balcony to sit & enjoy the quietness & take in the beautiful views. Gene & Liz are the perfect hosts, so very friendly & ready to assist in any way they can, we did alot of activities during our stay & Liz helped me organise the whole experience, she was fantastic as was all of our adventures. Gene's cooking was truely gorgeous, always presented beautifully & matched with a lovely NZ wine. A big thank you to Gene & Liz who made our holiday very special, so helpful but unobtrusive to our needs. Waiheke Island is a great spot as it is not far from Auckland & Te Whau Lodge is just a special place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WenMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Te Whau Lodge is one of those special places that will remain as a wonderful memory. The owners have that special gift of fine hospitality: professional yet casual and friendly; nothing seems to be too much of a bother. Gene is a gourmet chef, his food is memorable and his presentations are a work of art. Liz is the perfect hostess, making the guests feel comfortable and
plans the perfect itinerary. Their lodge has the most amazing view, the rooms are large and comfortable and all the furnishings are top quality. Their art collection is intriguing and enhances the property. We spent four nights there and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a magnificent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Kristi and I chose this from the reviews for our first night as Mr & Mrs after having a small wedding on Palm Beach. We simply could not have found a more perfect location. From gorgeous views to beautiful rooms to first class wines and food.

If you are looking for something special on Waiheke you have to stay at Te Whau lodge, we will again for our anniversary that is for sure. Thanks Gene and Liz for making our night and stay so special, hope the wedding in Cambridge went well.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We spent three wonderful days on our honeymoon at this idyllic island lodge. Liz and Gene were the perfect hosts. Dine, relax and wake up to the most spectacular views over the surrounding waters and enjoy perfect quiet, interrupted by the song from native birds. The spa was awesome and such a treat to enjoy after a day of island exploits to relax in. However for us the impeccable service and attention to detail with great food, privacy and advice on Waiheke were the defining factors and we would recommend this venue to anybody looking for that special location. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel special.....We are already planning a future visit for that special occasion.
David & Joan

Room Tip: Trust your hosts they will place you in a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corona4007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

A very special place high in the hills of Waheike Island with magnificent views of the harbour, ocean and all the way to Aukland. The modern buildings snuggle into the hillside and the common rooms and comfortable bedrooms all face the ocean. Sunsets not to be missed! Dinner is New Zealand lodge style, at a long table with the other lodge guests. Canapes, wine and relaxed company before dinner with the hosts, Gene and Liz and guests. Gene is a creative chef, passionate about cooking. Dinner and breakfast were both excellent and unique. Excellent local wines offered with dinner at very reasonable prices. Waheike Island is a special place and Gene and Liz make Te Whau Lodge a lovely experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
3.8 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.4 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
#7 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.4 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Whau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Whau Lodge

Property: Te Whau Lodge
Address: 36 Vintage Lane | Te Whau Point, Waiheke Island 1971, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Whau Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing