We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most beautiful lodges i have had the pleasure to stay in”
Review of Te Whau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Te Whau Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the most beautiful lodges i have had the pleasure to stay in”
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Te Whau Lodge is a fantastic venue, not only the views and island, but the food, conversation and genuine hospitality were well beyond expectations. I would recommend Te Whau Lodge to anyone who is looking to relax, enjoy a beautiful setting and take time out. Gene and Liz were wonderful hosts, always at hand with a helpful tip about Waiheke Island, to help me enjoy my vacation.
I hope to return again soon with my family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrCollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We cannot say enough good things about our stay at Te Whau. First of all, the hosts Gene and Liz could not have been more kind, more fun, more interesting, and Gene is the best chef ever. Our stay with them was absolute perfection. We did not want to leave, and hope that we get to return.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2010

I was looking for the perfect place to unwind after a hectic 2009. Somewhere I could feel comfortable holidaying on my own, but that would also have interesting company when needed. I researched a few places but Liz's reply to my e-mails about Te Whau lodge painted a picture of exactly the accomodation and location I had imagined. I wasnt disappointed the lodge is in a beautiful location, and the rooms have expansive views over Waiheke Island and Auckland Harbour that instil relaxation. Liz and Gene are welcoming hosts and convivial company. Gene's cooking alone is worth visiting Te Whau for, and it is served with passion and love. I ahd such a wonderful time with Liz and Gene and fellow guests. I will return to Te Whau Lodge again soon.

Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank BerryAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Our stay at Te Whau Lodge was perfect. Gene and Liz have created an alternate universe of great beauty and charm within the larger perfection of Waiheke Island. Every inch of the Lodge has been planned toward the comfort of the guests: rooms are spacious and have amazing views, from high on a hill looking out toward the Pacific Ocean in one direction and the Auckland skyline on another. A wonderful window seat in each room looks toward the vineyards below and the bays filled with sailboats beyond. Our room had the requested accessible bath, also perfectly planned.
The main spaces of the Lodge include an elegant guests' living room, dining room and spacious terraces overseeing the many bays below.
Finally, but definitely most important, are the hosts of the Lodge, Liz and Gene. Each evening they join with the guests for canapes and wine (each outstanding - Gene is a tremendously talented chef) and on most evenings there is dinner following. Every meal is delicious and the company - ever changing - much fun. The nationality and age-range of guests was quite varied while we were there.
Waiheke itself is very special: beautiful beaches, vineyards for tastings or a meal, breathtaking views, small artists' colonies and galleries, and a charming but sophisticated village for shopping (if you still have money after great dining, fine wine and very interesting art purchases!).
We would go back in a second! And highly recommend Te Whau Lodge.
(PS: We found Te Whau Lodge through the earlier reviews on Trip Advisor - thank you all!)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megenNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Liz and Gene are generous and gracious hosts. The experience they provide at their beautifully appointed and well-thought out Lodge is a showcase displaying the very best New Zealand has to offer. The rooms are well-appointed with stunning views, the food and wine and the presentation of these are exquisite, and the service they provide is unobtrusive and sensitive to guests requirements. They are lovely company and work seemingly seamlessly together, to provide an exceptional and professional Lodge experience that left us feeling well rested and rejuvenated after only one night there. Many thanks.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j9p-v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

A visit to Waiheke without a stay at Te Whau Lodge is missing the essence of what Waiheke has to offer. Our stay at Te Whau set the tone for our 2 week road trip through the North and South Islands of New Zealand. Gene and Liz were, and continue to be, by far the most gracious hosts that we have ever encountered in our numerous trips to various countries.

The lodge artfully navigates the delicate balance between privacy and common space. Each room has a remarkable view overlooking the bay with a direct view of the Auckland City (on a clear day of course) from the private balcony. The room we stayed in (I believe the Blue room) was impeccably clean with all the amenities one could hope for. I particularly enjoyed the collection of Jazz CDs provided for out listening please.

It goes without saying that Gene's cooking was nothing short of outstanding. Meals are presented with the utmost care using the freshest of ingredient--no detail escapes our hosts. The evening canapes were so well presented and the one diner that we had there rivaled every other lamb preparations that we had in NZ. The presentation of the savory course of our breakfast was quite the visual feast; with the two breakfasts being used as a benchmark for other places that we stayed during the trip.

More than anything else, it was the conversations that we had with Gene and Liz that really made our stay at Te Whau very memorable. Gene was gracious enough to share some of his experiences and lessons learned in running a small business with my wife and for this we are truly grateful for.

Should you find yourself planning a trip to Waiheke Island, please consider them as one of your lodging options for fine accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afajem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We have been to a number of 5 star Boutique hotels throughout NZ over the years and we keep returning to Te Whau lodge on Waiheke island because we can't seem to find anyone else who does it better. Te Whau lodge is quite simply an idyllic spot with amazing views over the island and its vineyards, with the mainland that you have left behind in the distance. Hosts Gene and Liz are extremely accomodating where nothing is a problem and where you are made to feel special. Liz's attention to detail is immediately evident with all rooms being lavishly appointed, each uniquely private and having their own distinctive NZ themes. The food prepared by chef extraordinaire Gene is outstanding, utilising the freshest of ingredients and local island produce where possible. This all combines to make this a world class place to get away from it all. We've just come back from our 6th trip in as many years and we'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AucklandDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
3.8 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.5 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.3 mi away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
#7 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Whau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Whau Lodge

Property: Te Whau Lodge
Address: 36 Vintage Lane | Te Whau Point, Waiheke Island 1971, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Whau Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Te Whau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing