We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waiheke Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Customer Service disappointing”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

There are no other resorts on Waiheke Island and we purposely booked there over the Christmas holiday for a family reunion as we found that many restaurants in NZ are not open on the 25th and 26. The rooms were clean and efficient but the service was not what we expected. Their website advertises a restaurant which we presumed would be running for Christmas day (resorts usually do) but on arrival found that they are now only running the restaurant for breakfast on any day. We had to scramble to shop on Christmas Eve so we could put together a dinner for 5. No one in the office could tell us weather breakfast would be served Christmas Day (it was). Pool locked up on Christmas day and staff rather disorganized.

Room Tip: If you want to cook for yourselves request a room with a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    21
    25
    15
    9
See reviews for
19
35
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Fantastic management and recent upgrades excellent. Stayed in a 2 bedroom unit with deck & awesome view. Manager Lyle was very helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Great bar & fire place. Love the pool! Ensure your unit includes access to the common areas (pool, tennis court etc) as some do not. Recommend an upgrade re coffee & alcohol selection.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently refurbished unit and ensure the unit price includes access to the pool & comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heathy2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed in a studio apartment with lovely views of Palm Beach from the balcony. The apartment was spacious and well appointed with a separate bedroom. I particularly appreciated the shelving in the bathroom - something that is so often lacking in motels. The whole place was very quiet and peaceful so no problem sleeping. The resort offers free WiFi but that is only available in the lobby. We did not dine in the restaurant but the buffet breakfast was more than sufficient for our needs. Good central location if you have a car but the bus stop was just outside and buses run fairly frequently.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

decided to break up an aukland business trip with a night a waiheke. transport from ferry terminal to resort was very convenient. rooms very spacious and clean. got upgraded to one of the refurbished cabins. lyle the resort manager was fantastic and looked after us extremely well. we will definitely be back again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton City, null, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Fantastic sea view from balcony, rooms were fresh light and modern - great design layout. Double glazing of windows meant a very peaceful nights rest. Dinner at their restaurant was devine - could not fault this resort - we will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My wife and I decided to have a weekend break at Waiheke. We stayed at the Waiheke Island Resort. We arrived at about 11am and we were given the keys to our Studio room.
The receptionist was extremely friendly and could not do enough for us.
The room was very clean with all the facilities required. It had recently been completely renovated.
The buffet breakfast was very good value with good quality food.
We travel in NZ and overseas regularly and could not fault this establishment

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a room with a view. We booked a few weeks before but all the rooms with views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Recently attended a wedding at the resort and down at "The Dunes" venue (owned and run by the resort).

Reason for the terrible rating
- on the evening of the wedding, the bar prices were put up and where significantly higher than agreed in all previous meetings and than listed on their drinks menu at the bar (3 laminated copies were on the bar). The duty supervisor, argued to the death about how this was acceptable because the menu said on the bottom "Prices are subject to change without notice". His attitude was "take it or leave it". Unfortunately we had hired the venue for the wedding and could not go anywhere else now. Terrible customer service.
- food was way overpriced for what was presented. Two course buffet meal that was average but charged at premium high class restaurant prices.
- the head table was served the wrong meals
- they charged you for everything they could get away with..
- the two bar staff were nice, the other staff had an up-themselves attitude problem.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kiwiboy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waiheke Island hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
1.7 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#4 of 9 in Waiheke Island
180 reviews
2.8 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
231 reviews
2.1 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
#7 of 9 in Waiheke Island
41 reviews
2.0 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
0.6 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 6 in Oneroa
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiheke Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiheke Island Resort

Property: Waiheke Island Resort
Address: 4 Bay Road, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waiheke Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An island of spectacular beauty, Waiheke is renowned for its award winning vineyards, unique art, stylish cafes, and stunning beaches. Waiheke Island Resort and Conference Centre is the island’s foremost accommodation venue. Only 35 minutes from Auckland, this unique resort is set in subtropical gardens overlooking Palm Beach with a beautiful ocean vista.Our facilities, relaxing atmosphere, commitment to quality and outstanding customer service have made Waiheke Island Resort a popular retreat for both business, and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waiheke Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waiheke Island Resort And Conference Centre Hotel Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing