We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50th Birthday Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hei Matau Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waiheke Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hei Matau Lodge
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“50th Birthday Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

I took my husband to stay at Hei Matau Lodge for his 50th Birthday surprise. I was looking for a place with beautiful surroundings, privacy and luxury features. Hei Matau Lodge ticked all the boxes. I would like to thank Peter and Fiona for our wonderful stay, yummy yummy home cooked food and exceptional attention to detail. The views from our room over the bay and across the water to the lights of Auckland were outstanding. The decor both externally and internally was superb. Thank you Hei Matau Lodge for making us feel so pampered and welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you Tania for taking time to review Hei Matau- we appreciate your positive feedback. We have tried hard to create the atmosphere we ourselves would expect from a luxury escape so close to Auckland and it is nice to know we have hit the mark for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
62
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We recently had the privilege of experiencing Fiona and Peter Kirch's wonderful and generous hospitality at Hei Matau Lodge.
I arrived with no pre conceived expectations as I knew nothing of this place. However I would never have dared hope for such high standards as we were afforded. The Kirch's have poured their love and energy into this beautiful property and they go out of their way to ensure by the time you leave you love it too.
I plan to return!
Jeanne Walters

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Jeanne thank you for your review. Fiona and I enjoyed meeting you and Pat and your friends.WE enjoy sharing what we have here at Hei Matau with our guests .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Hei Matau Lodge exceeded our expectations in every way. It was perfect just to jump on the ferry and head out of the city for a few days. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by the owners Peter and Fiona Kirch who proudly showed us around their beautiful property. During our stay we were left alone to enjoy the property but Hei Matau Lodge has other options of accommodation to choose from also. We enjoyed the master bedroom, while the kids had their very own “kids quarters”, a large bunkroom and a lounge room with TV, DVD and plenty of games to keep them occupied. The design and layout of the house has been so well thought out and ever so tastefully decorated. Everything has been thought of and included, there was nothing I could find that was missing. Very impressive! Along with a fully stocked fridge and pantry, we were even left steak, oysters and bottles of delicious local wines to enjoy. The muesli was to die for and proudly made by Fiona herself. There’s a great pool and spa, and for the more energetic, bikes, walking tracks and kayaks and a dingy. I want to go back!

Room Tip: Different types of accommodation to choose from, check them out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you for taking time to do a review. When we designed Hei Matau we thought it would make sense to have a bunkroom wing where kids can be " self contained" with their own lounge and bathroom facilities attached to their sleeping accommodation so the adults can enjoy peace and quiet in the rest of the place yet be close enough to keep an eye on things. With 6 bunkbeds and 4 double rooms with esnuites we can generally sleep 2 or more families in comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

You can't get better on Waiheke than Hei Matau Lodge and this is why........Originally we booked a weekend away on Waiheke with our own car, only to find the car ferry full & no other options etc. Not only were Peter & Fiona excellent hosts (& cooks, the meals were first class absolutely superb best on the island!), but Peter came down and picked us up at the ferry, arranged a car for us to see the island, and then spent the next 2 days driving us around the island for wine tasting, every night to dinner and back at all hours in his own time simply because he wanted us to have an unforgettable experience. I've spent over 6 months travelling over the past 2 years never have I seen so much dedication as from Peter & Fiona, their efforts to ensure we had an ideal weekend away were above & beyond. The place was beautiful this is the location on the island where you want to be within walking distance from Cable Bay Vineyard & Mudbrick and v close to everything else. The room was fantastic had a great view, very comfortable, private deck with lounge spa pool we wish we had more time to relax at the lodge, all ammenities snacks beverages wine canapes were available around the clock in & out of the room etc - we couldn't have been more impressed will recommend to all our friends & family and anyone considering staying on Waiheke do not go past this.Thanks to Peter & Fiona for being such kind & enjoyable hosts and for turning a great weekend away into an unforgettable one

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thanks for that Steve.We try and go that extra mile for our guests to ensure their stay is a memorable one. Glad you were able to explore the island at it finest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

My fiance and I stayed here Nov 2012 and a wonderful romantic weekend. The rooms and the whole house were beautiful and luxurious. There was easy access to lots of scenic walks and the many excellent vineyards of Waiheke. The summer lounge with its entire walls of glass facing out to the ocean was a particular favorite - a beautiful spot to watch the sunset with champagne and canapes! Peter & Fiona are very knowledgeable about the best local spots and attractions and were the perfect hosts. Peter took us on a fishing trip where we caught buckets of huge fresh Snapper and had a memorable experience! The food was top notch - always featuring fresh local ingredients. We particularly loved Peter's famous homemade smoked salmon. We will definitely be returning sometime soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Sarah thanks for your review.Glad you enjoyed the food. WE are foodies so try to ensure noone leaves here lighter than they came!! Since you were here the fish have been biting.We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We'd considered getting on a plane for some sandy shores or an active 'break' in the South Island, all we knew is that we wanted a place to breath deeply again and unwind.
How lucky did we feel as we arrived at Hei Matau? It was a weekend so far beyond our expectations. At our request for some extra pampering, Peter and Fiona had arranged a masseuse to arrive on the first afternoon - which was enjoyed outside on the deck but in the shade with the sound of the waves at the bottom of the garden enhancing the experience.
We were fed, boy were we fed with beautiful canapes freshly prepared by the skillful Fiona, accompanied by a well chosen wine. When we decided not to leave our peaceful paradise, Fiona and Peter prepared us a lunch (he'd popped out to the market for some beautiful fresh rolls and the paper), when we still decided not to leave and asked them to cancel our dinner booking, again we were served with some delicious canapes.
My highlights were, the peaceful and luxurious surroundings, the incredibly comfortable bed, fresh, crisp sheets, heavenly pillows, the well appointed and all inclusive fridge in the room, the lovely bathroom (loo with a view), the swimming pool and spa I used in the evening, the brand new magazines, the turn-down service in the evening, the view from the guest lounge and the many comfortable places to lie-down and chill out and the breakfasts and the private beach and the privacy and the sensation of all worries melting away!
We'd had beautiful weather for two of our three days and even though the weather changed on the third day I could imagine a cosy winter break there too - fire roaring and lots of lovely blankets to snuggle under.
After all of that, all I have to say is JUST GO AND STAY THERE!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Clare thank you for your review.We try our best to pamper our guests and to respond to their individual needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

What a place! we needed a girls getaway for a rare weekend away from the husbands and children and our hectic life and doing a search we found Hei Matau Lodge.A quick easy Internet booking then a friendly response from Peter at Hei Matau we were all sorted with confirmation and all our questions answered and itinerary sorted, we boarded the ferry from Auckland. We were picked up by Peter from the ferry on a gorgeous Waiheke day and we made our way to Hei Matau and we were not disappointed! This place is paradise! from the amazing position overlooking the ocean and private beach to the beautifully appointed rooms and living areas we knew our weekend would exceed our expectations! And it did! Peter and Fiona are the perfect hosts and we not only enjoyed the most amazing food they served up with local wine but their lovely relaxed and wonderful hospitality. This is an experience you will not forget on beautiful Waiheke island. There is nothing we would change about this place, it has everything, pure luxury at every turn but very welcoming and by the end of our weekend it was a struggle to leave!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, Owner at Hei Matau Lodge, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Nicki thank you for taking the time to review our property. Hei Matau provides an ideal enviroment to relax and chill out - we are glad you were able to recharge your batteries. We hope we can look after you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
1.8 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
3.3 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.6 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 9 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.0 mi away
Marino Ridge
Marino Ridge
#6 of 31 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
5.1 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hei Matau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hei Matau Lodge

Property: Hei Matau Lodge
Address: 20 Cable Bay Lane | Oneroa, Waiheke Island 1971, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hei Matau Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hei Matau is available for self catered villa rental only. Set in 7 1/2 acres of grounds with extensive native planting, Hei Matau has direct beach access to a secluded bay. Enjoy relaxing at the beach, taking the lodge kayaks for a paddle to explore the coastline or take the lodge's small dinghy for a spot of fishing. Award winning vineyards offer wine tasting, hiking trail, art galleries and world class restaurants all add to the experiencing that is Hei Matau Lodge.Depending on the size of your group you have the choice of the main house alone or main house with any one or more of the lodge rooms so that the accommodation available and cost can be tailored to your group ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing