We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique - remote - Romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Beach Bungalows
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique - remote - Romantic”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This is a very unique experience that was Romantic and pleasant. It was enjoyable and quiet - me and my partner were blessed by the great hospitality and recommend this to all. We went into the barley garden which was very romantic and something me and my partner will remember for a long time to come. We both look forward to going back sometime.

Room Tip: mud hut was nice - middle earth feel from hobbiton - all bungalows look qute
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelsTip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    32
    6
    4
    10
See reviews for
3
165
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This place was better than good, had an amazing time with my partner for her birthday. The garden experience was great. We felt very tucked away in our own world we will definitely be coming back again!! Brenda was amazingly helpful and quickly responded to any requests we had. A great place great people and a friendly island.

Room Tip: Mudbrick bungalow was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2012

we really enjoyed our selves!! We were given our privacy, and I absolutely loved the bali bath experience. I recommend this to all romantics, and all those just needing to just have a good break away! The island was really relaxing as well and there were some great vineyards and cafes.

Room Tip: was too busy enjoying myself to notice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We arrived on friday 5pm for our romantic getaway special weekend, which happens maybe once a year, as we both work long hours running our own small businesses. On entering the Luxury bungalow, we were quite dissapointed to find a smell of damp & mustiness, the bungalow was quite warm with a heater and a dehumidifier both on.We immediately noticed the plastic plants & flowers which were thick with dust.On checking the bed we were dissapointed to find very old poly cotton sheets, the bed also had a square bamboo frame suspended from the roof with an old sun filter type fabric draped accross the bamboo rods to give the illusion of a 4 post bed.On looking through the rest of the unit we got a feeling of old,not properly cleaned and very tired.By now it was 6pm and as we had travelled to Waiheke Island by Ferry, we decided to bury our dissapointment and enjoy our time there as best we could.Saturday morning we drove to Ostend farmers market which was fantastic, we indulged in a great breakfast at a local cafe and then proceeded to explore the rural area of the Island visiting some of the wineries in this area. Mid afternoon we returned to the Luxury bungalow and decided to have a lie down & recharge, before heading to a local restaurant for dinner. As we were lying on the bed reading, my wife leapt up and said that something had dropped from above and landed on her pillow, on closer inspection it was a live maggot.I then leapt up and looked at the dirty canopy draped above the bed and found it to be infested with live maggots. We made the decision to leave immediately, phoned the lady who runs the place and got her to come and see for herself. within a few minutes she arrived and proceeded to ask how these maggots could have got there - no apology offered at all - just - how could they have got there?
We left & spent the night elsewhere - couldn't wait to leave Waiheke Island the next day and will never ever go there again. We have still not recieved any sort of apology from this woman Brenda and I still feel sick whenever I think about the night we spent there. I would also like to mention that she charged my credit card for the full amount on the day that I booked, which was 2 weeks prior to our stay. I find this unacceptable,I should have only been charged a deposit at that stage, with the balance being charged on the weekend we stayed. Do not be tempted to stay at this place!!

Room Tip: Do not be tempted to stay in this disgusting hovel
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Fitzy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Owner at Palm Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Palm Beach Bungalows has new owners. We purchased the property as we loved the unique and special character which we intend to maintain & enhance. We appreciate all the comments and suggestions from our guests, which we take seriously. We have started an upgrade & improvement programme which will ensure that the cleanliness & quality of our accommodation is of the highest standard. We have already invested significant money into the Bungalows as part of this improvement programme, which is being completed without compromising the peace & tranquility of the property and privacy of our guests. As part of our commitment to keeping the special character of Palm Beach Bungalows, we have retained Phil & Brenda as our managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay immensely and especially the Bali Garden experience. It was just the sort of getaway we needed and to add to the pleasure we had a week of perfect weather! We have stayed on Waiheke Island previously and this was a really good change from the usual type of accomodation as it added a romantic quality which we appreciated as a couple. The management is non-intrusive and the beautiful surroundings enhanced our experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBoFFyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Each bungalow is uniquely themed, which is indescribable. The Bali garden experience is magical. The fireplace is amazing! Palm beach bungalows is enchantingly magical way of rekindling the fire with your partner!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autumn_cloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

What a place to escape and feel at home. Cozy and exotic. Tucked away in amongst the Waiheke rain forest. Full privacy. We showed up and our names were written in the chalk board outside, what a beautiful welcoming first impression. We stayed in the Luxury bungalow, very romantic but a great place to go by yourself to get away. Huge jacuzzi tub that looked out into a jungle. Very charming and hospitality was only a phone call away. Full kitchen for longer stays. We walked around and checked out all the bungalows, each one has its own character. You cant go wrong in any of them. Its only a moments walk from Palm Beach. And on that walk you dream where you might live. This place has to be tried by everyone.

Room Tip: Every bungalow is so unique you cant go wrong with any. Just book it and get there. You'll see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 363jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
1.7 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#4 of 9 in Waiheke Island
180 reviews
2.8 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#2 of 9 in Waiheke Island
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#5 of 9 in Waiheke Island
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#2 of 6 in Oneroa
47 reviews
2.0 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
0.8 mi away
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
Midway Motel Waiheke Island
#7 of 9 in Waiheke Island
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Bungalows

Property: Palm Beach Bungalows
Address: 77 Hill Road, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Beach Bungalows - Waiheke Island, Auckland, New Zealand. Set in a bush-clad section, each of our three bungalows has its own individual character and its own private space. Bored with bland chain hotel and motel rooms? Want complete piece and privacy? We are a small, family owned and run business, offering self contained, self catering accommodation in your own little slice of Waiheke. A perfect space to relax and wind down, and only 5 minutes walk to one of the best beaches on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palm Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Bungalows Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing