We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, restful and romantic place, perfect for the just married couple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palm Beach Bungalows
Reviewed 25 April 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful honeymoon at Palm Beach Bungalows just a few months ago. We stayed in Tree Tops which was a very cosy little place. Although we stayed in Waiheke Island in January we did not experience the beautiful blue skies. It rained almost every single day but let me tell you about the tin roof….what a great feeling it was to go to bed and listen to the rain falling….
Brenda and Phil were very hospitable and always ready to assist.
Anton and I would definitely choose Palm Beach Bungalows again and Luxurious Bungalow would be our choice this time.
The whole property is surrounded by native trees, wood pigeons and tui birds would wake you up every morning and the beach is just around the corner.
What else would you need to feel amazing?

Thank you Brenda and Phil for you hospitality and see you again.

Cheers

Izabela and Anton

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IzabelaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2009

The Palm Beach Bungalows, were 100 times better than what we had seen on the website. The website does not do the bungalows any justice! We were abslutely blown away by how amazingly comfortable, romantic, clean, tranquil it was. Breakfast was so tasty, We've never had a scrummy croisant like those before.

We enjoyed our selves so much we have booked ahead for next year for 1 whole week, because 2 days was just not enough to absolutely absorb all the positive energies from the bungalows.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zinky_Linky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

We wanted a peaceful place to unwind after a stressful year and we found it. On arrival we walked down the tree lined path to our room which was lovely the feel you got when you walked in there was amazing. It was warm and inviting and spiritual. We rang reception to let them know that we had arrived and they came to see us to welcome us and wish us a good stay. That was the beginning of a beautiful weekend. The room was surrounded by big trees which we love and the green light in the tree just illuminated it enough. The bush was abundant with birds singing and flying around and the dawn chorus was absolutley amazing.
We think that it was lovely to just to walk into a room and then be greeted by the hosts and then just left in peace we never saw them again and just had to ring when we were leaving, the service was brilliant if you needed anything you just had to ring and it was there.
It would have been nice to have had a meal delivered to have a romantic night in but it was not high season and the meals were not available at that time.
Would definately recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing peaceful break away from the rat race.
Sue and William from Christchurch New Zealand

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takingtimeout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

We experienced a wonderful romantic stay to celebrate our 5th anniversary. The bali garden experience is one that will stay with me all the way.

Fantastic massage therapists - bliss

I recommended this accomodation for my brother and his partner while visiting from scottland, and their experience was also amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattyandWatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Palm Bungalows is a great hideaway experience, located in a spot close to a great beach and local shops. The extras provided like the "Chef in the room experience" and Bali garden area are great additions and well worth it. We had a great time experiencing the Island from the very private and romantic palm bungalow. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. I would recommend Palm Bungalows to anyone wanting to get away from the city for a truly unique experience !

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monsta99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

My partner Chad and I went over to the beautiful island of Waiheke for our 3rd year anniversary not quite sure what to expect.
I had been told by an aquaintance that Palm Beach Bungalows was this magical secluded paradise but wasn't sure if that was just how she found it and if she was over exaggerating..
Well after stopping in at the supermarket to pick up a few necessities (wine, cheese and crackers of course!) we arrived by taxi at the top of the road (just a short stroll to the beach) and as per the very simple but detailed instructions left by Brenda (the host) via email I found the path to our 'Room".
OMG-WOW!
We walked down these beautiful garden pathways(that were also lit up at night time to look like a glow worm grotto) that seemed as if they led to no where, when suddenly out of the garden was a sign with "The Cottage" our accomodation choice for the weekend, up another little path we go to discover that within this bush paradise is indeed a room-well actually a cottage.
It had a neat little covered breakfast deck out the front which overlooked the bush that we had just walked through. Keys as promised were sitting there ready for us to let ourselves in and make ourselves comfortable..
Inside was a gorgeous home, it was as if someone had just up and left.
This was nothing like a hotel room where you feel like a guest this had that homely feel.
An awesome couch that you just sunk in to, a dining table, a fully equipped kitchen (with the option of having someone coming in to cook for you or cooking for yourself), a fridge(for the wine and cheese of course!) and then off of the lounge was your bathroom and bedroom.
The bedroom had an awesome-LARGE 4 poster bed with mosquito net around it for that romantic feel and a door off the bedroom into the very private courtyard (yes thats right a courtyard!)
Well, out in the courtyard was the bit that sold me in the first place the DOUBLE FRENCH TUB!! and also another table and chair set to enjoy the outhdoors.
Ooohhhh, Mmmmmmm absolute relaxtion at its best, out in the open with nothing but a wee roof to cover you from nature was this huge tub for 2 normal size people. Well needless to say the first thing I did was fill it up with hot water and hop in.
Peering out from my bath to the beautiful bush backdrop, the afternoon sun shining and and the sound of native bird song as your sound track. BLISS!!

We also opted to go in to the Bali Garden that night!!! Literally MAGICAL, such a great concept, even though it drizzled while we were there we were warm and oh so snug. I wish I had one of these "gardens" at my home.
I have already raved on more than I should have so go to the Palm Beach Bungalows web page and check out the awesome coments on the Bali Garden and see the pictures.

Of course queue the wine and cheese and the awesome company and you have a devine weekend that you thought could only exist in movies.

We would highly reccomend Palm Beach Bungalows to anyone wanting either a break from everyone else or those couples looking to have a weekend of purely indulgent romance.

P.S While we were there the ONLY time we did see Brenda (the host) I asked if I could look at some of the other rooms and she politely told me I couldn't because the whole place was booked out. Funnily enough we didn't hear or see anyone else in the whole time we were there!!
How's that for privacy :-)

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tia85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

We stayed in the Cottage at the Palm Beach Bungalows for 2 nights. It was a beautiful environment , self contained with complete privacy. Surrounded by bush and the glorious sounds of birds we thoroughly enjoyed our soak in the French hot tub! The furnishings are lovely, everything was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The croissants for breakfast should not be missed! Highly recommended as a very luxurious feeling venue that feels like home.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friskie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
0 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#3 of 6 in Waiheke Island
98 reviews
2.1 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#2 of 6 in Waiheke Island
108 reviews
2 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#8 of 29 in Waiheke Island
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Waiheke Wild Thyme
Waiheke Wild Thyme
#6 of 29 in Waiheke Island
26 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Bodega Waiheke Island
La Bodega Waiheke Island
#10 of 28 in Waiheke Island
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Bungalows

Address: 77 Hill Road, Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Waiheke Island
Price Range: £74 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Beach Bungalows - Waiheke Island, Auckland, New Zealand. Set in a bush-clad section, each of our three bungalows has its own individual character and its own private space. Bored with bland chain hotel and motel rooms? Want complete piece and privacy? We are a small, family owned and run business, offering self contained, self catering accommodation in your own little slice of Waiheke. A perfect space to relax and wind down, and only 5 minutes walk to one of the best beaches on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palm Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Bungalows Hotel Waiheke Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing