We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastic Product Delivered from the Heart”

Te Whau Vineyard Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Wine Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, View, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
609 reviews
416 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Product Delivered from the Heart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

There is something special about the wine people on Waiheke - and Tony is a great host with an endless passion for his winery and wine in general. Feast your eyes on the collection of empty aged bordeaux wines layering the tasting room and you know this is a serious wine joint! Spend a while talking to Tony about Te Whau and you get his passion for great organically produced, minimal intervention wines. The restaurant is also great. Views and food to die for. Have the lamb with The Point 2009 - heaven on the table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    73
    27
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halden, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gourmet lunch in idyllic surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

If you are looking for a very special dining experience, and are not too concerned about what it will cost you, then try this delightful restaurant located in a vineyard on a Waiheke Island headland, with sweeping views towards Auckland city. You will be met by friendly and informative owners and staff, and served an absolutely superb cuisine with superb wines to match.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We celebrated my husbands birthday at Te Whau recently. It was winter so we couldn't see the view but expect that it would be stunning in daylight. I do wonder if the restaurant takes advantage of it from the way that it faces. It was easy to book and liaise with Tony online. Everyone enjoyed the meals ( save for one dessert) and the chardonnay was a big hit and purchased. Its out of the way certainly, but that is its charm.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coatesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Food AMAZING, layout a bit disappointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our lunch here is one of the best meals I have ever had, especially the dessert. Which was just aswell because when we arrived, we both felt a bit underwhelmed by the layout of the restaurant. The building is on a gorgeous property looking towards the city but the restaurant faces towards the right so only a few tables can enjoy the view through windows that have venetian blinds across them. I have to admit to being absolutely astounded at the prices - $40-50 for a main but being there for lunch we shared 2 entrees and had a dessert each. We drank water and the bill came to $84. Not a cheap lunch but the caliber made up for it. The menu is very small though. As much as I enjoyed it, I would not rush back as it turns out to be a somewhat expensive day out when you consider ferry tickets, a rental car to be able to get up to Te Whau - there's no change out of $250.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Number9NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Felt a little pretentious - liked the cat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Was surprised at the limited menu - had expected it to be rather more expansive. Service was okay - husband had the bisque which he felt lacked body, was too salty and was pretty watery. I had the pork terrine which was really just okay. Wouldn't plan a return visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hayman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Te Whau Vineyard Restaurant also viewed

 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Oneroa, Waiheke Island
 

Been to Te Whau Vineyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing